Skip Navigation

The College of Arts and Sciences: The First 50 Years

The College of Arts and Sciences houses the original departments that opened with the formation of Stony Brook University over fifty years ago. Since then several other important departments have been added. Through the years the excellence of the College departments has been a major contributor to Stony Brook's growing national and international reputation. The College itself was officially formed in the early 1990s by combining four divisions: Humanities and Fine Arts (HFA), Life Sciences (LS), Physical Sciences and Math (PSM) and Social and Behavioral Sciences (SBS).

Login to Edit