

*

*

*

 \star

*

 \star

DEPARTMENT of **GEOSCIENCES**

DEPARTMENTAL CONVOCATION

Celebrating the Class of 2020

Friday, May 22, 2020

1:30 PM



Program

Welcome: Professor Brian Phillips

Presentation of Undergraduate Degrees and Awards: Professor Hanna Nekvasil and Professor Gregory Henkes

Undergraduate Excellence in Teaching Award: Cristy Bay-Lee Stoian

Myron Fuller Award: Dylan Darnulc For outstanding Senior(s) in Geology and/or Earth Space Sciences.

Oliver Schaeffer Award: Alexander Kling For academic performance, research, and departmental service, in honor of the Department's founder.

Oliver Schaeffer Endowed Scholarship: Leonard Flores and Taylor Grandfield This scholarship recognizes academic achievement and aspiration exemplifying the vision of the Department's founder. Endowment established by Professor Robert Warasila (PhD '76) and the George Schaeffer Family and continues to be supported by other generous donors.

Presentation of Graduate Degrees and Awards: Professor William Holt, Professor Deanne Rogers and Professor Daniel Davis

Graduate Excellence in Teaching Award: Andrew Eubanks

David E. King Field Work Award: Yang Gao and Mae Saslaw Made possible by donations from David E. King (MS '84)

Closing Remarks: Professor Brian Phillips

Bachelor of Arts – Earth and Space Sciences Michael Philip Bitetto* Kevin Jason Gascott* Zijing Luo

Bachelor of Science – Geology Michael Philip Bitetto* Lauren Elizabeth Bunce, Summa Cum Laude Dylan John Darnulc, Summa Cum Laude Alfredo Andrea Esposito Kevin Jason Gascott* Kellie Marie Gunning, Cum Laude Kevin M. Hatton, Magna Cum Laude Alexander Mark Kling, Magna Cum Laude Alex Lanz **Olivia Miller** Sydney Miller Eric Landon Nilsson Nattarika Saengkhueankaeo **Robert Antoni Skorwider** Cristy Bay-Lee Stoian Jahongir Usmonov

Anbang Wang

*double major (Geology and Earth and Space Sciences)

Bachelor of Arts in Earth and Space Sciences/ Master of Arts in Teaching Earth Science

Sarah Nicole Clahane

Master of Arts in Teaching Earth Science

Zachary Ryan Bilder Katlyn Chivon Lafranca Katilin Brooke Mars Alison Marie Sweet Aaron Weisner Benjamin Yazak

Master of Science – Geosciences Earth & Space Sciences Concentration

> Michael Fodera Deysi Vilorio Garcia Louis Paul Mincieli

Master of Science – Geosciences Hydrogeology Concentration

Hayley Colette Perrone

Doctor of Philosophy – Geosciences

Cheng Ye