Skip Navigation
Search

Complete Directory

PROFESSOR

STATUS

INTERESTS

CONTACT

PROFILE

Anderson, Jennifer Faculty Atlantic World, race, colonialism, labor, commodities, environmental history jennifer.l.anderson@stonybrook.edu View Profile    
Asare, Abena Ampofoa  Affiliate/Africana Studies Africa, international human rights, penal abolition, truth and reconciliation, historical justice, historical theory. abena.asare@stonybrook.edu View Profile    
Ballan, Mohamad  Faculty Medieval Mediterranean, Islamic history mohamad.ballan@stonybrook.edu View Profile    
Barnhart, Michael Emeriti U.S. foreign policy, U.S.-Japan relations michael.barnhart@stonybrook.edu View Profile    
Bernstein, Michael Affiliate Economic and political history of the United States, macroeconomic theory, industrial organization economics, history of economic theory.   View Profile    
Beverley, Eric Lewis  Faculty Early modern and modern South Asia, Indian Ocean, Muslim world, urban studies, law and crime, transnational history eric.beverley@stonybrook.edu View Profile    
Bottigheimer, Karl Emeriti Early modern Europe, Britain, and Ireland karl.bottigheimer@stonybrook.edu      
Burgos-La Fuente, Lena Affiliate/Hispanic Languages & Literature Caribbean literatures, poetry, Latin American essay writing, sound studies, and transatlantic literary crossings in the first half of the twentieth century. lena.burgos-lafuente@stonybrook.edu View Profile    
Chambers, Mark Adjunct/Africana Studies Environmental, African American & U.S., Science, Technology, and Medicine along the color line. mark.chambers@stonybrook.edu View Profile    
Chase, Robert Faculty Post-1945 U.S.; civil rights law and politics; the Civil Rights, Black Power, and Chicano movements; prisons and policing robert.chase@stonybrook.edu View Profile    
Cooper, Alix  Faculty Early modern Europe, science, medicine, environment, women and gender, cross-cultural encounters alix.cooper@stonybrook.edu View Profile    
Cowan, Ruth  Emeriti History of science and technology, U.S. history rcowan@sas.upenn.edu      
Firbas, Paul Affiliate/Hispanic Languages & Literature Epic poetry, textual criticism, historiography and colonial geography of transatlantic South America. paul.firbas@stonybrook.edu View Profile    
Flores, Lori Faculty Twentieth-century U.S., Latino, immigration, race, labor, gender, U.S.-Mexico borderlands lori.flores@stonybrook.edu View Profile    
Frohman,  Larry Faculty Modern Europe, surveillance studies and the information society, welfare and social policy, intellectual history lawrence.frohman@stonybrook.edu      
Goldenberg,  Robert  Emeriti Jewish history, history of religions, ancient Greece and Rome rgg149@gmail.com      
Gootenberg,  Paul Faculty Modern Latin America , drug and commodity history, Andes, Mexico, historical social science paul.gootenberg@stonybrook.edu View Profile    
Gulema,  Shimelis  Affiliate/Africana Studies Modern and contemporary Africa, migration and diaspora, modernity and modernization, urbanization. shimelis.gulema@stonybrook.edu View Profile    
Hesford,   Victoria Affiliate/ Women's, Gender, and Sexuality Studies Gender, sexuality, queer and feminist theory, U.S. queer and feminist history, popular and mass culture in the postwar era, critical theory victoria.hesford@stonybrook.edu   View Profile    
Hinely, Susan Visiting Professor Modern global and European history, international law and institutions, gender, U.S. legal history. susan.hinely@stonybrook.edu View Profile    
Hong,  Young-Sun Faculty Modern Germany, humanitarianism and human rights, race, gender young-sun.hong@stonybrook.edu View Profile    
Honisch,  Erika Supria Affiliate/  Music Music, politics, and religious culture in early modern Europe,  historical sound studies, music’s materialities, historiography, and music in ritual. erika.honisch@stonybrook.edu View Profile    
Kelton,  Paul  Faculty Indigenous peoples of North America, environment and medicine, early American history paul.kelton@stonybrook.edu View Profile    
Landsman,  Ned Faculty Colonial America, early modern Scotland, Atlantic history, religion, migration ned.landsman@stonybrook.edu View Profile    
Larson,  Brooke Emeriti Colonial and post-colonial   Latin America , Bolivia, peasants, race, ethnicity brooke.larson@stonybrook.edu View Profile    
Lebovics,  Gene  Emeriti European social and intellectual history, France herman.lebovics@stonybrook.edu      
Lemay,  Helen Rodnite  Emeriti Medieval, history of sexuality, medicine, William of Conches helen.lemay@stonybrook.edu      
Levy,  Daniel Affiliate/  Sociology Political Sociology, Comparative Historical Sociology, Globalization, Collective Memory Studies daniel.levy@stonybrook.edu View Profile    
Lim,  Shirley Faculty Twentieth-century U.S., Asian-American history, cultural history, women shirley.lim@stonybrook.edu View Profile    
Lipton, Sara Faculty Medieval Europe, Jewish history, religion, gender  sara.lipton@stonybrook.edu View Profile    
Lloyd, Karen Affiliate/ Art European Renaissance and Baroque Art, Italian Sculpture, Early Modern Europe and the Americas, Early Modern Art Theory karen.lloyd@stonybrook.edu View Profile    
Man-Cheong, Iona Emeriti Late imperial China, empire, oceans, diaspora, transnationalism iona.man-cheong@stonybrook.edu View Profile    
Marker, Gary Faculty Russia, European social history gary.marker@stonybrook.edu View Profile    
Masten, April Faculty Nineteenth-century U.S. cultural history april.masten@stonybrook.edu View Profile    
McInnis, Maurie Faculty Art history, cultural history of the American South, slavery   View Profile    
Miletsky, Zebulon Vance Affiliate/Africana Studies Recent African-American history, civil rights and black power, urban history, mixed race and biracial identity, hip-hop studies zebulon.miletsky@stonybrook.edu View Profile    
Miller, Wilbur Emeriti U.S. social history, police and criminality, Civil War and Reconstruction wilbur.miller@stonybrook.edu View Profile    
Mimura, Janis Faculty Modern Japan, empire and imperialism, fascism, political-economy, technology and society janis.mimura@stonybrook.edu View Profile    
Newman, Andrew Affiliate/  English Early American, Native American, Media, and Memory Studies andrew.newman@stonybrook.edu View Profile    
Newman,  Elizabeth Terese Faculty Mexico, environmental humanities, anthropology, archaeology elizabeth.newman@stonybrook.edu View Profile    
Rilling, Donna Faculty Colonial and early national U.S., economic, business, social history donna.rilling@stonybrook.edu View Profile    
Rosenthal, Joel Emeriti Medieval history, Britain, social and family history joel.rosenthal@stonybrook.edu      
Roxborough, Ian Emeriti Labor, war and the military, Latin America ian.roxborough@stonybrook.edu View Profile    
Schäfer, Wolf Affiliate/  Technology and Society Global history, science, technology wolf.schafer@stonybrook.edu View Profile    
Sellers, Chris Faculty U.S. environmental history , medicine and the body, transnational industrial and urban history christopher.sellers@stonybrook.edu  View Profile    
Shankar, Shobana Faculty Africa (particularly West Africa), colonial and postcolonial politics, religion, health, Muslim-Christian interactions, Africa-South Asia connections shobana.shankar@stonybrook.edu View Profile    
Teplitsky, Joshua Faculty Early modern Europe, Habsburg Empire, Jewish history, history of the book joshua.teplitsky@stonybrook.edu View Profile    
Tomes, Nancy Faculty U.S. social and cultural history, history of medicine, women, gender nancy.tomes@stonybrook.edu View Profile    
Uriarte, Javier Affiliate/Hispanic Languages & Literature Travel writing, war, state power, global capital, Southern Cone, Brazil, Amazon javier.uriarte@stonybrook.edu  View Profile    
Vernon, Kathleen Affiliate/Hispanic Languages & Literature Contemporary Spanish and Latin American cinema, literature and popular culture kathleen.vernon@stonybrook.edu View Profile    
Vialette, Aurélie Affiliate/Hispanic Languages & Literature Cocial movements, working-class organization, carceral studies, archival studies, 19th-century Iberian studies, Spanish/Catalan popular music aurelie.vialette@stonybrook.edu View Profile    
Williams, John Emeriti South Africa, South Asia, expansion of Europe, European imperialism john.williams@stonybrook.edu      
Wilson, Kathleen Faculty Modern British cultural and political history kathleen.wilson@stonybrook.edu View Profile    
Wilson,  Nicholas Hoover Affiliate/ Sociology Historical sociology, political sociology, political economy, social theory, colonialism and empire, British Studies nicholas.wilson@stonybrook.edu View Profile    
Wishnia, Judith Emeriti France, women’s history, social history judith.wishnia@stonybrook.edu      
Zimansky, Paul Faculty Ancient Near East, ancient imperialism, archaeology paul.zimansky@stonybrook.edu View Profile    
Zolov, Eric Faculty Modern Latin America, Mexico, U.S.-Latin American relations, popular culture, global 1960s eric.zolov@stonybrook.edu  View Profile