Skip Navigation


The History Department is a center of high-quality research. Our faculty have made national and international names for themselves, as indicated by this snapshot of grants, fellowships, and prizes. As a recent external review of the department noted, "This record of national and international recognition confirms the widespread recognition of Stony Brook's history faculty as in the very top tier. This record of scholarship has not come at the cost of their teaching." For information on individual faculty, see the directory

Hank Lacayo Best Labor Themed Book, International Latino Book Awards: Robert Chase

Best Book Award, Division of Critical Criminology and Social Justice, American Society of Criminology: Robert Chase

Honorable Mention, 2021 Betty and Alfred McClung Lee Book Award, Association for Humanist Sociology: Robert Chase

Alfred P. Sloan Foundation grant: Jared Farmer

American Academy in Berlin fellowship: Jared Farmer

American Association for the History of Medicine book prize: Nancy Tomes

American Association for the History of Medicine presidency: Nancy Tomes

American Council of Learned Societies fellowships: Jared Farmer, Paul Gootenberg, Ned Landsman, Brooke Larson, Herman Lebovics, Gary Marker, Wilbur Miller

American Historical Association Bernadotte Schmitt Grant recipient: Shobana Shankar

American Jewish Studies Association book prize: Sara Lipton

American Philosophical Society fellowships: Ned Landsman, Gary Marker

American Public Health Society career prize: Nancy Tomes

American Public Works Association book prize: Chris Sellers

American Society for Ethnohistory article prize: Kathleen Wilson

Beckman Center for the History of Chemistry fellowship: Donna Rilling

Beinecke Library (Yale University) fellowship
: Lori Flores

Boston University, Institute for the Study of Muslim Societies and Civilizations visiting researcher: Eric Beverley

Carnegie Corporation of New York fellowship: Jared Farmer

Case Western Reserve University Postdoctoral Fellowship in African American History
: Robert Chase

Clements Center for Southwest Studies fellowship: Robert Chase

Columbia University Libraries book prize: Nancy Tomes

Council of American Overseas Research Centers fellowship: Shobana Shankar

Deutscher Akademischer Austauschdienst fellowships: Alix Cooper, Larry Frohman

Folger Shakespeare Library fellowship: Alix Cooper

Fulbright scholarships: Larry Frohman, Brooke Larson, Gary Marker, Janis Mimura, Shobana Shankar, Eric Zolov

Frankfurt Inter-Centre Programme on new African-Asian Interactions fellowship: Shobana Shankar

Freie Universität Berlin Graduate School in Muslim Cultures and Societies fellowship: Eric Beverley

Guggenheim Memorial Foundation fellowships: Paul Gootenberg, Brooke Larson, Gary Marker, Kathleen Wilson

Harvard Business School fellowship in business history: Donna Rilling 

Harvard University, Minda de Gunzburg Center for European Studies fellowship: Larry Frohman

Harvard University, Near Eastern Languages & Civilizations Department visiting researcher: Eric Beverley

Harvard University, Rockefeller Center for Latin American Studies resident scholar: Brooke Larson

Harvard University, Russian Research Center visiting scholar: Gary Marker 

Herbert D. Katz Center for Advanced Judaic Studies (University of Pennsylvania) research fellow: Joshua Teplitsky

Hiett Prize in the Humanities: Jared Farmer

History of Science Society book prize: Nancy Tomes

Howard Foundation fellowship: Sara Lipton

Huntington Library fellowships: Alix Cooper, Lori Flores, Chris Sellers, Kathleen Wilson

Immigration and Ethnic History Society book prize: Lori Flores

Institut für Geschichte der Medizin und Ethik in der Medizin fellowship: Alix Cooper

International Latino Book Awards winner: Lori Flores

Japan Society fellowship: Janis Mimura

Library Company of Philadelphia, Program in Early American Economy and Society fellowship: Donna Rilling

Max-Planck Institute fellowship: Young-Sun Hong

Medieval Academy of America book prize: Sara Lipton

Mellon Foundation grant: Eric Zolov

National Academy of Education fellowship: Iona Man-Cheong

National Endowment for the Humanities grants: Alix Cooper, Jared Farmer, Larry Frohman, Eric Zolov, Kathleen Wilson

National Humanities Center fellowships: Jared Farmer, April Masten, Chris Sellers, Nancy Tomes

National Library of Medicine grant: Nancy Tomes

National Science Foundation grant: Chris Sellers (multiple)

New England Council on Latin America Studies article prize: Paul Gootenberg (multiple)

New England Council on Latin America Studies book prize: Brooke Larson

New York Public Library Cullman Center fellowship: Sara Lipton 

North American Conference on British Studies book prize: Kathleen Wilson

Organization of American Historians book prize: Jared Farmer

Oxford Centre for Hebrew and Jewish Studies and The Oriental Institute fellowships: Sara Lipton, Joshua Teplitsky

Princeton University, Shelby Cullom Davis Center fellowship: April Masten

Robert Wood Johnson Foundation grant: Nancy Tomes

Rockefeller Foundation fellowship: Nancy Tomes

Royal Historical Society book prize: Kathleen Wilson

Royal Historical Society elected members: Herman Lebovics, Sara Lipton, Kathleen Wilson

Russell Sage Foundation fellowship: Paul Gootenberg

Rutgers Center for Historical Analysis fellowship: Robert Chase, Chris Sellers, Kathleen Wilson

Social Science Research Council program directorship: Paul Gootenberg, Brooke Larson

Society of American Historians inducted member: Jared Farmer

Society of American Historians book prize: Jared Farmer

Society of Historical Archaeology book prize: Elizabeth Newman  

SUNY distinguished professorships: Paul Gootenberg, Herman Lebovics, Nancy Tomes, Kathleen Wilson

SUNY distinguished teaching professorship: Michael Barnhart 

University of Connecticut Humanities Institute fellowship: Robert Chase

Wenner-Grenn Foundation fieldwork grant: Shobana Shankar

Western History Association article prize: Lori Flores

Woodrow Wilson Center fellowships: Paul Gootenberg, Young-Sun Hong, Brooke Larson, Herman Lebovics, Chris Sellers

Yad Hanadiv/Beracha Foundation visiting fellowship in Jewish Studies: Joshua Teplitsky