Faculty

 Said Arjomand
Saïd Arjomand

Distinguished Service Professor
Ph.D. 1980, University of Chicago
(631) 632-7746
Said.Arjomand@stonybrook.edu

Rebekah Burroway

Rebekah Burroway

Assistant Professor
Ph.D. 2011, Duke
(631) 632-7700
Rebekah.Burroway@stonybrook.edu
       
Kathleen Fallon

Kathleen Fallon

Professor and Director of Graduate Studies
Ph.D. 2002, Indiana University
(631) 632-7581
Kathleen.Fallon@stonybrook.edu
Kenneth Feldman
Kenneth A. Feldman

Professor
Ph.D. 1965, University of Michigan
(631) 632-7743
Kenneth.Feldman.1@stonybrook.edu
       
 Crystal Fleming
Crystal M. Fleming


Assistant Professor
Ph.D. 2011, Harvard
(631) 632-7700
Crystal.Fleming@stonybrook.edu
 Melissa Forbis

Melissa Forbis

Assistant Professor
Ph.D. 2008, University of Texas
(631) 632-4872
Melissa.Forbis@stonybrook.edu

 

       
 Norman Goodman

Norman Goodman

Distinguished Service and Teaching Professor
Ph.D. 1963, NYU
(631) 632-7750
Norman.Goodman@stonybrook.edu
 Paul Gootenberg

Paul Gootenberg

Distinguished Professor
Ph.D. 1985, University of Chicago
(631) 632-7500
Paul.Gootenberg@stonybrook.edu

 

 Jennifer Heeerwig

Jennifer Heerwig

Assistant Professor
Ph.D. 2013, NYU
(631) 632-7714
Jennifer.Heerwig@stonybrook.edu

 

 Jason Jones

Jason Jones

Assistant Professor
Ph.D. 2011, UC San Diego
(631) 632-7700
Jason.J.Jones@stonybrook.edu

 

       
Tiffany Joseph

Tiffany Joseph

Assistant Professor
Ph.D. 2011, University of Michigan
(631) 632-7592
Tiffany.Joseph@stonybrook.edu

 Michael Kimmel

 Michael Kimmel

Distinguished Professor
Ph.D. 1981, UC Berkeley
(631) 632-7708
Michael.Kimmel@stonybrook.edu

       
 Daniel Levy

 Daniel Levy

Professor & Chair
Ph.D. 1999, Columbia
(631) 632-7755
Daniel.Levy@stonybrook.edu

Catherine Marrone

Catherine Marrone

Senior Lecturer and Director of
Undergraduate Studies
Ph.D. 1995, SUNY Stony Brook
(631) 632-4883
Catherine.Marrone@stonybrook.edu

       
 Timothy P. Moran

Timothy P. Moran

Associate Professor
Ph.D. 2000, University of Maryland
(631) 632-7700
Timothy.P.Moran@stonybrook.edu

 Oyeronke Oyewumi
Oyeronke Oyewumi

Associate Professor
Ph.D. 1993, UC Berkeley
(631) 632-7700
Oyeronke.Oyewumi@stonybrook.ed
       
 Naomi Rosenthal

Naomi Rosenthal

Visiting Professor
Ph.D. 1978, SUNY Old Westbury
(631) 632-7700 Naomi.Rosenthal@stonybrook.edu

 

 Ian Roxborough
Ian Roxborough

Professor
Ph.D. 1977, University of Wisconsin
(631) 632-7700
Ian.Roxborough@stonybrook.edu
       
 John Shandra

John Shandra

Associate Professor
Ph.D. 2005, Boston College
(631) 632-7700
John.Shandra@stonybrook.edu

 Carrie Shandra

Carrie Shandra

Assistant Professor
Ph.D. 2009, Brown
(631) 632-7700
Carrie.Shandra@stonybrook.edu

 

       
Kristen Shorette

Kristen Shorette

Assistant Professor
Ph.D. 2013, University of California, Irvine
(631) 632-7700
Kristen.Shorette@stonybrook.edu

 

Kristen Shorette

Arnout van de Rijt

Associate Professor
Ph.D. 2007, Cornell
(631) 632-7704
Arnout.Vanderijt@stonybrook.edu

 

       
 van de Rijt

Nicholas H. Wilson

Assistant Professor
Ph.D. 2012, University of California-Berkeley
(631) 632-7700
Nicholas.Wilson@stonybrook.edu

 

 

 

       

 

Emeritus Faculty

   
Diane Barthel-Bouchier Diane Barthel-Bouchier

Professor Emerita
Ph.D. 1977, Harvard
(631) 632-7700                                  
Diane.Barthel-Bouchier@stonybrook.edu

Ivan Chase Ivan Chase

Professor Emeritus
Ph.D. 1972, Harvard
(631) 632-7753
Ivan.Chase@stonybrook.edu
       
 Stephen Cole

Stephen Cole

Distinguished Professor Emeritus           
Ph.D. 1967, Columbia
(631) 632-7700
Stephen.Cole@stonybrook.edu

O. Andrew Collver

O. Andrew Collver

Associate Professor Emeritus
Ph.D., 1964, UC Berkeley
(631) 632-7700
acollver@optonline.net

       
 Goode  Erich Goode

Professor Emeritus
Ph.D. 1966, Columbia
(631) 632-7700
egoode2001@aol.com

Schwartz

Michael Schwartz

Distinguished Teaching Professor
Ph.D. 1971, Harvard
(631) 632-7700
Michael.Schwartz@stonybrook.edu
       
Tyree

Andrea Tyree

Professor Emerita
Ph.D. 1968, University of Chicago
(631) 632-7700
Andrea.Tyree@stonybrook.edu

 Tanur

Judith Tanur

Distinguished Teaching Professor Emerita 
Ph.D. 1972, Stony Brook University
(631) 632-7700 Judith.Tanur@stonybrook.edu

 

Part-Time Lecturers

 

   
 

Jane Ely
Ph.D. 1998, Stony Brook University

Office:  SBS N-407
(631) 632-4172
jane.ely@stonybrook.edu

 

Linda Wicks
Ph.D. 1993, Stony Brook University

Office:  SBS N-404
(631) 632-7729
linda.wicks@stonybrook.edu

News & Events

      June 2017  
       Michael Schwartz, Distinguished Teaching Professor Emeritus. and our alumnus Josh Murray (Vanderbilt University) have won the outstanding article award for the ASA Marxist Sociology Section for their paper, "Moral Economy, Structural Leverage, and Organizational Efficacy:  Class Formation and the Great Fling Sit-Down Strike, 1936-37." Critical Historical Studies  
      Tiffany Joseph (with co-author Helen Marrow) has received the Donald W. Light Award for the Applied or Public Practice of Medical Sociology.  The award was received for their paper, "Excluded and Frozen Out: Unauthorized Immigrants' (Non) Access to Care after Healthcare Reforms." Journal of Ethnic and Racial Studies
 
      May 2017  
      Carrie Shandra has been awarded a grant under the Department of Labor Scholars Program for a project on Job Characteristics and Job Retention of Young Workers With Disabilities  
      Jennifer Heerwig (with collaborator Brian McCabe) has been awarded a seed grant from
Georgetown's McCourt School Massive Data Institute for their project,
"The Seattle Voucher Experiment: Using Big Data to Enhance Local Democracy."
 
      Arnout van de Rijt with our Alumni Eran Shor (McGill University) was awarded the bests paper award from the Communication, Information Technology and Media Studies section of the ASA for their co-authored paper (Eran Shor, Arnoug van de Rijt, Alex Mitsov, Vivek Kulkarni, and Steven Skiena), "A Paper Ceiling:  Explaining the Persistent Underrepresentation of Women in Printed News." American Sociological Review
 
      Carrie Shandra was awarded the 2017 Outstanding Publication in the Sociology of Disability Award from the ASA Section on Disability and Society for her paper "Benefactors and Beneficiaries?  Disability and Care to Others" forthcoming in the Journal of Marriage and Family
 
      Rebekah Burroway has received an "Outstanding Author Contribution" from the Emerald Literati Network Awards for Excellence for her paper "Empowering Women, Strengthening Children:  A Multi-Level Analysis of Gender Inequality and Child Malnutrition in Developing Countries" published in Advances in Gender Research  
      Amy Hsin, Queens College, Department of Sociology, May 3rd, 4:00 - 5:30 PM, SBS N403,"The Effects of Deferred Action for Childhood Arrivals on the Educational Outcomes of Undocumented Students:  Evidence from a Large Public University."
 
      April 2017  
      Sociology Brown Bag Series presents Assistant Professor Tiffany Joseph, Wednesday, April 19th, 4:00 - 5:30 PM, SBS N403, "The Growing Citizen-Noncitizen Divide:  Life along the Documentation Status Continuum."  
      March 2017  
      Transforming Sociology (program), Sociology Graduate Student Conference, March 31, 2017, Center for Global Studies at Stony Brook University
 
      Deborah Carr, Rutgers University, Department of Sociology, March 29th, 4:00 - 5:30 PM, SBS N403, "Do Marital and Kin Support Enhance (or Undermine) Older Adults' Well-Being?  New Evidence from the DUST Study."
 
      December 2016  
      Nicholas Hoover Wilson selected as a Faculty Fellow at the Humanities Institute of Stony Brook University for 2017-2018.  
      November 2016   
      Sociology Brown Bag Series presents Ph.D. student Helena Darwin, Wednesday, November 30th, 1:00 - 2:20 PM, SBS N403, "Doing Genderqueer"  
      Chandra Muller, University of Texas, Austin, Department of Sociology, November 14th, 4:00 - 5:30 PM, SBS N403, "Education and the Transition Through Adulthood to Midlife in the New Economy."
 
       Sociology Brown Bag Series presents Assistant Professor Jason Jones,
Wednesday, November 2, 1:00 - 2:20 PM, SBS N403, "An Audit Study of Public School Principals:  Evidence for Selective Response."
 
      October 2016  
      Mindfulness and Diversity:  Mind-Body Approaches for Enhancing Awareness and Well-Being, Friday, October 28th, 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM. For information and to register, please go to
mindfulnessconference
IHSS will present Partha Chatterjee, Columbia University, Professor of Anthropology and of Middle Eastern, South Asian and African Studies, October 26, 1:00 PM - 2:20 PM, SBS N318, "Governmentality in the East."
Stewart Hoover, University of Colorado-Boulder, Director of the Center for Media, Religion, and Culture, October 24th, 4:00 - 5:30 PM, SBS N403, "Does God Make the Man? Media, Religion, and the Crisis of Masculinity"
Josh Pacewicz, Brown University, Department of Sociology, October 10th, 4:00 - 5:30 PM, SBS N403, "Partisans & Partners:  The Politics of the Post-Keynesian Society."
 

Department of Sociology,  Stony Brook University, Stony Brook, NY 11794-4356, tel.: +1 (631) 632-7700

Login to Edit