Top Faculty Honored at Annual Achievement Dinner


Faculty awardee Daniel Klein (left) with Provost Dennis Assanis

Members of the Stony Brook University community gathered at the Old Field Club on November 28 to congratulate faculty awardees on their professional accomplishments and the outstanding work for which they were being recognized. The distinguished faculty who were honored at the annual Faculty Achievement Dinner have demonstrated stellar scholarly activity and service to their disciplines.

Dennis N. Assanis, Provost and Senior Vice President for Academic Affairs, gave the welcome remarks and acknowledged the awardees. Guest speakers included Esther Takeuchi, Distinguished Professor, Department of Chemistry and Materials Science and Engineering, and Eckard Wimmer, Distinguished Professor, Department of Molecular Genetics and Microbiology.


Applied Mathematics and Statistics
Eugene Feinberg: Distinguished Professor
James Glimm: Galileo Medal, International Conference on Hyperbolic Problems and Applications
Xiaolin Li: Defense University Research Instrumentation Program, Defense Department
Joseph Mitchell: Fellow, Association for Computing Machinery

Shoki Goodarzi: Outstanding Lecturer

Asian and Asian American Studies
Sunita Mukhi: Outstanding Lecturer
Eriko Sato: Outstanding Lecturer

Biochemistry and Cell Biology
Edward Luk: National Academies Education Fellow in the Life Sciences, National Academies Education

Biomedical Engineering
Congwu Du: NIH NIDA (National Institute for Drug Addiction), Cutting-Edge Basic Science Award
Lilianne Mujica-Parod Strey: Presidential Early Career Award for Scientists and Engineers
Yingtian Pan: NIH NIDA, Cutting-Edge Basic Science Award
Yi-Xian Qin: Elected Corresponding Member, International Academy of Astronautics
Clinton Rubin: Outstanding Clinical Investigator Award, Biomedical Engineering Society and the Society for Physical Regulation in Biology and Medicine
Balaji Sitharaman: The Coulter Translational Research Award, Wallace H. Coulter Foundation

Faculty speakers and awardees Esther Takeuchi and Eckard Wimmer

Elizabeth Boon: Best Poster Award, American Society for Biochemistry and Molecular Biology 2011 Annual Meeting; invited to the National Academy of Sciences’s 23rd Kavli Frontiers of Science Symposium (NAS’s premiere activity for distinguished young scientists)
Ken Dill: Distinguished Professor, Emily Gray Award, Biophysical Society
Joanna Fowler: Distinguished Women in Chemistry Award, IUPAC
Clare Grey: Kavli Medal and Lecture; Honorary Doctorate, University of Orleans
Benjamin Hsiao: Fellow, American Association for the Advancement of Science; Fellow, American Chemical Society
Iwao Ojima: National Science Council Lecturer, Taiwan
Kenneth Takeuchi: Fellow, The American Chemical Society; Inaugural Recipient, Third Year Class University at Buffalo Faculty Award for Excellence in Mentoring Undergraduate Research and Creative Activity, University at Buffalo

C.N. Yang Institute for Theoretical Physics
Rouven Essig: Early Career Award, Department of Energy
George Sterman: Fellow, American Association for the Advancement of Science

Computer Science
Donald Porter: Early Career Development (CAREER) Award, National Science Foundation
Radu Sion: Defense University Research Instrumentation Program, Defense Department

Cultural Analysis and Theory
Jacqueline Reich: Howard Fellowship, George A. and Eliza Gardner Howard Foundation, Brown University

Ecology and Evolution
Liliana Davalos-Alvarez: Fellow in the Life Sciences, National Academies Education

Electrical and Computer Engineering
Gregory Belenky: 2012 Engineering Achievement Award, IEEE Photonics Society; Defense University Research Instrumentation Program, Defense Department
Petar Djuric: Technical Achievement Award, European Association for Signal Processing
Thomas Robertazzi: Outstanding Educator Award, Long Island IEEE Section

Bente Videbaek: Outstanding Lecturer, Stony Brook University

European Languages, Literatures and Cultures
Aaron Godfrey: Outstanding Lecturer

Timothy Glotch: Early Career Development (CAREER) Award, National Science Foundation
Hanna Nekvasil: Fellow, Mineralogical Society of America
Don Weidner: Inge Lehmann Medal, American Geophysical Union

Hispanic Languages and Literature
Lilia Delfina Ruiz-Debbe: Outstanding Lecturer

Charles Backfish: Outstanding Lecturer, Stony Brook University

Marine and Atmospheric Sciences
Carl Safina: Orion Book Award

Materials Science and Engineering
Gary Halada: Distinguished Teaching Professor; Leadership Fellow, Science Education for New Civic Engagement and Responsibility, National Center for Science and Civic Engagement
Sanjay Sampath: Distinguished Professor; Outstanding Review Paper, Journal of Thermal Spray Technology
Esther Takeuchi
(joint appointment with Chemistry): Inducted into the National Inventors Hall of Fame

Mechanical Engineering
Fu-Pen Chiang: Lifetime Achievement Medal, International Conference on Computational and Experimental Engineering and Sciences
Thomas Cubaud: Early Career Development (CAREER) Award, National Science Foundation; Frenkiel Award for Fluid Mechanics, Division of Fluid Dynamics of the American Physical Society

Molecular Genetics and Microbiology
Jorge Benach: Awarded Training Grant for Fellows: The New York Consortium for the Advancement of Postdoctoral Scholars, National Institute of General Medical Sciences
James Bliska: Fellow, American Academy of Microbiology
Eckard Wimmer: Member, National Academy of Sciences; Certificate of Special Congressional Recognition

David Finckel: Honorary Doctorate, University of Hartford; Musician of the Year, Musical America
Arthur Haas: Thomas Binkley Award for Outstanding Collegium Director, Early Music America

Neurobiology and Behavior
Giancarlo La Camera: National Academies Education Fellow in the Life Sciences, National Academies Education
Lorna Role: Fellow, American Association for the Advancement of Science

Obstetrics, Gynecology and Reproductive Medicine
Cecilia Avila: CREOG Award
Paul Ogburn: Elected President of the New York Perinatal Society
Eva Swoboda: APGO CREOG Award

Arthur Grollman: Annual Award, Environmental Mutagen Society

Eva Kittay: Lifetime Achievement Award, Center for Discovery

Physics and Astronomy
Dmitri Kharzeev: Distinguished Founding Faculty Fellow of SkTech, SkTech/MIT
Peter Stephens: Fellow, American Association for the Advancement of Science
Dmitri Tsybichev: Early Career Development (CAREER) Award, National Science Foundation

Physiology and Biophysics
Peter Brink: Patent of the Year Award, Long Island Inventors Hall of Fame
Ira Cohen: Patent of the Year Award, Long Island Inventors Hall of Fame

Political Science
Jeffrey Segal: Fellow, American Academy of Arts and Sciences

Preventive Medicine
Iris Granek: Aesculapius Award for Outstanding Teaching, Stony Brook University School of Medicine
Stephen Post: Pioneer Medal for Outstanding Leadership in HealthCare, HealthCare Chaplaincy New York

Psychiatry and Behavioral Science
Evelyn Bromet: Elected President of the American Psychopathological Association
Max Fink: Thomas W. Salmon Medal for Life Long Contributions to Psychiatry and Neurology, The New York Academy of Medicine on Psychiatry and Mental Hygiene
Laura Fochtmann: Warren Williams Award, The American Psychiatric Association APA Assembly
Arthur Stone: Appointed Chair, Advisory Panel, National Academy of Sciences

Daniel Klein: Award for Distinguished Scientific Contributions to Clinical Psychology, Society of Clinical Psychology

Writing Program
Jennifer Albanese: Outstanding Lecturer
Dennis Clarke: Outstanding Lecturer
Cynthia Davidson: Outstanding Lecturer
Marilyn Zucker: Outstanding Lecturer


About Author

1 Comment

  1. Pingback: #246: Honored Faculty « CommunityOfAwesome

Leave A Reply