Simons Fellows 2014


Summer 2014

Simons Fellows at closing reception
Photo: courtesy of Daniel Goodrich, SB Media Relations

Christine An (Great Neck South HS, NY) - Dr. Roy Lacey (Chemistry)

Justin Barish (Kings Park HS, NY) - Dr. Arie Kaufman (Computer Science)

Rose Bender (Half Hollow Hills HS West, NY) - Dr. Yupo Ma (Pathology)

Aswin Bikkani (Westlake HS, OH) - Dr. Aaron Neiman (Biochemistry & Cell Biology)

Shannon Bohman (Sayville HS, NY) -  Dr. Michal Simon (Physics & Astronomy)

Anne Chen (Farmingdale HS, NY) -  Dr. Matthew Dawber (Physics & Astronomy)

Derek Dattero (East Islip HS, NY) - Dr. Wei Zhu (Applied Math & Statistics)

Helena Denbroeder (Lowell HS, CA) - Dr. Scott Laughlin (Chemistry)

Niyati Desai (Ward Melville HS, NY) - Dr. Xu Du (Physics & Astronomy) & Dr. Matthew Dawber (Physics and Astronomy)

Luke Farrell (Hauppauge HS, NY) - Dr. Lonnie Wollmouth (Neurobiology)

Harshil Garg (Bethpage HS, NY) - Dr. Tom MacCarthy (Applied Math & Statistics)

Jonathan Gill (The Waldorf School of Garden City, NY) - Dr. John Noé (Laser Teaching Ctr.)

Rachel Heymach (Sachem HS North, NY) - Dr. John Mak (SoMAS)

Yianshen (George) Hu (University HS, CA) - Dr. Lei Zuo (Mechanical Engineering)

Jennifer Hwang (Plainview-Old Bethpage John F. Kennedy HS, NY) - Dr. Jackie Collier (SoMAS)

Anahita Iyer (Central Bucks HS East, PA) - Dr. Berhane Ghebrehiwet (Medicine)

Adarsh Kadoor (American HS, CA) - Dr. Berhane Ghebrehiwet (Medicine)

Alexander Kelser (Summit HS, NJ) - Dr. John Noé (Laser Teaching Ctr.)

Rachel Kogan (Paul D. Schreiber HS, NY) - Dr. Marcia Simon (Dental School)

Sreejan Kumar (Poolesville HS, MD) - Dr. Lilianne Mujica-Parodi (Biomedical Engineering)

Sylvie Lee (Shady Side Academy, PA) - Drs. Clint Rubin & Ete Chan (Biomedical Engineering)

Ien Li (Jericho HS, NY) - Dr. Christine DeLorenzo (Psychiatry)

Sharon Li (Glenda Dawson HS, TX) - Dr. Christian Luhmann (Psychology)

Erick Lin (Dobyns-Bennett HS, TN) - Dr. Lilianne Mujica-Parodi (Biomedical Engineering) 

Zachary Marcone (Kings Park HS, NY) -  Dr. M. Rijssenbeek (Physics & Astronomy)

Scott Massa (Commack HS, NY) - Dr. David Talmage (Pharmacological Sciences) & Dr. Lorna Role (Neurobiology & Behavior)

Sean Nair (Montgomery Blair HS, MD) - Dr. Michael Frohman (Pharmacological Sciences)

Sapna Nath (Ward Melville HS, NY) - Dr. Marcia Simon (Dental School)

Samantha Novotny (Half Hollow Hills HS West, NY) - Dr. Sandeep Mallipattu (Medicine)

Andrea Ouyang (California HS, CA) - Dr. James Bliska (Molecular Genetics & Microbiology)

Jin Ho Park (Commack HS, NY) - Dr. David Thanassi (Molecular Genetics & Microbiology)

Saranesh Prembabu (Dougherty Valley HS, CA) - Dr. Matthew Dawber (Physics & Astronomy)

Brian Righter (Smithtown East HS, NY) - Dr. Ellen Li (Medicine)

Courtney Schwartz (The Wheatley School, NY) - Dr. Peter Tonge (Chemistry) 

Parth Shah (Mission Viejo HS, CA) - Dr. Lilianne Mujica-Parodi (Biomedical Engineering)  

Vaishnavi Shrivastava (Mission San Jose HS, CA) - Dr. Yi-xian Qin (Biomedical Engineering)

Ikaasa Suri (Horace Mann School, NY) - Dr. John Noé (Laser Teaching Ctr.)

Abhinav Talwar (Herricks HS, NY) - Dr. Iwao Ojima (Chemistry)

Karina Xie (Hunter College HS, NY) - Dr. Iwao Ojima (Chemistry)

Ji Whan (Kevin) Yoon (Oxford Academy, CA) - Dr. Benjamin Hsiao & Dr. Benjamin Chu & Dr. Hongyang Ma (Chemistry)

Glenn Yu (Hunter College HS, NY) -  Dr. Iwao Ojima (Chemistry)

Dorothy Yuan (Lynbrook HS, CA) - Drs. Clint Rubin & Ete Chan (Biomedical Engineering)

Natalia Zaliznyak (Earl L. Vandermeulen HS, NY) - Dr. Miguel Garcia-Diaz (Pharmacological Sciences)

Orien Zeng (Wayzata HS, MN) - Dr. J. Peter Gergen (Biochemistry & Cell Biology)

Leighton Zhao (Wayzata HS, MN) - Dr. Philip Allen (Physics & Astronomy)

To read more here about 2014 research projects, click hereFor photos of the 2014 participants, click here

2014 Siemens Competition. Semifinalists include: Niyati Desai who worked with Drs. Xu Du and Matthew Dawber in Physics and Astronomy; Zachary Marcone who worked with Dr. Rijssenbeek in Physics and Astronomy;  Rachel Kogan and Sapna Nath who worked with Dr. Marcia Simon in Oral Biology; Sreejan Kumar and Parth Shah who worked with Dr. L. Mujica-Parodi in Biomedical Engineering; Vaishnavi Shrivastava who worked with Dr. Yixian Qin in Biomedical Engineering; Glenn Yu who worked with Dr. Iwao Ojima in Chemistry; and Dorothy Yuan who worked with Drs. Clinton Rubin and Ete Chan in Biomedical Engineering.

News & Announcements


NEWS: Congratulations to our Siemens semifinalists!  



Dates of Program: 

June 29-Aug. 11, 2015





Simons Summer Research Fellowship,  Stony Brook University, Stony Brook, NY 11794-3357 - 631 632-7114

Login to Edit