Faculty Honor Wall

This year's Convocation ceremonies include the dedication of the Faculty Honor Wall, intended to acknowledge the contributions of our faculty, the most distinguished in the SUNY system and one of the most distinguished in the world.

Stony Brook's tradition of faculty excellence includes three Nobel laureates and an Abel Prize winner. In the 2012 State of the University address, President Stanley announced an initiative to honor the faculty who have done so much and brought such renown to the University.

Faculty Honor WallThe new Faculty Wall of Honor in the Melville Library acknowledges distinguished faculty in the following categories:

  • Abel Prize Laureate
  • American Academy of Arts & Sciences
  • American Association for the Advancement of Science
  • American Philosophical Society
  • Fellows of the Royal Society
  • Fields Medal
  • Institute of Medicine
  • National Academy of Engineering
  • National Academy of Sciences
  • National Inventors Hall of Fame
  • National Medal of Science
  • National Medal of Technology and Innovation
  • Nobel Prize
  • Pulitzer Prize
  • SUNY Distinguished Professors

In Dr. Stanley's words, "I hope this will serve as an inspiration to all of us and remind everyone of what a special place Stony Brook University is."

A complete listing of faculty members acknowledged on the wall is available on the website of the Office of the Vice President for Research.