Prizes & Awards

Undergraduate Creative Writing: Stony Brook $1,000 Fiction Prize

Now in its 24th year, the Stony Brook $1,000 Fiction Prize is awarded to an outstanding undergraduate and includes a scholarship to the Southampton Writers Conference.

MFA Creative Writing Awards: The Deborah Hecht Memorial Prize in Fiction, Jody Donahue Poetry Prize and Joseph Kelly Prize in Creative Writing

As of Fall 2013, these prize awards of $500 each are presented to three incoming MFA in Creative Writing students of exceptional promise in fiction, poetry and creative nonfiction. All applicants are eligible. Winners will be notified upon acceptance.

Southampton Arts Summer: The Excellence in Service Award

During the summer session, a prize award of $1,000 is presented to a currently enrolled MFA student or shared between two students who have shown extraordinary dedication.

MFA in Film Award: Sklar Prize

As of Fall 2015, these prize awards of $1000 each are presented to incoming MFA in Film students of exceptional promise in directing, producing and screenwriting. All applicants are eligible. Winners will be notified upon acceptance.

SUNY: Thayer Fellowship & Patricia K. Ross Award

Each year, the State University of New York awards a Thayer Fellowship in the amount of $7,000 to a graduating SUNY student who demonstrates outstanding achievement and high professional potential in the arts. The Patricia Kerr Ross Award, for $1,000, goes to a student who has demonstrated excellence, originality, and promise in the arts. Both awards, which are occasionally shared among several recipients, are intended as a bridge between SUNY study in the arts and entry into a professional career in the arts.

The awards are competitive: applications in creative writing, film and theater, together with those from dance, music and the visual arts, are evaluated by a panel of experts in the various arts disciplines. Finalists are interviewed in person by the panel, and their work reviewed during performances, readings, screenings, and exhibitions, before the jury panel determines the winners.