Simons Fellows 2013


Summer 2013


Priya Alagesan (Manhasset HS, NY) - Dr. Aaron Neiman (Biochemistry & Cell Biology) 

Eda Algur (Smithtown West HS, NY) - Dr. Stella Tsirka (Pharmacological Sciences)

Bhavani Ananthabhotla (Kings Park HS, NY) - Dr. Clinton Rubin (Biomedical Engineering)

Anish Bhattacharya (Carbondale Community HS, IL) - Dr. Milutin Stanacevic (Electrical & Computer Engineering)

Kathy Camenzind (California HS, CA) -  Drs. John Noé, Marty Cohen, & Harold Metcalf (Laser Teaching Ctr.)

Austin Cao (Homestead HS, WI) - Dr. Anne McElroy (School of Marine & Atmospheric Sciences)

Grace Cimaszewski (St. Anthony's HS, NY) - Dr. Michal Simon (Physics & Astronomy)

Aron Coraor (Huntington HS, NY) -  Dr. Matthew Dawber (Physics & Astronomy)

Michael D'Agati (Miller Place HS, NY) - Dr. Balaji Sitharaman (Biomedical Engineering)

Evangeline Giannopoulos (Great Neck South HS, NY) - Dr. J. Peter Gergen (Biochemistry & Cell Biology)

Samuel Gochman (Half Hollow Hills HS West, NY) - Dr. Liliana Davalos (Ecology & Evolution)

Anika Gupta (The Harker School, CA) - Dr. Iwao Ojima (Chemistry)

Luran He (Ward Melville HS, NY) - Dr. Philip Allen (Physics & Astronomy)

Cristina Lai (Great Neck South HS, NY) - Dr. Peter Tonge (Chemistry)

Kevin Lee (University HS, CA) - Dr. Tzu Chieh Wei (Physics & Astronomy)

Harrison Li (Ward Melville HS, NY) - Dr. Brian Colle (School of Marine & Atmospheric Sciences)

Kristy Liao (Wilson HS, SC) - Drs. Yixian Qin & Wei Lin (Biomedical Engineering)

Joshua Lovins (Trevor Day School, NY) -  Dr. David Thanassi (Molecular Genetics & Microbiology)

Vinson Luo (University HS, CA) - Dr. Tamara Berg (Computer Science)

Mark Matten (The Bishop's School, CA) - Dr. Alexander Berg (Computer Science)

William Meehan (East Islip HS, NY) - Drs. John Noé, Marty Cohen, & Harold Metcalf (Laser Teaching Ctr.)

Michelle Moffa (Holy Spirit HS, NJ) -  Dr. Benjamin Hsiao & Dr. Benjamin Chu (Chemistry)

Emma Oberstein (North Shore Hebrew Academy, NY) - Dr. Jonathan Rudick (Chemistry)

Jamie Odzer (Michael Krop HS, FL) - Dr. Lorna Role (Neurobiology) & Dr. David Talmage (Pharmacological Sciences) 

Hope Pan (Eastside HS, FL) -  Dr. James Bliska (Molecular Genetics & Microbiology)

Emily Pang (Dougherty Valley HS, CA) - Dr. Berhane Ghebrehiwet (Medicine)

Savvas Papadopoulos (Division Avenue HS, NY) - Dr. Holly Colognato (Pharmacological Sciences)

Parth Shah (Chatham HS, NJ) - Dr. Tom MacCarthy (Applied Mathematics & Statistics)

Sachit Singal (Herricks HS, NY) - Dr. Iwao Ojima (Chemistry)

Jonathan Sington (Harvard-Westlake School, CA) - Dr. Bruce Demple (Pharmacological Sciences)

Rahul Sridhar (The Harker School, CA) - Dr. David Green (Applied Mathematics & Statistics)

Kent Ueno (Earl Vandermeulen HS, NY) - Dr. Iwao Ojima (Chemistry)

Alan Wei (Ward Melville HS, NY ) - Dr. Arianna Maffei (Neurobiology)

Jessica Yamada (The Winsor School, MA) -  Dr. Miguel Garcia-Diaz (Pharmacological Sciences)

Barry Yang (Roslyn HS, NY) - Dr. Christian Luhmann (Psychology)

Xiaobo (Daphne) Yang (Madison HS, NJ) - Dr. Michal Simon (Physics & Astronomy)

Stephanie Ying (Manhasset HS, NY) - Dr. Berhane Ghebrehiwet (Medicine) 

Kevin Zheng (Wayzata HS, MN) - Drs. John Noé, Marty Cohen, & Harold Metcalf (Laser Teaching Ctr.)


For photos of the 2013 participants, click here

2013 Siemens Competition. 
Semifinalists include:  Harrison Li who worked with Dr. Brian Colle in SoMAS; Vinson Luo who worked with Dr. Alexander Berg and Dr. Tamara Berg in Computer Science; Michelle Moffa who worked with Dr. Benjamin Chu and Dr. Benjamin Hsiao in Chemistry; and Emily Pang who worked with Dr. Berhane Ghebrehiwet in Medicine.

2014 Intel STS Competition.
Semifinalists include: Priya Alagesan who worked with Dr. Aaron Neiman of Biochemistry & Cell Biology; Bhavani Ananthabhotla who worked with Dr. Clinton Rubin and Dr. Ete Chan of Biomedical Engineering; Kathy Camenzind who worked with Dr. John Noe & Dr. Marty Cohen of the Laser Teaching Center - Physics & Astronomy; Austin Cao who worked with Dr. Anne McElroy of SoMAS; Aron Coraor who worked with Dr. Matthew Dawber of Physics & Astronomy on his Simons project, and with Dr. Donald Lindsley on his Intel project; Evangeline Giannopoulous who worked with J. Peter Gergen of Biochemistry & Cell Biology; Anika Gupta, Sachit Singal and Kent Ueno who worked with Dr. Iwao Ojima of Chemistry; Luran He who worked with Dr. Philip Allen of Physics & Astronomy; Kevin Lee with Dr. Tzu Chieh Wei of Physics & Astronomy on his Simons project, and with a UC Irvine mentor on his ongoing Intel project; Harrison Li who worked with Dr. Brian Colle in SoMAS; Michelle Moffa who worked with Dr. Benjamin Chu and Dr. Benjamin Hsiao in Chemistry; Jamie Odzer who worked with Dr. Lorna Role of Neurobiology & Behavior and Dr. David Talmage of Pharmacological Sciences on her Simons project, as well as an environmental Intel project in FL; Emily Pang who worked with Dr. Berhane Ghebrehiwet in Medicine; Parth Shah who worked with Dr. Tom MacCarthy of Applied Mathematics & Statistics; Rahul Sridhar who worked with Dr. David Green of Applied Mathematics & Statistics; and Jessica Yamada who worked with Dr. Miguel Garcia-Diaz of Pharmacological Sciences. This year's Intel STS finalists include: Kathy Camenzind, Aron Coraor, Kevin Lee, and Emily Pang. 3/12/14. Congratulations to Aron Coraor for his 6th place honors recognition; and to Kevin Lee for his second place honors recognition in the competition.

Login to Edit