News & Announcements

April 26, 2011: Design Team Membership Finalized for Facilities and Library Initiatives

Membership for the Facilities and Library initiative design teams has been finalized. These teams, composed of Stony Brook faculty and staff, will examine opportunities for improvement identified in the Operational Excellence diagnostic phase and will develop recommendations to be reviewed by the Operational Excellence Steering Committee. The Facilities team will explore ways to improve the efficiency and effectiveness of campus operations and will develop recommendations to make it easier for campus departments to budget and initiate campus construction projects. The Library team will evaluate opportunities to consolidate Library functions and automate key processes such as cataloging and invoicing.

The members of each of these newly formed teams were selected to provide broad University representation as well as expertise in the functions being reviewed. They are: 

Initiative Manager
Terence Harrigan, executive director of facilities and services

Team Members
Brenda Anderson, Department of Psychology
Owen Evans, Department of Geosciences
James Kierych, Life Sciences Complex
Robert Martin, College of Engineering and Applied Sciences
Robert Segnini, Department of Physics and Astronomy
Darryl Shampine, Campus Operations and Maintenance

Initiative Manager
Andrew White, interim dean of libraries and director of the Health Sciences Library

Team Members
Mark Aronoff, Department of Linguistics
Nathan Baum, Frank Melville Jr. Memorial Library
Janet Clarke, Frank Melville Jr. Memorial Library
Joanne Davila, Department of Psychology
Moises Eisenberg, School of Medicine
Margaret Hanley, Department of English
Kerry Keegan, Health Sciences Library
Daniel Kinney, Frank Melville Jr. Memorial Library and Health Sciences Library Stephen Koch, Department of Chemistry
Lorne Mendell, Department of Neurobiology and Behavior


Back to News »