Skip Navigation

The Madeline Fusco Fellowship

The Madeline Fusco Fellowship is made possible through an endowment established by Dr. Madeline Fusco, a former faculty member in the Department of Physiology and Biophysics. The fellowship is intended to assist women or minority graduate students who have advanced to candidacy but who need financial assistance to complete their dissertations.

One award, in the amount of $5,000, will be granted.

Departments and programs with graduate students at the dissertation stage may nominate one (1) candidate. Each nomination must be made by the student's Graduate Program Director (GPD).

Nominations should include:

  • A completed Google Nomination Form.
  • A letter of nomination by the Graduate Program Director (GPD) detailing evidence of financial need.  If there is a conflict, the Department Chair can provide this  nomination letter in lieu of the GPD.
  • A short summary of the nominee's status as a graduate student. This should include the date of admission, year of study, date of advancement to candidacy, and the expected date of completion of the doctoral degree.
  • Dissertation abstract, or similar summary of the project. This should be geared toward a general audience.
  • Letters of support from (1) the student's advisor, (2) Department Chair, and (3) another program faculty member.
  • The student's C.V.

The nomination deadline is Monday, February 22, 2021, at 5:00 pm. 

Past Recipients

2021: Stephanie Bonvissuto, Women's, Gender and Sexuality Studies
2020: Ji Yea Kim, Linguistics
2019: Katharine Thompson, Anthropological Sciences
2018: Xiaofei Li, Biomedical Engineering
2017: Paola Cepeda, Linguistics
2016: Heidi Rademacher, Sociology
2015: Gena Sbeglia, Ecology & Evolution
2014: Bethany Coston, Sociology
2013: April Johnson, Political Sciences
2012: Roberta Salmi, Anthropological Sciences
2011: Andrea Baden, Anthropological Sciences
2010: Rachel Walsh, English
2009: Tara Duffy, Marine and Atmospheric Science
2008: Amy Traver, Sociology
2007: Eliza Woo, Ecology & Evolution
2006: Etsuko Maruoka, Sociology; Sarah Marchesano, History