Endowed Professorships and Chairs

Endowed professorships and chairs are the hallmark of a great university. They bring recognition to the chair holder, the department, and the university. They are a time-honored means of attracting eminent scholars and retaining outstanding faculty, and are lasting tributes to the generous donors who establish them.

The following members of the Stony Brook community currently hold endowed professorships and chairs. They represent the breadth and depth of academic excellence at Stony Brook University.

Simons Chair of Medicine
established 2012 | Dr. Vincent W. Yang

Alfonse M. D'Amato Chair in Italian and Italian American Studies
established 2000 | Peter Carravetta, PhD

Leslie P. and Muriel Oberleder Professor in Geriatric Medicine
established 1996 | Suzanne D. Fields, MD

Evelyn G. Glick Professor of Experimental Medicine
established 1990 | Arthur P. Grollman, MD

Edmund D. Pellegrino Professor of Medicine
established 1987 | Benjamin J. Luft, MD

Marvin Kuschner Professor
established 1988 | Kenneth R. Shroyer, MD, PhD