Skip Navigation
A U.S. Department of Energy, Office of Science funded Energy Frontier Research Center


News & Announcements

Dr. Yimei Zhu (BNL) is the recipient of the Microanalysis Society's (MAS) 2021 Peter Duncumb Award for Excellence in Microanalysis - read more.

Dr. Guihua Yu (m2M/t Center PI, University of Texas, Austin) selected as a 2021 Blavatnik National Awards Finalist in Physical Sciences & Engineering.

Dr. Esther Takeuchi spoke about medical batteries during a recent podcast episode of WHYY's The Pulse "The Magic of Energy."  Learn more about this episode here and tune in at 36:30 for her segment.

Congratulations to Dr. Esther Takeuchi for being elected to the American Academy of Arts and Sciences! To learn more about this honor, click here and see the SBU announcement here.

Congratulations to Dr. Amy Marschilok and Dr. Marca Doeff who were highlighted in the DOE's Energy Storage Grand Challenge as key women at national laboratories working on energy storage, in honor of Women's History Month.  See full piece here.


Read More



American Scientist - First Person: Esther Takeuchi

WSHU:  We Need Better Batteries to Slow Climate Change. Long Island Researchers May Have Found Them .

Feature Story: Exploring the Electrochemistry of Water-Based Batteries

Stony Brook University distinguished professor Esther Takeuchi discusses her research on batteries in this Time Magazine video.