Skip Navigation

Current News


Sadly we report John M. Alexander, one of our emeritus faculty and former chair of the Department of Chemistry, passed away suddenly on Friday, September 20, 2019. Read more



Congrats to  Dr. Alicia Mullaley and Dr. Daniel Amarante, two new lecturers in our department!



Congrats to Maria Nagan who has been named a 2019 ACS fellow!



Dr. Peter Tonge and Daniel Raleigh were inducted as members of the National Academy of Inventors. They were honored at the Annual Meeting of the National Academy of Inventors SBU Chapter which took place on May 1 in the Wang Center. Read more



Welcome! Fulbright Scholar, Greta Klejborowska, as a Visiting Graduate Student from Adam Mickiewicz University, Poznań, Poland joined the Ojima Laboratory. She is in the final year of her Ph.D. study in Poland and will spend one year in the Ojima Laboratory to work on the tumor-targeted drug conjugates of natural product-based anticancer agents to complete her Ph.D. Thesis.


Congratulations to Dr. Boros and Dr. Haranahalli on being the 2019 “Young Academic Inventor’s Award” Winners.




Congratulations to Prof. Peter Tonge on being named a SUNY DIstinguished Professor. This distinction recognizes Prof. Tonge's boundless commitment to excellence in research and his dedicated service to our students, the Department of Chemistry, and Stony Brook University. 





congratulations to Prof. Melanie Chiu and Prof. Ming-Yu Ngai for being chosen as two of the four university-wide finalists for this year's Discovery Prize competition.




Congrats to James Breton for being the researcher of the month!  Read more





Congrats to Prof. Nancy Goroff for her recognition as the 2019 Diversity Catalyst Lecturer! She will speak at the upcoming OXIDE National Diversity and Equity Workshop. OXIDE (the Open Chemistry Collaborative in Diversity Equity) is an NSF, NIH, and DOE sponsored initiative to promote inclusivity in academic Chemistry departments by working with chairs of leading research departments.  





Yuning Chen, a finalist for the 2019 Justin Jankunas Doctoral Dissertation Award from the American Physical Society's Division of Chemical Physics