Skip Navigation
Search

Jennifer Anderson  Ph.D. New York University 

Associate Professor, History Department

Areas of interest: Americas, Europe, Africa, and the Caribbean in the early modern period, exploring the history of colonialism, imperialism, slavery, issues of labor, race, and gender, and the rise of nationalism and revolutionary movements.  

Email: jennifer.l.anderson@stonybrook.edu


Jorge L. Benach  Ph.D., Rutgers University

Distinguished Toll Professor of Molecular Genetics & Microbiology and Pathology

Email:  jorge.benach@stonybrook.edu


Hugo Benítez-Silva Ph.D., Yale University

Associate Professor, Economics

Areas of interest: Labor and Computational Economics; Public Economics; Social Insurance; Health Economics

Email: hugo.benitez-silva@stonybrook.edu


Pamela Block , Ph.D., Duke University

Professor, Program in Health and Rehabilitation Sciences; Director, Disabilities Studies Concentration

Areas of interest: Historical perceptions of autism and intellectual disability in Brazil, emergence of Brazilian disability studies, disability and intersectionality in Brazil. 

Email: Pamela.Block@stonybrook.edu 


Lena Burgos-Lafuente  Ph.D. , New York University

Assistant Professor, Hispanic Languages and Literature,

Areas of interest: Modern and Contemporary Caribbean and Latin American literatures, Poetry, Modern transatlantic literatures, Poetics and Literary Politics

Email: lena.burgos-lafuente@stonybrook.edu


Pablo Calvi Ph.D., Columbia University 

Assistant Professor, School of Journalism

Areas of interest: Latin American narrative journalism; crónica, multimedia journalism; correlation between democratic societies and the free press. 

Email: Pablo.calvi@stonybrook.edu


Ritch Calvin  Ph.D., Stony Brook University

Associate Professor, Women's, Gender, and Sexuality Studies

Areas of interest: Latinas and Latina literature in the U.S., and Mexican women writers, including Rosario Castellanos and Brianda Domecq, and their representations of women and articulations of feminism.

Email: Ritchie.Calvin@stonybrook.edu  


Lou Charnon-Deutsch  Ph.D., University of Chicago 

Emeritus Professor, Hispanic Languages and Literature

Areas of interest: Eighteenth and Nineteenth-Century Spanish Literature (1997-2001). 

Email: lou.deutsch@stonybrook.edu


Jonathan Cohen    M.F.A., Columbia University;  Ph.D., Stony Brook University

Jonathan Cohen / Writer-in-Residence, Surgery Department

Areas of interest: Modern Latin American literature (esp. poetry) in translation, history of inter-American literary relations, and practice of verse translation.

Email: Jonathan.Cohen@StonyBrook.edu


Liliana Dávalos   Ph.D., Columbia University

Associate Professor of Conservation Biology/Ecology and Evolution

Areas of interest:  Evolutionary biology; the forces that shape biodiversity in time and space. Her lab focuses on how diversity in species and traits arises, and on helping shape policy to conserve ecosystems today and into the future.

Email:  liliana.davalos-alvarez@stonybrook.edu


Joanne Davila   Ph.D., University of California at Los Angeles

Professor of Psychology and Director of Clinical Training

Areas of interest: Adolescent and adult psychopathology and interpersonal functioning; interpersonal causes and consequences of depression and anxiety disorders; risk factors for the early development of romantic relationship dysfunction in adolescents and young adults; the role of attachment representations in interpersonal functioning; well being among LGBT individuals.

Email: joanne.davila@stonybrook.edu  


José Alberto Elías-Ulloa  Ph.D., Rutgers University

Associate Professor, Linguistics

Areas of interest: Indigenous languages of the Americas; Peruvian Amazonian languages, Latin American Spanish

Email: jose.elias-ulloa@stonybrook.edu


Paul Firbas  Ph.D., Princeton University

Associate Professor, Hispanic Languages and Literature

Areas of interest: Textual culture in early colonial South America, particularly epic poetry, history and geography; material processes of production and circulation of texts in colonial Andes; 20th century Peruvian discourses on the colonial past. Textual criticism

Email: paul.firbas@stonybrook.edu


Daniela Flesler  Ph.D., Tulane University

Associate Professor, Director of Undergraduate Studies

Areas of interest: 20th Century Peninsular Studies; Spanish Cultural Studies, Spain and its Arab past, Immigration in Spain and Post-colonial theory.

Email: daniela.flesler@stonybrook.edu


Lori Flores  Ph.D., Stanford University

Associate Professor, History Department

Areas of interest: Latino/a, labor, immigration, and U.S.-Mexico borderlands history.

Email: lori.flores@stonybrook.edu


Melissa Forbis  Ph.D. University of Texas at Austin

Assistant Professor, Cultural Analysis and Theory/Sociology

Areas of interest: Transnational feminist theory, race/ethnicity, indigenous rights, anthropology of the state and nationalism, immigration, and Latin America. 

Email: melissa.forbis@stonybrook.edu  


Georges Fouron   Ed.D., Columbia University

Professor, Africana Studies 

Areas of interest: Transnationalism and its effects as experienced by Haitians in Haiti and those of the Haitian Diaspora; social studies education; bilingual education; immigrants’ experience in America.

Email: georges.fouron@stonybrook.edu


Barbara Frank   Ph.D., Indiana University

Associate Professor, Art History

Areas of interest: Global, colonial and diasporic art; ancient Mesoamerica; West Africa; intersection of technology and social identity in ceramic, textile, leatherwork, blacksmith artistry. 

Email: barbara.frank@stonybrook.edu


Paul Gootenberg  Ph.D., University of Chicago

SUNY Distinguished Professor of History & Sociology; Chair, History Department

Areas of interest: History of drugs; Peruvian and Mexican history; commodity history, state formation, economic ideas, and social inequality. 

Email: paul.gootenberg@stonybrook.edu


Dawn P. Harris Ph.D., York University 

Assistant Professor, Africana Studies

Areas of interest: History of punishment in the British Caribbean during the 19th century and those relating to issues of women and gender during the colonial period.

E-mail:dawn.harris@stonybrook.edu


Nancy Hiemstra,  Ph.D., Syracuse University

Assistant Professor of Migration Studies, Department of Women's, Gender, and Sexuality Studies 

Areas of interest: Global migration and migration policy-making, immigration deportation and detention, Latin American migration to the U.S., consequences of immigration enforcement policy in migrant origin countries; Ecuador

Email: nancy.hiemstra@stonybrook.edu


Tiffany Joseph  Ph.D. University of Michigan

Assistant Professor, Sociology

Areas of interest: Racialization of immigrants and their US-born children;comparative frameworks of race and impact of migration in the Americas (specialization in Brazil); health and healthcare access among vulnerable populations.

Email: tiffany.joseph@stonybrook.edu


Brooke Larson  Ph.D., Columbia University

Professor, History

Areas of interest: Colonial Latin America; Andes; ethnicity; peasantry; practices of popular (particularly "Indian") education in Bolivia during the first decades of the twentieth century. 

Email: brooke.larson@stonybrook.edu


Marci Lobel   Ph.D., University of California at Los Angeles

Professor, Psychology

Areas of interest: Stress, discrimination, and their impact on health, particularly women’s reproductive health; racial and ethnic health disparities

Email: marci.lobel@stonybrook.edu


Heather Lynch  Ph.D., Harvard University

Assistant Professor, Ecology and Evolution

Areas of interest:  Population dynamics and biogeographic distribution of penguins breeding on the Antarctic Peninsula region, with a particular focus on untangling the effects of climate change and anthropogenic disturbance. 

Email: heather.lynch@stonybrook.edu


Adrián  Pérez Melgosa  Ph.D., University of Rochester 

Associate Professor, Hispanic Languages and Literatures,

Areas of interest: Cross-cultural relationship among US and Latin America; role of narrative fiction (films and novels) in the workings of hemispheric hegemony.

Email: adrian.perezmelgosa@stonybrook.edu


Zebulon Vance Miletsky  Ph.D., University of Massachusetts at Amherst

Assistant Professor, Africana Studies

Areas of interest: African-Americans in Boston; Northern freedom movements outside of the South; mixed race history in the U.S. and passing; Afro-Latin diaspora; Hip-Hop Studies. 

Email: zebulon.miletsky@stonybrook.edu 


Timothy Moran   Ph.D., University of Maryland

Associate Professor, Sociology

Areas of interest: Historical global inequalities, including the distribution of income between and within countries, gender inequality, and socio-economic development.

Email: timothy.p.moran@stonybrook.edu


Elizabeth Newman   Ph.D., Yale University

Associate Professor, Department of History

Areas of interest: Mesoamerican Ethnohistory, Historical Archaeology, and Environmental Archaeology with a specialty in Zooarchaeology.

Email: elizabeth.newman@stonybrook.edu 


Francisco Ordóñez   Ph.D. Graduate Center of the City of New York

Associate Professor, Linguistics

Areas of interest: Syntax, Dialectology of Spanish, Comparative Linguistics

Email: francisco.ordonez@stonybrook.edu


Rowan Ricardo Phillips  Ph.D. Brown University

Professor, English Department

Areas of interest: African-American and Caribbean literature; Poetry; Poetics

Email: Rowan.Phillips@stonybrook.edu


Joseph Pierce  PH.D., University of Texas at Austin

Assistant Professor, Hispanic Languages and Literatures

Areas of interest: Contemporary Southern Cone and Latin American Literatures, Narrative, Autobiographical Writing, Gender and Sexuality Studies, Queer Theory, Kinship Studies

Email: joseph.pierce@stonybrook.edu


Richard Ricioppo

Assistant Professor, School of Journalism

Areas of interest: News and sports shooting and editing; studio and control room production; Cuba. 

Email: richard.ricioppo@stonybrook.edu


Victoriano Roncero-López  Ph.D., Universidad Complutense de Madrid, Ph.D., University of Illinois

Professor, Hispanic Languages & Literature

Areas of interest: Picaresque Literature, Quevedian Studies, Humanism

Email: victoriano.roncero-lopez@stonybrook.edu


Ian Roxborough   Ph.D., University of Wisconsin

Professor, Sociology

Areas of interest: Urban labor movements, particularly in Mexico, Argentina and Brazil; revolutions and political stability; international political economy.

Email: ian.roxborough@stonybrook.edu 


Lilia Delfina Ruiz-Debbe  Ph.D., University of Geneva

Coordinator of the Language Program, Hispanic Languages and Literature

Areas of interest: Applied linguistics; second language acquisition; cognitive epistemology of Piaget

Email: lilia.ruiz-debbe@stonybrook.edu


David Taylor  Ph.D., University of Tennessee

Assistant Professor, School of Marine and Atmospheric Sciences

Areas of interest: Sustainability in Cuba; arts and performance

Email: David.j.taylor@stonybrook.edu


Javier Uriarte  Ph.D., New York University

Assistant Professor, Hispanic Languages and Literatures

Areas of interest: 19th and 20th century Latin American literature (including Brazil), travel writing, war and State-sponsored violence, theory and politics of time and space, Nation and State making in Latin America.

Email: Javier.Uriarte@stonybrook.edu


Kathleen Vernon  Ph.D., University of Chicago

Associate Professor, Hispanic Languages and Literature

Areas of interest: Spanish cinema, Latin America, and the U.S. during the "Golden Age" of the 1930s and 1940s. 

Email: kathleen.vernon@stonybrook.edu 


Dr. Aurelie Vialette  Ph.D., University of California at Berkeley

Assistant Professor, Hispanic Languages and Literature

Areas of interest: 19th-century Iberian cultural studies (popular music, journalistic discourse, archival studies, and mass and working class organizations).

Email:  aurelie.vialette@stonybrook.edu


Carlos Vidal, Ph.D., Fordham University 

Associate Dean and Associate Professor within the School of Health Technology and Management.

Areas of interest: Community-based participatory research; educational disparities among youth of color; violence in schools and communities; health needs among Hispanic families; faculty development mentorship.

Email: carlos.vidal@stonybrook.edu


Tracey Walters  Ph.D., Howard University

Associate Professor, Africana Studies

Areas of interest: African American Literature, Caribbean Literature, African Literature, Pan-African Literature, Black British Literature and Culture, 20th century American and British Literature, journalism.

Email: tracey.walters@stonybrook.edu


Kathleen Wilson  Ph.D., Yale University

Distinguished Professor, History

Areas of interest: Caribbean history, and especially gender, post-colonial theory, race and the history of performance in the British West Indies. 

Email: kathleen.wilson@stonybrook.edu


Karina Yager   Ph.D., Yale University

Assistant Professor, School of Marine and Atmospheric Sciences/Sustainability Studies Program

Areas of interest: Climate Change, Remote Sensing, LCLUC (Land-   cover and land-use change), Alpine Ecosystems, Peatlands, Pastoralism, Andes

Email: karina.yager@stonybrook.edu


Eric Zolov  Ph.D, University of Chicago

Associate Professor, History

Areas of interest: Modern Latin America; Mexico; US-Latin American relations; popular culture; Global Sixties

Email: eric.zolov@stonybrook.edu 

 

Login to Edit