Skip Navigation

IACS Faculty Jason Trelewicz's Research Team Awarded $2.35 Million ARPA-E Award

This article cited from the College of Engineering and Applied Sciences website.

Jason Trelewicz IACS Core Faculty and Principal Investigator  Jason Trelewicz (center)  in the Engineered Microstructures and Radiation Effects Laboratory (EMREL), and his co-PIs Professor Lance Snead and Professor David Sprouster,  has been awarded $2.35 million from the U.S. Department of Energy Advanced Research Projects Agency–Energy ( ARPA-E)  program, an agency tasked with promoting and funding research and development of advanced energy technologies.

Their project, Technology Enabling Zero-EPZ Micro Modular Reactors, will develop advanced moderator (Ad-Mod) technologies to increase the output of modular high temperature gas cooled reactors (HTGR) while also reducing the reactor footprint and overall costs of nuclear energy. The modular HTGR is considered inherently safe because of its negative reactivity temperature coefficients, its passive heat removal systems, and unique fuel designs. In addition, the high outlet temperature helium coolant can be used for hydrogen and synthetic fuel production, water desalination, or as process heat for industrial processes.

The full article can be found  here.