'.$meta_title_out.''); echo(''); echo(''); echo(''); echo(''); echo(''); echo(''); echo(''); foreach($canonical_urls as $canonical_url) { if($canonical_url != '') { echo(''); } } echo($extra_meta_tags); ?>
Skip Navigation

Named Lecture Series

Thanks to the generosity of alumni and friends, the Department of Chemistry at Stony Brook University offers several Endowed Lectures Series which bring to campus distinguished scholars from around the globe who address topics of interest to both the academic community and the general public. The Department of Chemistry is proud to host the following lectures:



Established 1990


A circle of Dr. Bigeleisen’s friends established the Jacob Bigeleisen Lectures in 1989 to celebrate his 70th birthday and his newly acquired emeritus status.  Since its inception in 1990, the Bigeleisen Lecture has been delivered by a very distinguished group of scientists including Drs. Ahmed Zewail, F. Albert Cotton, Samuel J. Danishefsky, Judith P. Klinman, Robert H. Grubbs, Yuan T. Lee, Christopher T. Walsh, François Diederich, Charles Lieber, David Tirrell, Nathan Lewis, Jacqueline Barton, Gerard Meijer, Fraser Stoddart, Daniel G. Nocera and Eric Betzig.




Date: April 6, 2018 POSTPONED
Speaker:   Dr. Jennifer Doudna , HHMI, University of California, Berkeley.
Title: CRISPR Systems: Biology and Applications of Gene Editing
Notes: The Twenty-sixth Jacob Bigeleisen Lecture

List of previous speakers, titles and year


Established 2008


Since Dr. Stephen Koch and Dr. Michelle Millar joined the Department of Chemistry in 1978 and 1985, they have demonstrated a strong commitment to fostering the success of students and advancing research in inorganic chemistry at Stony Brook. Dr. Koch and Dr. Millar are examples of the profound and continuing impact that our faculty has on students.

In an effort to bring the latest insights from researchers in the field of inorganic chemistry to Stony Brook, Dr. Koch and Dr. Millar established the Stony Brook Lectureship in Inorganic Chemistry. Through their generous donation, Stony Brook invites highly regarded scientists to share their expertise with the Stony Brook community.



Date: October 18, 2019 
Speaker:  Dr. Omar M. Yaghi, University of California, Berkeley
Title: TBA
Notes: Fifth Lecture

Date: January 26, 2018
Speaker:  Dr. Clare Grey , University of Cambridge
Title: Developing and Applying New Tools to Understand  How Materials for Li and “beyond-Li” batteries  and Supercapacitors Function.
Notes: Fourth Lecture

Date: March 9, 2017 
Speaker: Dr. Thomas J. Meade , Northwestern University
Title: "Coordination Chemistry and Molecular Imaging: A Marriage Made in Vivo"
Notes: Third Lecture

Date: May 7, 2015 
Speaker: Dr. Lawrence Que, Jr.
Title: “High-Valent Iron: How Nature Breaks Strong C-H Bonds”
Notes: Second Lecture

Date: October 9, 2009
Speaker: Dr. Harry B. Gray, CalTech
Title: “Powering the Planet with Solar Fuel”
Notes: First Annual Lecture


Established 2010


This lectureship was endowed in 2010 by former students of Professor Francis Johnson in honor of his 80th birthday and in recognition of his contributions to both departments: Chemistry and Pharmacological Sciences at Stony Brook. Find out more about Francis Johnson here.



Date:   October 15, 2018
Speaker:   Dr. Peter Schultz, The Scripps Institute for Research
Title: TBA
Notes: Fifth Annual Lecture 

Date:   April 21, 2017
Speaker:   Dr. William DeGrado , University of California, San Francisco
Title: "Structure, mechanism and inhibition of the M2 proton channel from influenza A virus."
Notes: Fourth Annual Lecture 

Date: Feb 10, 2016
Speaker: Dr. Benjamin Cravatt
Title: "Activity-based Proteomics - Applications for Enzyme and Inhibitor Discovery"
Notes: Third Annual Lecture 

Date: May 1, 2014
Speaker: Dr. Carolyn R. Bertozzi
Title: "Bioorthogonal Chemistry, An Enabling Tool for Biology and Drug Development."
Notes: Second Annual Lecture

Date: September 20, 2012
Speaker: Dr. Bal Lokeshwar
Title: "Discovering Anticancer Drugs from the Medicine Cabinet and Kitchen Pantry."
Notes: First Annual Lecture


Established in 2010.

Login to Edit