Stony Brook University Office of Research Services


  • Office of Vice President for Research
    S5422 Frank Melville Jr. Memorial Library,
    Stony Brook, NY 11790

    Phone: 631-632-7932
    Fax: 631-632-5704

Stony Brook Research Office

Research Committees

Research Advisory Committee

A Research Advisory Committee (RAC) has been formed to increase faculty engagement in research-related processes.  RAC will participate in discussions related to research policy and procedure in the Stony Brook Research Office and will review various topics that relate to research efficiency, environment and opportunity in order to facilitate communication between faculty and decision-making administrators and staff.

The Committee is as follows:

Conover, David Vice President for Research
Benach, Jorge Distinguished Professor, Molecular Genetics & Microbiology
Brennan, Susan Associate Professor, Psychology
Crease, Robert  Professor and Chair, Philosophy
Fisher, Nick  Distinguished Professor and Director, Consortium for Inter-Disciplinary Environmental Research
Frohman, Michael Director and Chair, Pharmacological Studies
Harrison, Robert Professor and Director, Institute for Advanced Computational Science
Hobbs, John Professor, Physics
Jurgens, Corrine Professor, Associate Dean for Research, School of Nursing
Kritzer, Mary Professor, Neurobiology & Behavior
Mitchell, Joseph  Professor, Applied Mathematics and Statistics
Moll, Ute Professor, Vice Chair for Experimental Pathology
Obeid, Lina Dean of Research, School of Medicine
Robertazzi, Thomas Professor, Electrical Engineering (University Senate)
Rubin, Clint Distinguished Professor & Chair, Biomedical Engineering, Director, Center for Biotechnology
Ryan, Maria Professor, Oral Biology & Pathology, Director of Clinical Research, Oral Biology & Pathology (University Senate)
Sampath, Sanjay  Professor, Material Science and Engineering;  Director, Center for Thermal Spray Research 
Yang, Vincent Chair, Medicine
Yang,Yuanyuan Professor, Electrical and Computer Engineering; Graduate Program Director

Departmental Administrator Committee

Departmental Administrator Committee (DAC) was formed to increase engagement, training, and education of campus departmental research administrators.

DAC will participate in meetings and workshops to educate and update members on all matters of research administration, including changes in federal regulations and institutional policies, training, providing feedback to SBRO, and exchanging information about best practices. A LISTSERV will be established for day to day communication and requests for shared information. The goal is to increase efficiencies at all levels and to facilitate communication between and among departments and SBRO offices.

The Committee is as follows:

  • Lydia Chabza (Sponsored Programs)
  • Sheila Routh (Grants Management)

  • Stephanie Ammann (Grants Management)
  • Nubia Andrade (Biomedical Engineering)
  • Annette Ainsley (Grants Management)
  • Lynn Allopenna (Institute for Advanced Computation Science)
  • Marguerite Baldwin (Oral Biology and Pathology)
  • Marlene Baumeister (Neurosurgery)
  • Angie Benavides (Family Medicine)
  • Laura Bertolotii (Oral Biology and Pathology)
  • Alissa Betz (Philosophy)
  •  Lori Carron (Grad/School)
  • Heidi Ciolfi (Chemistry)
  • Laura Colucci (Geosciences)
  • Catherine Costanzo (Neurobiology and Behavior)
  • Cindy Forman (Psychology)
  • Ann Gardner (Center for Inclusive Education)
  • Kristie Golden (Psychiatry & Behavioral Science)
  • Ana Maria Goncalves-Lopes (Grants Management)
  • Janice Hackney (Applied Mathematics and Statistics)
  • Laura Hawryluk (Microbiology)
  • Glen Itzkowitz (Dean’s Office, School of Medicine)
  • Corrine Jurgens (Nursing)
  • Joan Kavanaugh (Physiology & Biophysics)
  • Kevin Kelly (Psychiatry and Behavioral Science)
  • Dreania LeVine (Center for Infectious Diseases)
  • Stefanie Massucci (Dean’s Office, SoMAS)
  • Pappsey Mathew (Grants Management)
  • Michele McTernan (Anesthesiology)
  • Daniel Matos (Pediatrics)
  • Esther Miller (CEAS)
  • Dennis Mynarcik (Medicine)
  • Judy Nimmo (Biochemistry)
  • Heather Paquette (Dean’s Office, Medicine)
  • Lynda Perdoma-Ayala (Pharmacology)
  • Kathryne Piazzola (Center for Inclusive Education)
  • Celeste Radgowski (Sponsored Programs)
  • Elizabeth Roemer (Obstetrics & Gynecology)
  • Maureen Rogers (Obstetrics & Gynecology)
  • Karen Ross (Surgery)
  • Chandrani Roy (Materials Science and Engineering)
  • Ruth Smith-Macanka (Pediatrics)
  • Alina Stroia (Sponsored Programs)
  • Stephen Walker (Dean’s Office, Dental Medicine)
  • Theresa Wenz (Nursing)
  • Maria Wolfe (Radiology)