Coastal Zone Management and Engineering

Year: 2012  
Cluster Leads:

Henry J. Bokuniewicz, Ph.D.
Distinguished Service Professor
School of Marine and Atmospheric Sciences

Stony Brook University
Stony Brook, NY 11794-5000


Harold Walker, Ph.D.
Department of Mechanical Engineering

Heavy Engineering
Stony Brook University
Stony Brook, NY 11794-2300

Phone: 631-632-8315
Fax: 631-632-8110


Academic Units and Collaborating Faculty: School of Marine and Atmospheric Sciences Henry Bokuniewicz
R. Lawrence Swanson
Robert Cerrato
Anne McElroy
Christopher Gobler
Bradley Peterson
Robert Aller
Kamazima Lwiza
Bruce Brownawell
Michael Frisk
Ellen Pikitch
Bassam Allam
Roger Flood
Demian Chapman
Darcy Lonsdale
J. Kirk Cochran
Nicholas Fisher
Robert Wilson
Malcolm Bowman
Lawrence Swanson
Charles N. Flagg
Geosciences Martin Schoonen
Michael Sperazza
Richard Reeder
Deanne Rogers
Gilbert Hanson
Waste Reduction and Management Institute R. Lawrence Swanson
Mechanical Engineering Harold Walker
Imin Kao
Ecology & Evolution Stephen Baines
Dianna Padilla
Jeffrey Levinton
Jessica Gurevitch
Sustainability Studies Michael Sperazza
Martin Schoonen
James Hoffmann
Arlene Cassidy


Stony Brook is well-positioned, both by its geographical location and its existing expertise, to develop a first-rank effort in understanding the coastal zone waters and adjacent land ecosystems, to seek innovative technical solutions to looming problems facing our harbors and coasts, as well as to sustaining the modern marine structures vital to renewable energies. The cluster in coastal zone management and engineering creates a synergy between experts in the School of Marine and Atmospheric Sciences (SoMAS), the Departments of Ecology and Evolution, Geosciences, and Mechanical Engineering, as well as new programs in Civil Engineering and Sustainability Studies. The focus of this cluster's research will combine finding better ways to solve known problems unique to the coastal zone, while simultaneously studying the underlying scientific and sociological causes. This cluster initiative is spear-headed by Dr. Henry Bokuniewicz, Distinguished Service Professor, School of Marine and Atmospheric Sciences; Dr. Martin Schoonen, Director, Sustainability Studies Program, Department of Geosciences; Dr. R. Lawrence Swanson, Associate Dean and Director, Waste Reduction and Management Institute; and Dr. Harold Walker, Director, Civil Engineering Program, Department of Mechanical Engineering.

Login to Edit