Recent Grants and Awards



Oyeronke Oyewumi -- Fulbright Scholar Grant

Rebekah Burroway, Cathy Marrone, and Carrie Shandra -- Dean's Funds for Excellence awards

Sasha Rodriguez -- American Sociological Association Minority Fellowship

Bethany Coston -- Madeline Fusco Fellowship Award

Sasha Rodriguez -- Faculty-Staff Dissertation Fellowship

Amanda Kennedy -- President's Award for Excellence in Teaching

Sociology Major Neha Kinariwalla -- Gates Cambridge University Fellowship

Tarun Banerjee -- Judith Tanur Dissertation Research Award

Crystal Fleming -- Career Enhancement Fellowship from the Woodrow Wilson Foundation


Recent years

Arnout van de Rijt -- Research grant -- NSF -- $274,769

Tarun Banerjee and Michael Schwartz -- Dissertation Improvement Grant -- NSF -- $12,000

Michael Restivo and Arnout van de Rijt -- Dissertation Improvement Grant -- NSF -- $12,000

Michael Kimmel -- John D. and Catherine T. MacArthur Foundation grant for a Center for the Study of Men & Masculinities -- $300,000

Carrie Shandra -- Emerging Investigator Award -- DRC & SSA -- $30,000

Arnout van de Rijt and Robert J. Harrison -- Research Initiatives Seed Grant -- SBU & BNL -- $38,260

Rebekah Burroway -- TALENT grant -- Stony Brook University Teaching, Learning & Technology -- $6,000

Tarun Banerjee, Rebekah Burroway and Michael Schwartz -- FAD award -- ASA / NSF -- $7,000

Crystal Fleming -- 2012 Georges Lavau Dissertation Award -- APSA French Politics Group

Lori Scarlatos, Alexander Orlov, Arnout van de Rijt and David Tonjes -- Innovative Instruction Technology Grant -- SUNY -- $60,000

Michael Schwartz -- 2012 Carla B. Howery Award for Developing Teacher Scholars -- ASA

Arnout van de Rijt and Steven Skiena -- Seed Grant for Survey Research -- SBU Center for Survey Research -- $10,000

Carrie Shandra -- Spencer Postdoctoral Fellowship -- National Academy of Education -- $55,000

Carrie Shandra -- FAD award -- ASA / NSF -- $7,000

Joshua Murray and Michael Schwartz -- Dissertation Improvement Grant -- NSF -- $3,635

Joshua Murray, Arnout van de Rijt and John Shandra -- FAD award -- ASA / NSF -- $7,000

Arnout van de Rijt -- Freeman Award for Distinguished Young Scholar -- INSNA

Vincent Buskens and Arnout van de Rijt -- Prize for Best Article -- European Academy of Sociology -- €500

Arnout van de Rijt (with Jie Gao & Steven Skiena) -- Interdisciplinary Initiatives Fund (2x) -- FAHSS -- $10,000

Tomothy Moran, Javier Auyero and Michael Schwartz -- Research Grant -- NSF -- $245,235

Ken Feldman -- Howard R. Bowen Distinguished Career Award -- Association for the Study of Higher Education

Eran Shor and Michael Schwartz -- Dissertation Improvement Grant -- NSF -- $12,000

Judith Tanur -- Innovators Award -- American Association for Public Opinion Research

Judith Tanur -- Dean’s Award for Graduate Student Mentoring -- SBU

News & Events

  November 2015  
  IHSS will present Nicholas Wilson, Stony Brook Department Sociology, November 18, 1:15 PM - 2:30 PM, SBS N320, “What Do Historical Sociologists Do All Day?  Historical Method in Theory and Practice  
  October 2015  
  September 2015  
  •Sociology Brown Bag Series presents Assistant Professor Jason Jones, Wednesday, September 16, 1:00 - 2:20 PM, SBS N403, "The Paradox of Weak Ties in 55 Countries."
•Sociology Brown Bag Series presents Ph.D. student Cliff Leek, Wednesday, September 2, 1:00 - 2:20 PM, SBS N403, "Men and Masculinities in International Development:  Are Fears Becoming Realities?"
  May 2015  
  Ph.D. student Suzan Walters receives the 2015 Outstanding Student Paper Award in the ASA section, Disability and Society, for her paper, "Caregiving and HIV:  Accounts of Resisting Individualism, Privatization, and Cuts in Social Spending."
Jennifer Heerwig and Josh Murray (Assistant Professor at Vanderbilt and SBU Sociology alumni) awarded $33,000 grant by the Russell Sage Foundation to support their project entitled "Partisanship, Unity, and Inter-Corporate Networks:  Political Donations of the Corporate Elite, 1980 - 2014."
  April 2015  
  Sociology Brown Bag series presents Professor Ian Roxborough, Wednesday, April 22, 1:00 - 2:20 PM, SBS N403, "Human Aspects of Military Operations: Intra-Organizational Debate and Spontaneous Sociology."
IHSS will present Miriam L. Kingsberg, University of Colorado; ACLS Ryskamp Visiting Scholar, Columbia University, April 15, 11:30 AM - 1:00 PM, “Fieldwork, Ethnology, and Empire: the Making of Japan's ‘Transwar Generation’ of Social Scientists” - Co-sponsored by the History Department
Sociology Brown Bag series presents Associate Professor Timothy P. Moran and Ph.D. student Sofia Boutillier, Wednesday, April 8, 1:00 - 2:20 PM, SBS N403, "Saying Happiness While Doing Inequality:  Wealth, Neoliberalism, and the New York Times."
  March 2015  
  Philip Kasinitz, Professor of Sociology at Hunter College and the Graduate Center of CUNY, March 25, 2015, 1:00 PM, SBS N403, "Immigration, Diversity and Citizenship:  The Changing Terrain of Racial Justice."
Nancy Foner, Distinguished Professor of Sociology at Hunter College and the Graduate Center of CUNY, March 12, 2015, 4:00 PM, SBS N403, "Immigration and the Remaking of New York."
IHSS will present Shobana Shankar, Stony Brook Department of History, March 11, 1:00 PM - 2:20 PM, SBS N320, “Curbing Religious Freedoms for State Security: The Old Cities of Northern Nigeria in the Era."
of Decolonization” - Co-sponsored by the Africana Studies Department
  February 2015  
  Sociology Brown Bag series presents Ph.D. student Carolyn Coburn, Wednesday, February 18, 1:00 - 2:20 PM, SBS N403, "Water, Sanitation, and Female Secondary School Enrollment:  A Cross-National Analysis of Sub-Saharan African Nations."  
  IHSS will present Paul Gootenberg, Stony Brook Department of History & Sociology, February 18, 1:00 PM - 2:20 PM, SBS N320, “From Teonanácatl to Miami Vice: Latin America’s Contribution to World Drug Culture” - Co-sponsored by the Latin American and Caribbean Studies Center  
  Sociology Brown Bag series presents Assistant Professor Kristen Shorette, Wednesday, February 4, 1:00 - 2:20 PM, SBS N403, "Global Institutions and the Persistence of Cross-National Health Disparities across the Global South."  
  December 2014  
  Florencia Arancibia has been awarded a two-year post-doctoral fellowship with the Argentine National Scientific and Technical Research Council for her research project, "Social movements and knowledge intermediaries: participatory methods for inclusive innovation."  
  October 2014
  IHSS will present Rick DesRochers, Long Island University-Post Campus, Department of Theatre, October 14, 2:30 PM, SBS N403, "The Family Act Goes to School - The Marx Brothers, Vaudeville, and Americanization."  
  September 2014  
  Michael Kimmel and Gloria Steinem co-author New York Times opinion piece on consensual sex on college campuses entitled "Yes Is Better Than No."
Kristen Shorette receives ASA Fund for the Advancement of the Discipline Award for her project, "Freedom from Discrimination as Human Right?  The Global Human Rights Regime and the Diffusion of Affirmative Action since 1965"
Carrie Shandra selected as a Fellow of the National Institute on Disability and Rehabilitation Research's Switzer Research Program
Nicholas Wilson, Yale University, September 29, 2014, 1:00 PM, SBS N403, "Corruption and the Making of Modern Bureaucracy:  Evidence from the British Empire in India."
IHSS will present Steven Skiena, Stony Brook University, Department of Computer Science, September 18, 2:30 PM, SBS N403, "Who's Bigger?  Where Historical Figures Really Rank.

Department of Sociology,  Stony Brook University, Stony Brook, NY 11794-4356, tel.: +1 (631) 632-7700

Login to Edit