School of Professional Development
Stony Brook University School of Professional Development Search

Faculty

Sherry Alessandro, EdD
St. John's University
Assistant Superintendent
Past-president, PDK @ SBU; Presentations at PDK and for the Wallace Fellows at SBU
Courses Taught: CEQ 502, 572
sherry.alessandro@stonybrook.edu

Susan F. Alevas, JD
Touro School of Law
Counsel to BOE
Courses Taught: CEQ 528
susan.alevas@stonybrook.edu

Allan Bauer, MA
CUNY Brooklyn College
Principal
Courses Taught: CEQ 541
allan.bauer@stonybrook.edu

Joseph Centamore, EdD
Dowling College
Assistant Superintendent
PDK seminar presentation on cover letters & resumes - Stony Brook
Courses Taught: CEQ 501, 502
joseph.centamore@stonybrook.edu

George Chesterton, EdD
Hofstra University
Superintendent
Business consultant; President Nassau ASBO
Courses Taught: CEQ 520, 571
george.chesterton@stonybrook.edu

Frank Chiachiere, PhD
New York University
Board member/Assistant Principal
Evaluating the Superintendent of Schools: Roadmap to Success; Evaluating the Superintendent of Schools in the Age of the APPR; Advocate for the National School Boards Association; professional recruiter
Courses Taught: CEQ 595
frank.chiachiere@stonybrook.edu

Rita Chiachiere, MS
CUNY Hunter College
Assistant Principal
Delta Kappa Gamma Professional Society for Women Educators, 2010-2012
Courses Taught: CEQ 501, 503, 541
rita.chiachiere@stonybrook.edu

William Clark, EdD
Hofstra University
Assistant Superintendent
Courses Taught: CEQ 595
william.clark@stonybrook.edu

Peter Daly, EdD
St. John's University
Deputy Superintendent
Courses Taught: CEQ 571
peter.daly@stonybrook.edu

James Donovan, MS
Stony Brook University
Adv Cert in Ed Admin, New York University
Assistant Superintendent
Courses Taught: CEQ 572
jdonovan@mccsd.net

Leslie Edelman, MS
St. John's University
Adv Cert in Ed Admin, CUNY Queens College
Assistant Superintendent
Nassau BOCES consultant NYSUT and Danielson Rubrics
Courses Taught: CEQ 585, 586
leslie.edelman@stonybrook.edu

Robert Feirson, EdD
Fordham University
Superintendent
SCOPE Executive Board member, Nassau County Council of School Supts. Executive Board
Courses Taught: CEQ 515
robert.feirson@stonybrook.edu

Kenneth Forman, PhD
New York University
Principal
Preparing for Educational Leadership Pearson Pub 2010; Consultant: Pearson Evaluation, Quality Review, Leadership Development
RSAS: What’s a Real Process for Evaluating School Effectiveness?
RSAS: The Principal—an Endangered Species
RSAS: Call of Duty
Courses Taught: CEQ 501, 502, 503, 585, 586, 595
kenneth.forman@stonybrook.edu

John Gallagher, EdD
Dowling College
Director
Courses Taught: CEQ 555
john.gallagher.1@stonybrook.edu

Arnold B. Goldberg, PhD
George Washington University
Superintendent
ODNLI—President
Courses Taught: CEQ 502, 503, 515, 541, 572
arnold.goldberg@stonybrook.edu

David H. Grackin, MA
Stony Brook University
Adv Cert Ed Admin, Long Island University
Assistant Superintendent
Chairperson, New York Schools Insurance Reciprocal Finance committee
Courses Taught: CEQ 571
david.grackin@stonybrook.edu

Andrew Greene, MS
CW Post College
Adv Cert Ed Admin, CW Post College
Principal
President Suffolk County Middle Level Principal Assn; LIASCD board member; NYS Middle Level Liaison Planning Committee
Courses Taught: CEQ 501, 502, 503
andrew.greene@stonybrook.edu

Christine R. Grucci, EdD, MALS
Dowling College
Assistant Superintendent
Courses Taught: CEQ 571
christine.grucci@gmail.com

William G. Heidenreich, EdD
Columbia University
Superintendent
Courses Taught: CEQ 572
bheiden@gmail.com

Stephen Heitner, MS
Touro College
Assistant Principal
NYC Science Council
Courses Taught: CEQ 555
stephen.heitner@stonybrook.edu

David J. Helme, MALS
Bucknell University
Superintendent
Courses Taught: CEQ 515, 585, 586
david.helme@stonybrook.edu

Katherine Ilovar, JD
CUNY Law School
Attorney
Courses Taught: CEQ 515, 528
katherine.ilovar@stonybrook.edu

John Jangl, EdD
St. John's University
Assistant Principal
Courses Taught: CEQ 572
john.jangl@stonybrook.edu

Stan Kaminsky, MA
New York University
Principal
Mentoring Principals and their Assistant Principals in various NYC schools; Consultant
Courses Taught: CEQ 501, 502, 503, 541, 585, 586
stanley.kaminsky@stonybrook.edu

Theodora Kontogiannis, EdD
Seton Hall University
Principal
Courses Taught: CEQ 503
theodora.kontogiannis@stonybrook.edu

Steve Lando, EdD
St. John's University
Assistant Superintendent
Courses Taught: CEQ 503, 541
stephen.lando@stonybrook.edu

Dennis R. Lauro, EdD
University of Virginia
Superintendent
Courses Taught: CEQ 571
dennis.lauro@stonybrook.edu

Maria Lopez, MS
CUNY City College
Adv Cert School District Admin, CUNY City College
Principal
Mentor and facilitate differentiated professional development to NYC Aspiring Principals
Courses Taught: CEQ 541, 571
maria.lopez@stonybrook.edu

Antoinette Macleod, PhD
St. John's University
Principal
Educational Consultant for Nassau BOCES
Courses Taught: CEQ 503, 555
antoinette.macleod@stonybrook.edu

Thomas McDonald, PhD
New York University
Principal
Courses Taught: CEQ 501, 503, 572
thomas.mcdonald@stonybrook.edu

Madalyn McGovern, MS
Yeshiva University
Adv Cert Ed Admin, Hofstra University
Assistant Superintendent
Courses Taught: CEQ 572
madalyn.mcgovern@stonybrook.edu

Craig Markson, EdD
Dowling College
Assistant Dean, School of Professional Development, Stony Brook University
Courses Taught: CEQ 595
craig.markson@stonybrook.edu

Kathleen L. Matusiak, EdD
Columbia University
Superintendent
Courses Taught: CEQ 572
kathleen.matusiak@stonybrook.edu

Catherine Mayus, JD
Pace University
Attorney
Leadership Consultant
Courses Taught: CEQ 528
catherine.mayus@stonybrook.edu

Robert Moraghan, EdD
St. John's University
Retired Superintendent
Courses Taught: CEQ 501, 515, 528, 595
robert.moraghan@stonybrook.edu

Teresa Ann Nigro Lawrence, PhD
University at Buffalo
Director
Courses Taught: CEQ 503
teresa.lawrence.1@stonybrook.edu

Terrance F. O'Connor, EdD
Nova Southeastern University
Principal
President, New York State Section 8 Athletic Council; Director, School Leadership Center
Courses Taught: CEQ 501, 502, 541, 585, 586
terrance.oconnor@stonybrook.edu

Ada Orlando, MA
Long Island University
Adv Cert Admin & Supervision, Brooklyn College
Network Leader
Courses Taught: CEQ 503
ada.orlando@stonybrook.edu

Theresa F. Oropallo, MS
St. John's University
Adv Cert Ed Admin, CW Post
Principal
Phi Beta Kappa
Courses Taught: CEQ 585, 586, 595
theresa.oropallo@stonybrook.edu

Stanley Packman, MS
University at Buffalo
Adv Cert Ed Admin, Hofstra University
School business official
Courses Taught: CEQ 571
stanley.packman@stonybrook.edu

Peter A. Pece, PhD
Neuromusicology De Montfort University
Retired Principal
Courses Taught: CEQ 595
peter.pece@stonybrook.edu

Anthony J. Pecorale, EdD
Fordham University
Retired Superintendent
Courses Taught: CEQ 520, 571
anthony.pecorale@stonybrook.edu

Ira Pernick, MS
Queens College
Adv Cert School Admin, Queens College
Principal
Making It Stick: Affecting Change Through The Power of Positive Leadership; New Leaders for New Schools;
Principal Mentor
Courses Taught: CEQ 541
ira.pernick@stonybrook.edu

Pat Perpignano, EdD
St. John's University
Assistant Superintendent
Courses Taught: CEQ 572, 595
patrick.perpignano@stonybrook.edu

Charles Piemonte, PhD
New York University
Assistant Superintendent
Developed program on 21st Century Skills
Courses Taught: CEQ 541, 572, 585, 586
charles.piemonte@stonybrook.edu

Todd Pittinsky, PhD
Harvard University
Faculty
Restoring Trust in Organizations and Leaders: Oxford U press
Us Plus Them: Tapping thePositive Power of Difference: Harvard U Press
Measuring the Efficacy of Leaders to Assess Information and Make Decisions in a Crisis
Courses Taught: CEQ 595
todd.pittinsky@stonybrook.edu

Edward Price, PhD
Pennsylvania State University
Superintendent
College recruiter, Ohio State University
Courses Taught: CEQ 515, 585, 586
edward.price@stonybrook.edu

Michael Radday, MS
Iona College
Assistant Superintendent
Courses Taught: CEQ 572
michael.radday@stonybrook.edu

John J. Regan, MS
College of the City of New York
Adv Cert Labor Rel, Cornell University
Superintendent
Labor relations consultant
Courses Taught: CEQ 565, 566, 585, 586
john.regan@stonybrook.edu

John Reid, MEd
Ohio University
Assistant Superintendent
Courses Taught: CEQ 501, 502, 572, 585, 586
john.reid@stonybrook.edu

Cheryl Scheidet, EdD
Nova Southeastern University
Principal
Staff Developer on Professional Learning Communities, Common Core Learning Standards
Courses Taught: CEQ 501, 502, 555
cheryl.scheidet@stonybrook.edu

Robert Scheidet, EdD
Nova Southeastern University
Coordinator of SBU Fellows Program
Educational Leadership Internship Workbook Pearson Pub 2011
Doctoral advisor Nova U; President of CADEA; Coordinator of Internships
Courses Taught: CEQ 565,566, 585, 586
robert.scheidet@stonybrook.edu

Stephen Schneider, EdD
Hofstra University
Principal
Faculty Coach for online instructos in all SPD Online Courses
Courses Taught: CEQ 501 502
stephen.schneider@stonybrook.edu

Gary Schomburg, PhD
University of Dayton
Principal
Courses Taught: CEQ 571
gary.schomburg@stonybrook.edu

David Scott, JD
Touro School of Law
Attorney
ASCD “Civic Engagement Through Law-Related Education and News Literacy.”
NYS Council for the Social Studies Conference and Convention; Statewide Conference on Law-Related Education
Courses Taught: CEQ 528
david.scott@stonybrook.edu

Christie A. Simels, MEd
University of North Carolina
Deputy Superintendent
Courses Taught: CEQ 501, 502
christie.simels@stonybrook.edu

Richard A. Simon, MEd
Harvard University
Superintendent
Treasurer for the Islip Cluster of Suffolk County Superintendents
Courses Taught: CEQ 515, 528
richard.simon@stonybrook.edu

Allen Smith, EdD
New York University
Retired Assistant Principal
Courses Taught: CEQ 555
allen.smith@stonybrook.edu

Jeffrey Soloff, MS
Yeshiva University
Adv Cert Ed Admin, CUNY Brooklyn College
Principal
Preparing for Educational Leadership, Pearson Pub 2010; Educational consultant - School Quality Review
Courses Taught: CEQ 503, 541, 585, 586
jeffrey.soloff@stonybrook.edu

Raymond O. Sommerstad, MA
Colgate University
Adv Cert Ed Admin, Hofstra University
Superintendent
Courses Taught: CEQ 585, 586
raymond.sommerstad@stonybrook.edu

Donald Sternberg, EdD
Columbia University
Principal
The Principal: Traversing the High-Wire with No Net Below, 79 Places Where the High Wire Can Be Greasy: RoseDog Pub 2012, At the Center of the Common Core NAESP 2012
“Assessing Your Leadership Style: Are You The Bully?” SANNYS 2012
Courses Taught: CEQ 541, 555
donald.sternberg@stonybrook.edu

Geraldine Sullivan-Keck, EdD
Dowling College
Deputy Superintendent
Common Core Standards, Practical Strategies for APPR Implementation, Dignity for All Students Act ASSET Technology Presentation: Standards Overload? Plugging In and Powering Up
Courses Taught: CEQ 501, 555
geraldine.sullivan-keck@stonybrook.edu

Kristen Turnow, EdD
Dowling College
Administrative Coordinator
Courses Taught: CEQ 572, 595
kristen.turnow@stonybrook.edu

Michael Walsh, EdD
Hofstra University
Superintendent
Courses Taught: CEQ 585, 586
michael.walsh@stonybrook.edu

Charles T. Wilson, EdD
Columbia University
Educational Consultant
Courses Taught: CEQ 555
charles.t.wilson@stonybrook.edu

 

NCATE logo

© Copyright School of Professional Development at Stony Brook University.
Last modified on 11/20/2014.
Search Stony Brook University