SPD Council

The SPD Council is a standing committee of the University Senate. It is advisory to the leader on all aspects of the School. The SPD Council is made up of both elected and appointed members representing the entire Stony Brook University community—including students, faculty and professional staff.




Dr. Malcolm Bowman

Distinguished Service Professor

School of Marine and Atmospheric Sciences

Dr. Rebekah Burroway

Assistant Professor


Lori Carron

Assistant Dean

Graduate School

Victoria Colon

Graduate Student

Higher Education Administration

Judith Daly

Assistant Dean, Admissions and Student Services

School of Professional Development

Dr. Andrea Fedi

Associate Professor, Director of the Language Learning and Research Center

European Languages, Literature, and Culture

Dr. Georges Fouron

Professor, Director of the International Studies Program

African Studies

Kim Giacalone

Director of Marketing and Communications

School of Professional Development

Dr. Marvin Glockner

Associate Dean, Graduation and Teacher Certification

School of Professional Development

Dr. Gilbert N. Hanson

Distinguished Service Professor


Dr. David Hicks



Carolyn Jankowski

Assistant Dean, Curriculum and Academic Planning

School of Professional Development

Dr. Dorit Kaufman

Professor, Director of Professional Education Program


Shinu Kuriakose

Clinical Assistant Professor, Director of Clinical Education

Physician Assistant Education

Dr. Kenneth Lindblom

Associate Professor, Associate Dean, Academic Programs

English / School of Professional Development

Samantha Lodato

Assistant Director of the Higher Education Administration Program

School of Professional Development

Dr. Manuel London

Professor, Dean of the College of Business

College of Business

Dr. Harvard Lyman

Professor Emeritus, Co-Director of the Post-Bac Pre-Health Program


Amy Margolies

Acting Director, Career Development Programs

School of Professional Development

Dr. Craig Markson

Assistant Dean, Teachers Professional Development Institute

School of Professional Development

Dr. Clyde L. Miller



Dr. Robert Moraghan

Director of the Educational Leadership Program

School of Professional Development

Arthur Shertzer

President of the Stony Brook University Chapter of UUP

United University Professions

Dr. Jonathan Sokolov


Materials Science and Engineering

Dr. Arleen Steckel

Clinical Professor, Graduate Council Liaison

Graduate Council

Dr. Charles Taber

Vice Provost for Graduate and Professional Education

Graduate School / School of Professional Development / Political Science

Dr. Tian-Lih (Ted) Teng

Professor Technology Learning Center Society

Technology & Society

Theresa Tiso

Associate Professor

Physical Therapy

Elizabeth Trapasso

Assistant Librarian

Stony Brook University Libraries

Linda Unger

Senior Instructional Designer

Faculty Center

Linda Varga

Office Manager

School of Professional Development

Login to Edit