`

Directory Faculty / Staff

PEP Administration
Frank Melville Jr. Memorial Library, z=3372
Name Designation Contacts Information
Dorit Kaufman
Ph.D
Director of Professional Education Program and Professor of Linguistics Tel: 632-7783
dorit.kaufman@stonybrook.edu
Terry S. Earley
Ph.D
PEP Assessment Coordinator Tel: 632-7616
terry.earley@stonybrook.edu
Anusha Ghanta
B.E,(Masters in Computer Science)
Graduate Assistant/PEP Webmaster Tel: NA
aghanta@cs.stonybrook.edu
Social and Behavioral Sciences, z=4310
Name Designation Contacts Information
Rachael Lee
MPS
Interim Teacher Certification Officer Tel: 632-7055
Rachael.Lee@stonybrook.edu
Educational Leadership Program
Computer Science, z=4404
Name Designation Contacts Information
David Ferguson
Ph.D.
Associate Provost for Diversity and Inclusion, Distinguished Service Professor and Chair,Department of Technology and Society/Educational Leadership Tel: 632-8763
david.ferguson@stonybrook.edu
Todd Pittinsky
Ph.D.
Professor, Department of Technology and Society and Director of Research, Educational Leadership Program Tel: 632-1472
todd.pittinsky@stonybrook.edu
Robert Scheidet
Ed.D.
Director of Educational Leadership Internships and Lecturer, Department of Technology and Society Tel: 632-4584
robert.scheidet@stonybrook.edu
Social and Behavioral Sciences, z=4310
Name Designation Contacts Information
Craig Markson
Ed.D.
Interim Director, Educational Leadership Program, Assistant Dean, School of Professional Development Tel: 631-632-7067
craig.markson@stonybrook.edu
Kenneth Forman
Ph.D.
Educational Leadership Program SUTRA Coordinator and Lecturer Tel: 516-457-9499
kenneth.forman@stonybrook.edu
English Education
Humanities, z=5350
Name Designation Contacts Information
Celia Marshik
Ph.D.
Professor and Chair, Department of English. Tel: 632-7400
celia.marshik@stonybrook.edu
Nicole Galante
Ph.D.
Lecturer and Acting Director of English Teacher Education Tel: 632-7303
nicole.galante@stonybrook.edu
Susan Scheckel Associate Professor and Director of Undergraduate Studies Tel: 632-7400
susan.scheckel@stonybrook.edu
Patricia Dunn
D.A.
Professor and Director of Graduate Studies Tel: 632-7400
patricia.dunn@stonybrook.edu
Margaret Hanley Undergraduate Advisor for English Tel: 632-7400
margaret.hanley@stonybrook.edu
Jane Flinter Lecturer and Director of Field Experience and Clinical Practice Tel: 632-7400
jane.flinter@stonybrook.edu
Foreign Language Education
Humanities, z=5359
Name Designation Contacts Information
Luigi Fontanella
Ph.D.
Professor and Chair, Department of European Languages, Literatures and Cultures Tel: 632-7448
Luigi.Fontanella@stonybrook.edu
Sarah Jourdain
Ph.D.
Director, Foreign Language Teacher Education Program and Assistant Professor, Department of European Languages,Literatures and Cultures Tel: 632-7440
sarah.jourdain@stonybrook.edu
Prosper Sanou
Ph.D.
Lecturer, Department of European Languages, Literatures, and Cultures and Undergraduate and Graduate Teacher Education Advisor in French Tel: 632-7440
prosper.sanou@stonybrook.edu
Kathleen Vernon
Ph.D.
Associate Professor and Chair, Department of Hispanic Languages, Literatures, and Cultures Tel: 632-9668
kathleen.vernon@stonybrook.edu
Adrian Perez Melgosa
Ph.D.
Assistant Professor, Department of Hispanic Languages, Literatures, and Cultures, and Graduate Teacher Education Advisor in Spanish Tel: TBD
adrian.perezmelgosa@stonybrook.edu
Irene Marchegiani
Ph.D.
Provost's Outstanding Lecturer and Director of Field Experience and Clinical Practice, Undergraduate and Graduate Teacher Education Advisor in Italian Tel: 632-7440
irene.marchegiani@stonybrook.edu
Nicholas Rzhevsky
Ph.D.
Graduate Director of European Languages Tel: 632-7359
Nicholas.Rzhevsky@stonybrook.edu
Daniela Flesler
Ph.D.
Associate Professor, Department of Hispanic Languages, Literatures and Cultures, and Undergraduate Teacher Education Advisor in Spanish Tel: 632-6031
daniela.flesler@stonybrook.edu
Andrea Fedi
Ph.D.
Associate Professor: Italian Renaissance literature, and historiography and Director, Language Learning and Research Center (LLRC) Tel: TBD
andrea.fedi@stonybrook.edu
Robert Bloomer
Ph.D.
Associate Professor/Undergraduate and Graduate Teacher Education Advisor in German Tel: 632-7369
robert.bloomer@stonybrook.edu
Madeline Turan
M.S.
Lecturer, Foreign Language Teacher Education Program and Co-Director of the ELLC ACE Program. Tel: 632-7440
madeline.turan@stonybrook.edu
Darlene Prowse
M.S.
Department Administrator, Department of Asian and Asian American Studies Tel: 632-7690
darlene.prowse@stonybrook.edu
Agnes Weiyun He
Ph.D.
Professor of Applied Linguistics and Asian Studies, Chair of the Department of Asian and Asian American Studies, and Undergraduate Teacher Education Advisor in Chinese Tel(Office): 632-1096
Tel(Department):632-4030
agnes.he@stonybrook.edu
Eriko Sato
Ph.D.
Provost's Outstanding Lecturer and Undergraduate Teacher Education Advisor in Japanese, Department of Asian and Asian American Studies Tel: 632-9477
eriko.sato@stonybrook.edu
Heejeong Sohn
Ph.D.
Assistant Director for Korean Studies, Lecturer, and Undergraduate Teacher Education Advisor in Korean, Department of Asian and Asian American Studies Tel: 632-7311
heejeong.sohn@stonybrook.edu
Timothy Westphalen
Prof.
Advisor for Russian Tel: 631/632-7387
Mathematics Education
Math Tower, z=3651
Name Designation Contacts Information
Robert Lazarsfeld
Ph.D.
Distinguished Professor and Chair, Department of Mathematics Tel: (631)632-8293
robert.lazarsfeld@stonybrook.edu
Lisa Berger
Ph.D.
Director of Mathematics Education and Associate Professor of Mathematics Tel: 632-8278
lisa.berger@stonybrook.edu
Miriam Flynn
P.D.
Lecturer and Director of Field Experience and Clinical Practice Tel: 632-8293
Miriam.Flynn@stonybrook.edu
Alexander Kirillov
Ph.D.
Professor, Department of Mathematics and Director of Undergraduate Studies Tel: (631)632-8289
kirillov@math.sunysb.edu
Raanan Schul
Ph.D.
Associate Professor of Mathematics and Associate Director of Undergraduate Studies Tel: 632-8995
raanan.schul@stonybrook.edu
Lucille Meci
Assistant to the Chair Tel: 632-8260
lucille.meci@stonybrook.edu
Science Education
Life Sciences, z=5233
Name Designation Contacts Information
Aaron Neiman
Ph.D.
Professor and Chair, Department of Biochemistry and Cell Biology Tel: 632-1543
aaron.neiman@stonybrook.edu
Keith Sheppard
Ed.D.
Director of Science Education and Associate Professor of Biochemistry and Cell Biology

Director, Institute for STEM Education
Tel: 632-2989
keith.sheppard@stonybrook.edu
Linda Padwa
M.A.T.
Provost's Outstanding Lecturer, Associate Director for Science Education and Director of Field Experience and Clinical Practice

Co-director of the Long Island New York State Master Teacher Program
Tel: 632-7075
linda.padwa@stonybrook.edu
David Bynum
Ph.D.
Director Emeritus, Institute for STEM Education, Distinguished Service Professor, Biochemistry & Cell Biology, John S. Toll Professor Tel: 632-9750
david.bynum@stonybrook.edu
Judith Nimmo Institute for STEM Education Administrator Tel: 632-9750
judith.nimmo@stonybrook.edu
Debra Pelio Senior Staff Assistant Tel: 632-1825
debra.pelio@stonybrook.edu
Kira Shultheiss
Ph.D.
Senior Staff Assistant Undergraduate Biology, Advisor Tel: 632-8543
kira.schultheiss@stonybrook.edu
Zuzana Zachar
Ph.D.
Research Assistant Professor and Graduate Advisor, Biology Tel: 632-8970
zuzana.zachar@stonybrook.edu
Susan Oatis
Ph.D.
Lecturer and Undergraduate and Graduate Advisor, Chemistry Tel: 631-1571
susan.oatis@stonybrook.edu
Gil Hanson
Ph.D.
Professor and Undergraduate and Graduate Advisor, Geosciences Tel: 632-8210
gilbert.hanson@stonybrook.edu
Robert McCarthy
Ph.D.
Professor and Undergraduate and Graduate Advisor, Physics Tel: 632-8086
mccarthy@sbhep1.physics.sunysb.edu
robert.mccarthy@stonybrook.edu
Caren Gough
M.S.
Lecturer, Co-director of the Long Island New York State Master Teacher Program Tel: 632-7075
caren.gough@stonybrook.edu
Angela Kelly
Ph.D.
Associate Professor, Department of Physics & Astronomy Institute for STEM Education Tel:632-7075
angela.kelly@stonybrook.edu
Social Studies Education
SBS, z=4348
Name Designation Contacts Information
Gary Marker
Ph.D.
Professor and Chair, Department of History Tel: 632-7513
gary.marker@stonybrook.edu
Larry Frohman
Ph.D
Director of Social Studies Teacher Education and Associate Professor of History Tel: 632-7686
lawrence.frohman@stonybrook.edu
Charles Backfish
M.A.
Provost's Outstanding Lecturer and Director of Field Experience and Clinical Practice Tel: 632-1093
charles.backfish@stonybrook.edu
Terry S. Earley
Ph.D
Lecturer Tel: 632-7616
terry.earley@stonybrook.edu
TESOL Education
SBS, z=4376
Name Designation Contacts Information
Richard Larson
Ph.D.
Professor and Chair, Department of Linguistics Tel: 632-7778
richard.larson@stonybrook.edu
Annette Shideler
Ed.D.
Interim Director Tel: 632-8003
annette.shideler@stonybrook.edu
Mariann Coogan
M.A.
Lecturer Tel: 632-8003
mariann.coogan@stonybrook.edu
Dorit Kaufman
Ph.D.
Professor of Linguistics and TESOL Teacher Education Tel: 632-7783
dorit.kaufman@stonybrook.edu
Dan Finer MA TESOL Director/Advisor Tel: 632-7782
daniel.finer@stonybrook.edu
Jose Alberto Elias-Ulloa
Ph.D.
Professor and Director of Undergraduate Studies Tel: NA
jose.elias-ulloa@stonybrook.edu
Sandra Brennan Department Administrator Tel: 632-7777
sandra.brennan@stonybrook.edu
Michelle Carbone Dept. Secretary / Graduate Program Coordinator Tel: 632-7774
michelle.carbone@stonybrook.edu
Core Education Faculty
Name Designation Contacts Information
Norma Egic
M.S.
Instructor, Special Education Tel: 632-7050
norma.egic@stonybrook.edu
Georges Fouron
Ed.D.
Professor, Africana Studies Tel: 632-6924
georges.fouron@stonybrook.edu
Laurie Graziano
M.S.
Instructor, Special Education Tel: 632-7050
laurie.graziano.1@stonybrook.edu
Christopher Long
Ed.D.
Instructor, Special Education christopher.long@stonybrook.edu
Joy Janzen
Ph.D.
Lecturer, Literacy Development Tel: 632-7737
joy.janzen@stonybrook.edu
Lauren Kaushansky
M.A.
Lecturer, Education: Theory and Practice Tel: 632-7050
lauren.kaushansky@stonybrook.edu
Elizabeth Stein
M.S., NBCT
Instructor, Special Education Tel: 632-7050
elizabeth.stein@stonybrook.edu
Nicholas J. Ullrich III
M.A.
Lecturer, Human Development Tel: 632-7800
nicholas.ullrich@stonybrook.edu
Harriet S. Waters
Ph.D
Professor, Psychology Tel: 632-7844
Harriet.Waters@stonybrook.edu
New York City Faculty
Name Designation Contacts Information
Natalie Lukas
Director SUNY Urban Teacher Education Center (SUTEC)
Director, SUTEC Tel: 718-935-5515
nlukas@nyc.rr.com