Skip Navigation

Distinguished Professorships: Nominations and Guidelines

Created by the State University Board of Trustees as a prestigious system-level distinction, the Distinguished Faculty Rank (DFR) programs recognize and reward SUNY’s finest and most accomplished faculty. The Distinguished Professorship (DP), Distinguished Service Professorship (DSP), Distinguished Teaching Professorship (DTP), and Distinguished Librarian (DL) designations constitute the highest system tribute conferred upon SUNY faculty.

Distinguished Faculty Rank programs encourage ongoing commitment to excellence, kindle intellectual vibrancy, elevate the standards of instruction and enrich contributions to public service. They demonstrate the State University’s pride and gratitude for the consummate professionalism, the groundbreaking scholarship, the exceptional instruction and the breadth and significance of service contributions of its faculty.

Appointment constitutes a promotion to the State University’s highest academic rank, and it is conferred solely by the State University Board of Trustees. The expectation is that individuals so appointed will receive additional support, consistent with the resources of the campus.

In addition, Distinguished Faculty are automatically members of the SUNY Distinguished Academy, which encourages a continuing commitment to high quality instruction, service to our campuses and the State, and strong leadership development for newer faculty.

The yearly deadlines for nominations are May 31 st  (for a fall decision) and November 15 th  (for a spring decision) .