Chief Administrative Officers

Dean Leonard K. Olson

Dr. John Lee, President

SUNY President Dr. Thomas H. Hamilton, Acting Administrative Head, and subsequently SUNY Provost Dr. Harry W. Porter, Acting Dean of the college of Arts and Sciences, and Dr. Hamilton's representative. (N.B., at that time the head of SUNY was President, later changed to Chancellor)

September 1, 1962-August 31, 1965
Dr. Karl D. Hartzell, Executive Dean in SUNY Central, started with a one year appointment at Stony Brook as Acting Chief Administrative Officer and Dean of the College of Arts and Sciences.

September 1, 1965-August 31, 1978
Dr. John S. Toll, President

Dr. T. Alexander Pond, Executive Vice President, Acting President

Dr. Richard Schmidt, President, Upstate Medical Center, Acting President

Dr. John H. Marburger III, President

1994-June 30, 2009
Dr. Shirley Strum Kenny, President

July 1, 2009-
Samuel L. Stanley, Jr., M.D.