Faculty

 Arjomand Saïd Arjomand

Distinguished Service Professor
Ph.D. 1980, University of Chicago
(631) 632-7746
Said.Arjomand@stonybrook.edu

 Barthel      Diane Barthel-Bouchier

Professor                                             
Ph.D. 1977, Harvard
(631) 632-7701
Diane.Barthel-Bouchier@stonybrook.edu

       
Burroway

Rebekah Burroway

Assistant Professor
Ph.D. 2011, Duke
(631) 632-7738
Rebekah.Burroway@stonybrook.edu

Kathleen Fallon

Associate Professor
Ph.D. 2002, University of Indiana
(631) 632-7581
Kathleen.Fallon@stonybrook.edu
       
 Feldman Kenneth A. Feldman

Professor
Ph.D. 1965, University of Michigan
(631) 632-7743
Kenneth.Feldman.1@stonybrook.edu
 Fleming2

Crystal M. Fleming

Assistant Professor
Ph.D. 2011, Harvard
(631) 632-6341
Crystal.Fleming@stonybrook.edu

 

       
 Forbis

Melissa Forbis

Assistant Professor
Ph.D. 2008, University of Texas
(631) 632-4872
Melissa.Forbis@stonybrook.edu

 Goodman

Norman Goodman

Distinguished Service and Teaching Professor
Ph.D. 1963, NYU
(631) 632-7750
Norman.Goodman@stonybrook.edu

 Paul Gootenberg

Paul Gootenberg

Distinguished Professor
Ph.D. 1985, University of Chicago
(631) 632-7500
Paul.Gootenberg@stonybrook.edu

 

 

Jennifer Heerwig

Assistant Professor
Ph.D. 2013, NYU
(631) 632-7714
Jennifer.Heerwig@stonybrook.edu

       
Jason J. Jones

Jason Jones

Assistant Professor
Ph.D. 2011, UC San Diego
(631) 632-7726
Jason.J.Jones@stonybrook.edu

 

 Joseph

Tiffany Joseph

Assistant Professor
Ph.D. 2011, University of Michigan
(631) 632-7592
Tiffany.Joseph@stonybrook.edu

 

       
 Kimmel

Michael Kimmel

Distinguished Professor
Ph.D. 1981, UC Berkeley
(631) 632-7708
Michael.Kimmel@stonybrook.edu

 

Levy

Daniel Levy

Professor
Ph.D. 1999, Columbia
(631) 632-7700
Daniel.Levy@stonybrook.edu

 

       
 Marrone

Catherine Marrone

Lecturer
Ph.D. 1995, SUNY Stony Brook
(631) 632-4883
Catherine.Marrone@stonybrook.edu

 

 Moran

Timothy P. Moran

Associate Professor
Ph.D. 2000, University of Maryland
(631) 632-4311
Timothy.P.Moran@stonybrook.edu

       
 Oyewumi

Oyeronke Oyewumi

Associate Professor
Ph.D. 1993, UC Berkeley
(631) 632-7747
Oyeronke.Oyewumi@stonybrook.edu

 

 Rosenthal

Naomi Rosenthal

Visiting Professor
Ph.D. 1978, SUNY Old Westbury
(631) 632-7700 Naomi.Rosenthal@stonybrook.edu

       
 Roxborough

Ian Roxborough

Professor
Ph.D. 1977, University of Wisconsin
(631) 632-7755
Ian.Roxborough@stonybrook.edu

 Shandra

John Shandra

Associate Professor
Ph.D. 2005, Boston College
(631) 632-7755
John.Shandra@stonybrook.edu

 

       
carrie

Carrie Shandra

Assistant Professor
Ph.D. 2009, Brown
(631) 632-7753
Carrie.Shandra@stonybrook.edu

 

Kristen Shorette

Kristen Shorette

Assistant Professor
Ph.D. 2013, University of California, Irvine
(631) 632-7700
Kristen.Shorette@stonybrook.edu

 

       
 Boris Stremlin

 Boris Stremlin

Lecturer
Ph.D. 2006, Binghamton University
(631) 632-7700
Boris.Stremlin@stonybrook.edu

 

 van de Rijt

 Arnout van de Rijt

Associate Professor
Ph.D. 2007, Cornell
(631) 632-7704
Arnout.Vanderijt@stonybrook.edu

       

 

Emeritus Faculty

   
Chase Ivan Chase

Professor Emeritus
Ph.D. 1972, Harvard
(631) 632-7753
Ivan.Chase@stonybrook.edu

Cole Stephen Cole

Distinguished Professor Emeritus           
Ph.D. 1967, Columbia
(631) 632-7732
Stephen.Cole@stonybrook.edu

       
 O. Andrew Collver

O. Andrew Collver

Associate Professor Emeritus
Ph.D., 1964, UC Berkeley
(631) 632-7700
acollver@optonline.net

Gagnon

John H. Gagnon

Distinguished Professor Emeritus
Ph.D. 1969, University of Chicago
(631) 632-7700
jhgagnon@gmail.com

       
 Goode  Erich Goode

Professor Emeritus
Ph.D. 1966, Columbia
(631) 632-7700
egoode2001@aol.com

Schwartz

Michael Schwartz

Distinguished Teaching Professor
Ph.D. 1971, Harvard
(631) 632-7700
Michael.Schwartz@stonybrook.edu
       
Tyree

Andrea Tyree

Professor Emerita
Ph.D. 1968, University of Chicago
(631) 632-7700
Andrea.Tyree@stonybrook.edu

 Tanur

Judith Tanur

Distinguished Teaching Professor Emerita 
Ph.D. 1972, Stony Brook University
(631) 632-7700 Judith.Tanur@stonybrook.edu

 

Part-Time Lecturers

 

   
 

Jane Ely
Ph.D. 1998, Stony Brook University

Office:  SBS N-407
(631) 632-4172
jane.ely@stonybrook.edu

 

Linda Wicks
Ph.D. 1993, Stony Brook University

Office:  SBS N-404
(631) 632-7729
linda.wicks@stonybrook.edu

News & Events

  May 2015  
  Ph.D. student Suzan Walters receives the 2015 Outstanding Student Paper Award in the ASA section, Disability and Society, for her paper, "Caregiving and HIV:  Accounts of Resisting Individualism, Privatization, and Cuts in Social Spending."
Jennifer Heerwig and Josh Murray (Assistant Professor at Vanderbilt and SBU Sociology alumni) awarded $33,000 grant by the Russell Sage Foundation to support their project entitled "Partisanship, Unity, and Inter-Corporate Networks:  Political Donations of the Corporate Elite, 1980 - 2014."
 
  April 2015  
  Sociology Brown Bag series presents Professor Ian Roxborough, Wednesday, April 22, 1:00 - 2:20 PM, SBS N403, "Human Aspects of Military Operations: Intra-Organizational Debate and Spontaneous Sociology."
IHSS will present Miriam L. Kingsberg, University of Colorado; ACLS Ryskamp Visiting Scholar, Columbia University, April 15, 11:30 AM - 1:00 PM, “Fieldwork, Ethnology, and Empire: the Making of Japan's ‘Transwar Generation’ of Social Scientists” - Co-sponsored by the History Department
Sociology Brown Bag series presents Associate Professor Timothy P. Moran and Ph.D. student Sofia Boutillier, Wednesday, April 8, 1:00 - 2:20 PM, SBS N403, "Saying Happiness While Doing Inequality:  Wealth, Neoliberalism, and the New York Times."
 
  March 2015  
  Philip Kasinitz, Professor of Sociology at Hunter College and the Graduate Center of CUNY, March 25, 2015, 1:00 PM, SBS N403, "Immigration, Diversity and Citizenship:  The Changing Terrain of Racial Justice."
Nancy Foner, Distinguished Professor of Sociology at Hunter College and the Graduate Center of CUNY, March 12, 2015, 4:00 PM, SBS N403, "Immigration and the Remaking of New York."
IHSS will present Shobana Shankar, Stony Brook Department of History, March 11, 1:00 PM - 2:20 PM, SBS N320, “Curbing Religious Freedoms for State Security: The Old Cities of Northern Nigeria in the Era."
of Decolonization” - Co-sponsored by the Africana Studies Department
 
  February 2015  
  Sociology Brown Bag series presents Ph.D. student Carolyn Coburn, Wednesday, February 18, 1:00 - 2:20 PM, SBS N403, "Water, Sanitation, and Female Secondary School Enrollment:  A Cross-National Analysis of Sub-Saharan African Nations."  
  IHSS will present Paul Gootenberg, Stony Brook Department of History & Sociology, February 18, 1:00 PM - 2:20 PM, SBS N320, “From Teonanácatl to Miami Vice: Latin America’s Contribution to World Drug Culture” - Co-sponsored by the Latin American and Caribbean Studies Center  
  Sociology Brown Bag series presents Assistant Professor Kristen Shorette, Wednesday, February 4, 1:00 - 2:20 PM, SBS N403, "Global Institutions and the Persistence of Cross-National Health Disparities across the Global South."  
  December 2014  
  Florencia Arancibia has been awarded a two-year post-doctoral fellowship with the Argentine National Scientific and Technical Research Council for her research project, "Social movements and knowledge intermediaries: participatory methods for inclusive innovation."  
  October 2014
 
  IHSS will present Rick DesRochers, Long Island University-Post Campus, Department of Theatre, October 14, 2:30 PM, SBS N403, "The Family Act Goes to School - The Marx Brothers, Vaudeville, and Americanization."  
  September 2014  
  Michael Kimmel and Gloria Steinem co-author New York Times opinion piece on consensual sex on college campuses entitled "Yes Is Better Than No."
Kristen Shorette receives ASA Fund for the Advancement of the Discipline Award for her project, "Freedom from Discrimination as Human Right?  The Global Human Rights Regime and the Diffusion of Affirmative Action since 1965"
Carrie Shandra selected as a Fellow of the National Institute on Disability and Rehabilitation Research's Switzer Research Program
Nicholas Wilson, Yale University, September 29, 2014, 1:00 PM, SBS N403, "Corruption and the Making of Modern Bureaucracy:  Evidence from the British Empire in India."
IHSS will present Steven Skiena, Stony Brook University, Department of Computer Science, September 18, 2:30 PM, SBS N403, "Who's Bigger?  Where Historical Figures Really Rank.
 

Department of Sociology,  Stony Brook University, Stony Brook, NY 11794-4356, tel.: +1 (631) 632-7700

Login to Edit