Skip Navigation

Two Distinguished CEAS Faculty Elected 2017 NAI Fellows:
Arie Kaufman and Clinton Rubin

The College of Engineering and Applied Sciences is pleased to announce the elections of two distinguished faculty as Fellows of the National Academy of Inventors (NAI).  Arie Kaufman and Clinton Rubin have been awarded the distinction of 2017 NAI Fellows, a high honor bestowed upon academic innovators and inventors who have demonstrated a prolific spirit of innovation in creating or facilitating outstanding inventions and innovations that have made a tangible impact on quality of life, economic development, and the welfare of society.

“The discoveries of Arie Kaufman and Clinton Rubin have made a remarkable impact on the Stony Brook University research enterprise and have helped advance the fields of computer science and biotechnology,” said Samuel L. Stanley Jr., MD, President of Stony Brook University. “Arie’s seminal work with virtual colonoscopy and Clinton’s research on low-intensity vibrations for treating osteoporosis and obesity are leading examples of Stony Brook-led technologies and inventions that have had a profound impact on society. Each truly deserve this outstanding distinction of being named NAI fellows.”

“I continue to be inspired by the accomplishments of our brilliant faculty, and am particularly proudof the national recognition of Arie and Clinton, both prolific and outstanding scholars,” said Fotis Sotiropoulos, Dean, College of Engineering and Applied Sciences.  “I congratulate them on this distinctive awardand significant achievement in their academic careers, and thank them for their contributions to their Departments, and to the College of Engineering and Applied Sciences.”

Arie Kaufman, Department of Computer Science

Arie Kaufman, Department of Computer Science

Arie Kaufman is a Distinguished Professor of Computer Science, who served as Chair of the Department from 1999 to 2017, providing the visionary, inspirational and steadfast leadership that elevated the department to national prominence.  He succeeded in attracting internationally renowned faculty, doubling the size of the computer science faculty over his 18-year tenure.  Among many other highly impactful and lasting contributions, Arie was the driving force behind the construction of the state-of-the-art, 70,000 square-foot computer science facility that opened in 2015.  In addition to being a very successful administrator, Arie is a world-class researcher, prolific inventor and a gifted educator.  Relevant to his induction as an NAI Fellow, he is most well-known for developing 3D virtual colonoscopy, a colon cancer-screening technique that has been licensed, FDA approved and commercialized; and the Reality Deck, the largest resolution immersive visualization facility, enabling visual analytics of big data.  Arie also serves as Distinguished Professor of Radiology, Chief Scientist of the Center of Excellence for Wireless and Information Technology (CEWIT), and Director of the Center for Visual Computing.

Clinton Rubin, Department of Biomedical Engineering

Clinton Rubin, Department of Biomedical Engineering

Clinton Rubin is a distinguished professor of Biomedical Engineering, who served as founding Chair of it from 2000 to 2017 and is credited with building the department into the well-established, thriving department it is today.  In addition to a joint appointment with the Stony Brook School of Medicine, he also serves as the Director of the successful Center for Biotechnology, which focuses on commercialization of biomedical innovations, fostering of company formation, and acceleration of bioscience industry growth in the region.   Among his long and distinguished list of contributions to Stony Brook, Clinton secured funding for the bioengineering building and oversaw its construction and completion in 2010.  Among his many impressive research breakthroughs, Clinton performed pioneering work in understanding the role of mechanical signals in defining the musculoskeletal system, and then used these signals to treat injury and diseases such as osteoporosis and obesity.   His world-renowned and ground-breaking contributions to the field are reflected by a long list of awards and funding sources. Clinton also has an exceptional record as an entrepreneur, securing approximately 17 issued U.S. patents, 14 patent applications, and 38 foreign patents, and founding a number of successful biomedical-centric companies.  

National Academy of Inventors 2017 Fellows

With the election of the 2017 class there are now 912 NAI Fellows, representing over 250 research universities and governmental and non-profit research institutes. The 2017 Fellows are named inventors on nearly 6,000 issued U.S. patents, bringing the collective patents held by all NAI Fellows to more than 32,000 issued U.S. patents.

Included among all NAI Fellows are more than 100 presidents and senior leaders of research universities and non-profit research institutes; 439 members of the National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine; 36 inductees of the National Inventors Hall of Fame; 52 recipients of the U.S. National Medal of Technology and Innovation and U.S. National Medal of Science; 29 Nobel Laureates; 261 AAAS Fellows; 168 IEEE Fellows; and 142 Fellows of the American Academy of Arts & Sciences, among other awards and distinctions.

Kaufman and Rubin will be inducted as part of the Seventh Annual NAI Conference of the National Academy of Inventors at a ceremony on April 5, 2018 in Washington, D.C. Andrew H. Hirshfeld, U.S. Commissioner for Patents, will provide the keynote address for the induction ceremony. In honor of their outstanding accomplishments, Fellows will be presented with a special trophy, medal, and rosette pin.

Those elected to the rank of NAI Fellow are named inventors on U.S. patents and were nominated by their peers for outstanding contributions to innovation in areas such as patents and licensing, innovative discovery and technology, significant impact on society, and support and enhancement of innovation.

The 2017 class of NAI Fellows was evaluated by the 2017 Selection Committee, which included 18 members comprising NAI Fellows, U.S. National Medals recipients, National Inventors Hall of Fame inductees, members of the National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine and senior officials from the USPTO, National Institute of Standards and Technology, Association of American Universities, American Association for the Advancement of Science, Association of Public and Land-grant Universities, Association of University Technology Managers, and National Inventors Hall of Fame, among other organizations.

More information on the NAI Fellows nomination process can be found at