Samuel Baron Prize

The Samuel Baron Prize is a biennial award of $10,000 for the purpose of career advancement given in remembrance of the renowned flutist and founding faculty member of the Stony Brook University Music Department, Samuel Baron. The prize recognizes exceptional young musicians who embody the qualities that defined Baron: musicianship, scholarship, humanity, generosity, intellectual curiosity as well as a profound love for music and a sense of joyousness in the pursuit of excellence.

The prize is awarded every other May to a recent graduate of the school (one who has graduated in the month in which the award is made or who has graduated within a preceding five-year period of the month the award is made). The award is open to students pursuing any field of practical music study. If more than one nominee is deemed worthy of the prize, the order of preference is a flutist, wind player, conductor, composer, and then other instrumentalists. Financial need is not a factor in the award.

Current faculty and current directors of graduate and undergraduate studies submit nominations. The award recipient is chosen by the Samuel Baron Prize in Music Committee, which consists of six or more members of: the music faculty; a professional flutist, preferably a student of Baron, representatives of the community-at-large, not employed by the University; and a member of Baron’s immediate family.

The prize is awarded during the University’s commencement ceremony.

Previous winners of the Samuel Baron Prize (click each name for for information): 

2001, Andrée Martin, flute
2003, Borys Medicky, harpsichord
2005, Sang-Joon Park, flute
2007, David Bowlin, violin
2009, Conor Nelson, flute
2011, Gabriel Shuford, harpsichord
2013, Scott Litroff, saxophone
2015, Christina McGann, violin

Login to Edit