`

Directory Faculty / Staff

PEP Administration
Frank Melville Jr. Memorial Library, z=3372
Name Designation Contacts Information
Dorit Kaufman
Ph.D
Director of Professional Education Program and Professor of Linguistics Tel: 632-7783
dorit.kaufman@stonybrook.edu
Mary Ann Short
M.A.L.S.,C.H.E.S.
Associate Director for Administration Tel: 632-9486
mary.short@stonybrook.edu
Patricia Dixon
M.A.L.S.
Assistant to the Director Tel: 632-9483
patricia.dixon@stonybrook.edu
Terry S. Earley
Ph.D
PEP Assessment Coordinator Tel: 632-7616
terry.earley@stonybrook.edu
Kamalesh Ellanti
B.Tech
Graduate Assistant/PEP Webmaster Tel: NA
kellanti@cs.stonybrook.edu
Social and Behavioral Sciences, z=4310
Name Designation Contacts Information
Marvin Glockner
Ph.D
University Certification Officer Tel: 632-7055
marvin.glockner@stonybrook.edu
Educational Leadership Program
Harriman Hall, z=3760
Name Designation Contacts Information
David Ferguson
Ph.D.
Associate Provost for Diversity and Inclusion, Distinguished Service Professor and Chair,Department of Technology and Society/Educational Leadership Tel: 632-8763
david.ferguson@stonybrook.edu
Todd Pittinsky
Ph.D.
Professor, Department of Technology and Society and Director of Research, Educational Leadership Program Tel: 632-1472
todd.pittinsky@stonybrook.edu
Robert Moraghan
Ed.D.
Director of Teaching for Educational Leadership and Lecturer Department of Technology and Society Tel: 632-7702
robert.moraghan@stonybrook.edu
Robert Scheidet
Ed.D.
Director of Educational Leadership Internships and Lecturer, Department of Technology and Society Tel: 632-4584
robert.scheidet@stonybrook.edu
Social and Behavioral Sciences, z=4310
Name Designation Contacts Information
Kenneth Forman
Ph.D
Lecturer and Coordinator Tel: 516-457-9499
kenneth.forman@stonybrook.edu
English Education
Humanities, z=5350
Name Designation Contacts Information
Celia Marshik
Ph.D.
Associate Professor and Chair, Department of English. Tel: 632-7400
celia.marshik@stonybrook.edu
Ken Lindblom
Ph.D.
Director of English Teacher Education and Associate Professor of English Tel: 632-7303
kenneth.lindblom@stonybrook.edu
Nicole Galante Lecturer and Associate Director of English Teacher Education Tel: TBD
nicole.galante@stonybrook.edu
Karen Lund
M.A.
Lecturer and Director of Field Experience and Clinical Practice Tel: 632-7377
karenL631@aol.com
Karen.M.Lund@stonybrook.edu
Susan Scheckel
Ph.D.
Associate Professor and Director of Undergraduate Studies Tel: 632-7400
susan.scheckel@stonybrook.edu
Drew Newman
Ph.D.
Associate Professor and Director of Graduate Studies Tel: 632-7400
andrew.newman@stonybrook.edu
Patricia Dunn
D.A.
Associate Professor Tel: 632-7416
patricia.dunn@stonybrook.edu
William Schiavo
M.A.
Lecturer Tel: 632-7400
cptwilly@optonline.net
william.schiavo@stonybrook.edu
Margaret Hanley Undergraduate Advisor for English Tel: 632-7400
margaret.hanley@stonybrook.edu
Foreign Language Education
Humanities, z=5359
Name Designation Contacts Information
Nicholas Rzhevsky
Ph.D.
Professor and Chair, Department of European Languages, Literatures and Cultures Tel: 632-7440
nicholas.rzhevsky@stonybrook.edu
Prosper Sanou
Ph.D.
Director, Foreign Language Teacher Education Program

Lecturer, Department of European Languages, Literatures, and Cultures and Undergraduate/Graduate Advisor, French
Tel: 632-7440
prosper.sanou@stonybrook.edu
Kathleen Vernon
Ph.D.
Associate Professor and Chair, Department of Hispanic Languages, Literatures, and Cultures Tel: 632-9668
kathleen.vernon@stonybrook.edu
Lou Deutsch
Ph.D.
Professor, Department of Hispanic Languages, Literatures and Cultures, and Director/Advisor of Graduate Studies in Spanish (summer 2013) Tel:632-6940
lou.deutsch@stonybrook.edu
Adrian Perez Melgosa
Ph.D.
Assistant Professor, Department of Hispanic Languages, Literatures, and Cultures, and Advisor for Graduate Studies in Spanish (fall 2013) Tel: TBD
adrian.perezmelgosa@stonybrook.edu
Sarah Jourdain
Ph.D.
Assistant Professor, Department of European Languages,Literatures and Cultures Tel: 632-7440
sarah.jourdain@stonybrook.edu
Irene Marchegiani
Ph.D.
Provost's Outstanding Lecturer and Director of Field Experience and Clinical Practice, Undergraduate Director for European Languages Tel: 632-7440
irene.marchegiani@stonybrook.edu
Sophie Raynard-Leroy
Ph.D.
Graduate Director of European Studies Tel: 632-7440
sophie.raynard@stonybrook.edu
Daniela Flesler
Ph.D.
Associate Professor, Department of Hispanic Languages, Literatures and Cultures, and Director/Advisor of Undergraduate Studies in Spanish Tel: 632-6031
daniela.flesler@stonybrook.edu
Andrea Fedi
Ph.D.
Associate Professor: Italian Renaissance literature, and historiography and Director, Language Learning and Research Center (LLRC) Tel: TBD
andrea.fedi@stonybrook.edu
Julian Chen Technical Director, Language Learning and Research Center (LLRC) Tel: 632-7013
chengchiang.chen@stonybrook.edu
Charles Franco
Ph.D.
Associate Professor / Undergraduate Director and Advisor,Italian Tel: 632-7440
charles.franco@stonybrook.edu
Robert Bloomer
Ph.D.
Associate Professor/Advisor for German Tel: 632-7369
robert.bloomer@stonybrook.edu
Madeline Turan
M.S.
Lecturer, Foreign Language Teacher Education Program and Co-Director of the ELLC ACE Program. Tel: 632-7440
madeline.turan@stonybrook.edu
Ambassador Harsh Bhasin
M.A.
Visiting Professor, International Relations Tel: 632-4041
harsh.bhasin@stonybrook.edu
Darlene Prowse
M.S.
Department Administrator, Department of Asian and Asian American Studies Tel: 632-7690
darlene.prowse@stonybrook.edu
Agnes Weiyun He
Ph.D.
Professor of Applied Linguistics and Asian Studies, Chair of the Department of Asian and Asian American Studies, and Undergraduate Advisor for Chinese Tel(Office): 632-1096
Tel(Department):632-4030
agnes.he@stonybrook.edu
Eriko Sato
Ph.D.
Provost's Outstanding Lecturer and Undergraduate Advisor for Japanese, Department of Asian and Asian American Studies Tel: 632-9477
eriko.sato@stonybrook.edu
Heejeong Sohn
Ph.D.
Assistant Director for Korean Studies, Lecturer, and Undergraduate Advisor for Korean, Department of Asian and Asian American Studies Tel: 632-7311
heejeong.sohn@stonybrook.edu
Mathematics Education
Math Tower, z=3651
Name Designation Contacts Information
Mikhail Lyubich
Ph.D.
Professor and Chair, Department of Mathematics Tel: 632-8247/8250
mikhail.lyubich@stonybrook.edu
Lisa Berger
Ph.D.
Director, Mathematics Teacher Education Program and Associate Professor of Mathematics Tel: 632-8278
lisa.berger@stonybrook.edu
Miriam Flynn
P.D.
Lecturer and Director of Field Experience and Clinical Practice Tel: 632-8293
Miriam.Flynn@stonybrook.edu
Bill Bernhard
M.A.
Lecturer Tel: 632-8272
william.bernhard@stonybrook.edu
Claude LeBrun
Ph.D.
Professor and Director of Graduate Studies Tel: 632-8254
claude.lebrun@stonybrook.edu
David Ebin
Ph.D.
Professor, Department of Mathematics and Director of Undergraduate Studies Tel: 632-8283
david.ebin@stonybrook.edu
Raanan Schul
Ph.D.
Assistant Professor of Mathematics and Associate Director of Undergraduate Studies Tel: 632-8995
raanan.schul@stonybrook.edu
Lucille Meci
Assistant to the Chair Tel: 632-8260
lucille.meci@stonybrook.edu
Science Education
Life Sciences, z=5233
Name Designation Contacts Information
Robert S. Haltiwanger
Ph.D.
Professor and Chair, Department of Biochemistry and Cell Biology Tel: 632-7336
robert.haltiwanger@stonybrook.edu
Keith Sheppard
Ed.D.
Director of Science Education and Associate Professor of Biochemistry and Cell Biology

Director, Center for Science and Mathematics Education (CESAME)
Tel: 632-2989
keith.sheppard@stonybrook.edu
Linda Padwa
M.A.T.
Provost's Outstanding Lecturer, Associate Director for Science Education and Director of Field Experience and Clinical Practice Tel: 632-7075
linda.padwa@stonybrook.edu
David Bynum
Ph.D.
Professor of Biochemistry and Cell Biology Tel: 632-9750
david.bynum@stonybrook.edu
Judith Nimmo CESAME Administrator Tel: 632-9750
judith.nimmo@stonybrook.edu
Debra Pelio Senior Staff Assistant Tel: 632-1825
debra.pelio@stonybrook.edu
Ellen Lopez Senior Staff Assistant Undergraduate Biology, Advisor Tel: 632-8543
ellen.lopez@stonybrook.edu
Zuzana Zachar
Ph.D.
Research Assistant Professor and Graduate Advisor, Biology Tel: 632-8970
zuzana.zachar@stonybrook.edu
Susan Oatis Lecturer and Undergraduate and Graduate Advisor, Chemistry Tel: 631-1571
susan.oatis@stonybrook.edu
Gil Hanson
Ph.D.
Professor and Undergraduate and Graduate Advisor, Geosciences Tel: 632-8210
gilbert.hanson@stonybrook.edu
Robert McCarthy
Ph.D.
Professor and Undergraduate and Graduate Advisor, Physics Tel: 632-8086
mccarthy@sbhep1.physics.sunysb.edu
robert.mccarthy@stonybrook.edu
Caren Gough
M.S.
Lecturer Tel: 632-7075
caren.gough@stonybrook.edu
Angela Kelly
Ph.D.
Assistant Professor, Department of Physics & Astronomy Center for Science & Mathematics Education (CESAME) Tel:632-7075
angela.kelly@stonybrook.edu
Social Studies Education
SBS, z=4348
Name Designation Contacts Information
Gary Marker
Ph.D.
Professor and Chair, Department of History Tel: 632-7513
gary.marker@stonybrook.edu
Larry Frohman
Ph.D
Director of Social Studies Teacher Education and Associate Professor of History (On Research Leave - Fall 2014) Tel: 632-7686
lawrence.frohman@stonybrook.edu
Charles Backfish
M.A.
Acting Director (Fall 2014) Provost's Outstanding Lecturer and Director of Field Experience and Clinical Practice Tel: 632-1093
charles.backfish@stonybrook.edu
Terry S. Earley
Ph.D
Lecturer Tel: 632-7616
terry.earley@stonybrook.edu
TESOL Education
SBS, z=4376
Name Designation Contacts Information
Richard Larson
Ph.D.
Professor and Chair, Department of Linguistics Tel: 632-7778
richard.larson@stonybrook.edu
Annette Shideler
Ed.D.
Interim Director Tel: 632-8003
annette.shideler@stonybrook.edu
Mariann Coogan
M.A.
Lecturer Tel: 632-8003
mariann.coogan@stonybrook.edu
Dorit Kaufman
Ph.D.
Professor of Linguistics and TESOL Teacher Education Tel: 632-7783
dorit.kaufman@stonybrook.edu
Ellen Broselow
Ph.D.
Professor and MA TESOL Director/Advisor Tel: 632-7780
ellen.broselow@stonybrook.edu
Lori Repetti
Ph.D.
Professor and Director of Undergraduate Studies Tel: 632-7446
lori.repetti@stonybrook.edu
Sandra Brennan Department Administrator Tel: 632-7777
sandra.brennan@stonybrook.edu
Michelle Carbone Dept. Secretary / Graduate Program Coordinator Tel: 632-7774
michelle.carbone@stonybrook.edu
Core Education Faculty
Name Designation Contacts Information
Georges Fouron
Ed.D.
Professor, Africana Studies Tel: 632-6924
georges.fouron@stonybrook.edu
Julio Gonzalez Martinez
Ed.D.
Lecturer Tel: 632-4219
julio.gonzalezmartinez@stonybrook.edu
GonzalezJ@oldwestbury.edu
Joy Janzen
Ph.D.
Lecturer, Literacy Development Tel: 632-7737
joy.janzen@stonybrook.edu
Lauren Kaushansky
M.A.
Lecturer Tel: N/A
lauren.kaushansky@stonybrook.edu
Harriet S. Waters
Ph.D
Professor, Psychology Tel: 632-7844
Harriet.Waters@stonybrook.edu
New York City Faculty
Name Designation Contacts Information
Natalie Lukas
M.S.
Director, SUTEC Tel: 718-935-5515
nlukas@nyc.rr.com