Faculty

 Arjomand Saïd Arjomand

Distinguished Service Professor
Ph.D. 1980, University of Chicago
(631) 632-7746
Said.Arjomand@stonybrook.edu

 Barthel      Diane Barthel-Bouchier

Professor                                             
Ph.D. 1977, Harvard
(631) 632-7701
Diane.Barthel-Bouchier@stonybrook.edu

       

Giovani Burgos

Visiting Assistant Professor
Ph.D. 2006, University of Indiana
(631) 632-7714
Giovani.Burgos@stonybrook.edu

Burroway

Rebekah Burroway

Assistant Professor
Ph.D. 2011, Duke
(631) 632-7738
Rebekah.Burroway@stonybrook.edu
       
 

Kathleen Fallon

Associate Professor
Ph.D. 2002, University of Indiana
(631) 632-7581
Kathleen.Fallon@stonybrook.edu

 Feldman Kenneth A. Feldman

Professor
Ph.D. 1965, University of Michigan
(631) 632-7743
Kenneth.Feldman.1@stonybrook.edu

       
 Fleming2 Crystal M. Fleming

Assistant Professor
Ph.D. 2011, Harvard
(631) 632-6341
Crystal.Fleming@stonybrook.edu

 Forbis Melissa Forbis

Assistant Professor
Ph.D. 2008, University of Texas
(631) 632-4872
Melissa.Forbis@stonybrook.edu

       
 Goodman Norman Goodman

Distinguished Service and Teaching Professor
Ph.D. 1963, NYU
(631) 632-7750
Norman.Goodman@stonybrook.edu

 

Jen Heerwig

Assistant Professor
Ph.D. 2013, NYU
(631) 632-7714
Jen.Heerwig@stonybrook.edu

       
Joseph

Tiffany Joseph

Assistant Professor
Ph.D. 2011, University of Michigan
(631) 632-7592
Tiffany.Joseph@stonybrook.edu

 Kimmel

Michael Kimmel

Distinguished Professor
Ph.D. 1981, UC Berkeley
(631) 632-7708
Michael.Kimmel@stonybrook.edu

       
 Levy

Daniel Levy

Professor
Ph.D. 1999, Columbia
(631) 632-7700
Daniel.Levy@stonybrook.edu

Marrone

Catherine Marrone

Lecturer
Ph.D. 1995, SUNY Stony Brook
(631) 632-4883
Catherine.Marrone@stonybrook.edu

       
 Moran

Timothy P. Moran

Associate Professor
Ph.D. 2000, University of Maryland
(631) 632-4311
Timothy.P.Moran@stonybrook.edu

 Oyewumi Oyeronke Oyewumi

Associate Professor
Ph.D. 1993, UC Berkeley
(631) 632-7747
Oyeronke.Oyewumi@stonybrook.edu

       
 Rosenthal

Naomi Rosenthal

Visiting Professor
Ph.D. 1978, SUNY Old Westbury
(631) 632-7700 Naomi.Rosenthal@stonybrook.edu

 Roxborough Ian Roxborough

Professor
Ph.D. 1977, University of Wisconsin
(631) 632-7755
Ian.Roxborough@stonybrook.edu

       
 Schwartz

Michael Schwartz

Distinguished Teaching Professor
Ph.D. 1971, Harvard
(631) 632-7700
Michael.Schwartz@stonybrook.edu

 Shandra

John Shandra

Associate Professor
Ph.D. 2005, Boston College
(631) 632-7755
John.Shandra@stonybrook.edu

       
carrie

Carrie Shandra

Assistant Professor
Ph.D. 2009, Brown
(631) 632-7753
Carrie.Shandra@stonybrook.edu

 van de Rijt

Arnout van de Rijt

Associate Professor
Ph.D. 2007, Cornell
(631) 632-7704
Arnout.Vanderijt@stonybrook.edu

 

Emeritus Faculty

   
Chase Ivan Chase

Professor Emeritus
Ph.D. 1972, Harvard
(631) 632-7753
Ivan.Chase@stonybrook.edu

Cole Stephen Cole

Distinguished Professor Emeritus           
Ph.D. 1967, Columbia
(631) 632-7732
Stephen.Cole@stonybrook.edu

       
 O. Andrew Collver

O. Andrew Collver

Associate Professor Emeritus
Ph.D., 1964, UC Berkeley
(631) 632-7700
acollver@optonline.net

Gagnon

John H. Gagnon

Distinguished Professor Emeritus
Ph.D. 1969, University of Chicago
(631) 632-7700
jhgagnon@gmail.com

       
 Goode  Erich Goode

Professor Emeritus
Ph.D. 1966, Columbia
(631) 632-7700
egoode2001@aol.com

Tanur  Judith Tanur

Distinguished Teaching Professor Emerita 
 Ph.D. 1972, Stony Brook University
(631) 632-7700 Judith.Tanur@stonybrook.edu

       
Tyree

Andrea Tyree

Professor Emerita
Ph.D. 1968, University of Chicago
(631) 632-7700
Andrea.Tyree@stonybrook.edu

 

 

 

Part-Time Lecturers

 

   
 

Jane Ely
Ph.D. 1998, Stony Brook University

Office:  SBS N-407
(631) 632-4172
jane.ely@stonybrook.edu

 

Linda Wicks
Ph.D. 1993, Stony Brook University

Office:  SBS N-404
(631) 632-7729
linda.wicks@stonybrook.edu

News & Events

  June 2014
 
  •Suzan Walters was named a 2014 Teaching Innovations and Professional Development Award Recipient by SAGE.  
  May 2014  
  Cathy Marrone receives the Sister Margareet Ann Landry Lifetime Achievement Award at the Stony Brook Student Life Awards Ceremony  
  April 2014  
 

•Study by Arnout van de Rijt and Michael Restivo published in PNAS and featured in The Economist
•Kenneth Pierce has received the Jean Harvey Slappy Fellowship by the Marcus Garvey Foundation
•Florencia Arancibia has been awarded an Inter-American Foundation Grassroots Development Field Research Fellowship
IHSS, co-sponsored with the Department of History presents Samuel Roberts, Columbia University Mailman School of Public Health, April 22nd, 2:30 PM, SBS N320, "Black Politics, Caught Between Criminalization and Medicalization:  Methadone Maintenance, Decriminalization, and Harm Reduction, 1965-1990."
Natalia Sarkisian, Boston College, April 17th, 4:00 PM, SBS S403,"More or Less Kin:  Economic Disparities and Kin Support"
Oyeronke Oyewumi received the Distinguished Africanist Award by the New York African Studies Association (NYASA)
•Hyang-Gi Song has been awarded the Center for Korean Studies graduate fellowship
Jennifer London, Institute for Advanced Study at Princeton University, April 9, 2014, 3:00 PM, Stony Brook Manhattan, "Understanding Authoritarianism as a Dynamic Category of Practice:  Ibn al-Muqaffa's Legacy for the History of Arab Political Thought:"

 
  March 2014  
 

•Brooke Ellison, Ph.D. 2012, Assistant Professor of Healthcare Policy and Management at Stony Brook University, was selected by the World Economic Forum as a 2014 Global Leader.
•Oyeronke Oyewumi awarded 2014/15 Fulbright Scholar Grant for teaching and research in Harare, Zimbabwe
•Rebekah Burroway, Cathy Marrone, and Carrie Shandra awarded Dean's Funds for Excellence awards
•Sasha Rodriguez awarded the American Sociological Association Minority Fellowship
•Bethany Coston receives the Madeline Fusco Fellowship Award
•Sasha Rodriguez receives the Faculty-Staff Dissertation Fellowship
•Amanda Kennedy receives the President's Award for Excellence in Teaching
•Sociology Major Neha Kinariwalla receives Gates Cambridge University Fellowship
•Ambassador Robert Toscano, March 24, 2014, 4:00 PM, Center for Italian Studies, Library, Room E4340, "Putin's Russia: Between Soviet Nostalgia and Traditionalist Nataionalism"
Valerie Leiter, Simmons College, March 13th, 4:00 PM, Health Sciences Center,Level 2, Room 408 (School of Health Technology and Management Conference Room),"Power, Rights, and Participation among Youth with Disabilities."  Co-sponsored by the Program in Public Health
IHSS will present Lori Flores, Stony Brook University, Department of History, March 5, 12:00 Noon, SBS N320, "Battlegrounds of Masculinity:  Latino Servicemen, Zoot Suiters, and Farmworkers in World War II"

 
  February 2014
 
  •Tarun Banerjee receives Sociology Department's Judith Tanur Dissertation Research Award.
Crystal Fleming receives Career Enhancement Fellowship from the Woodrow Wilson Foundation.
IHSS will present Lawrence Frohman, Stony Brook University, Department of History, February 12th, 11:30 AM, SBS N320, "Surveillance, Security, Divinity"
 
   November 2013  
   Michael Schwartz named Distinguished Teaching Professor by the State University of New York Board of Trustees  
   October 2013  
  Professor Adam Possamai, University of West Sydney, to speak on "Contemporary Religion and Australian Aborigines", Wednesday, October 30th, 3:00 PM, Stony Brook Manhattan, sponsored by the Dept. of Sociology, SBU Institute for Global Studies, and International Academic Programs and Services
Memory in the Disciplines Workshop welcomes Professor Suparna Rajaram, Stony Brook University, "Collaborative Memory:  A Cognitive Perspective", Wednesday, October 30th, 2:30 PM, SBS N403
IHSS co Sponsored with the Department of History presents Patrick Weil, CNRS and Yale Law School, October 30th, 4:30 PM, SBS N320, "From Emma Goldman to Edward Snowden:  How Denationalization of "Radical" Americans Reshaped American Citizenship
IHSS presents Robert Chase, Stony Brook History Department, October 22nd, 2:30 PM,  SBS N320, "Slaves of the State Revolt:  The Prisoners' Rights Movement and the Construction of the Carceral State"
 
  September 2013  
  Arnout van de Rijt wins $275k NSF grant for in vivo experimental research on arbitrary social inequality
•Screening of the film, ESCAPE FIRE, Tuesday, September 17th, 4:00 PM, SBS N403
IHSS presents Clayton Fordahl, Stony Brook Sociology Department, September 24th, 2:30 PM,  SBS N405, Imperium in imperio:  Martyrdom, the Roman Empire, and the Creation of Christian Sovereignty" 
 

Department of Sociology,  Stony Brook University, Stony Brook, NY 11794-4356, tel.: +1 (631) 632-7700

Login to Edit