ICB&DD Organization

ICB&DD is organized in conjunction with the Chemistry Department and the core laboratories, facilities, and offices are located in the Chemistry Building. However, its operation and management are independent of the Chemistry Department. It is essential for this "Center of Excellence" that the Director of ICB&DD directly reports to the University Executive Committee, i.e., Provost, Vice President for Research, and Vice President for the Health Sciences Center. Dr. Ojima, Distinguished Professor of Chemistry, serves as the founding Director of the institute. ICB&DD has core Members, Project Members, Steering Committee Members, and Advisory Board Members. The activities of the Director and Members will be reviewed every 5 years. In addition, there is a Laboratory Director for Bioanalytical Instrumentation (a Ph.D. chemist) as well as a Laboratory Director for Combinatorial Chemistry and Synthesis (a Ph.D. chemist) and his/her Technical Support Specialist (a B.S./M.S. chemist). Both Laboratory Directors of the ICB&DD facilities report to the Director of the Institute. ICB&DD will take the "Team Project" approach to attack major biomedical problems. Accordingly, Project Members and Advisory Board Members will be invited to participate in particular projects which may lead to a dynamic change in membership, contingent on the status of projects and necessary expertise. The current members of ICB&DD are as follows:

Director: Iwao Ojima (Distinguished Professor, Chemistry)

Steering Committee Members: Peter Tonge (Chair, Chemistry), Jian Cao (Medicine), Dale Deutsch (Biochemistry and Cell Biology), Huilin Li (Biochemistry), Nicole Sampson (Chemistry), Orlando Scharer (Pharmacological Sciences/Chemistry), John Haley (SBU Cancer Center),Maria Ryan (Oral Biology and Pathology), Kenneth Shroyer (SOM, Pathology), Carlos Simmerling (Chemistry),  Vincent Yang (SOM, Medicine), Robert Rizzo (Applied Mathematics and Statistics). 

Members: Nicole Sampson (Chemistry), Daniel Raleigh (Chemistry), Peter Tonge (Chemistry), Carlos Simmerling (Chemistry), Francis Johnson (Pharmacological Sciences/Chemistry), Carlos de los Santos (Pharmacological Sciences), Robert Haltiwanger (Biochemistry/ Cell Biology), Rob Rizzo (Applied Mathematics and Statistics), Orlando Scharer (Pharmacology/Chemistry). James Bliska (Molecular Genomics and Microbiology), Todd Miller (Physiology and Biophysics), Stanley Zucker (SOM/VA), Carl Anderson (BNL), Maria Ryan (Oral Biology/ Pathology), Basil Rigas (Preventive Medicine/ Pharmacological Sciences), Wadie Bahou (SOM), Kenneth Shroyer (SOM, Pathology), Subramanyam Swaminathan (BNL), Wen-Tien Chen (SOM, Medicine) Jian Cao, (SOM, Oncology), Richard Lin (SOM, Medicine), Paul Bingham (Biochemistry and Cell Biology), and Vincent Yang (SOM, Medicine),Geoffrey Girnun (SOM, Pathology).

Project Members: Kathlyn Parker (Chemistry), Dale Drueckhammer (Chemistry), Jin Wang (Chemistry), Elizabeth Boon (Chemistry), Isaac Carrico (Chemistry), Ralph Bernacki (Roswell Park Cancer Institute), David Green (Applied Mathematics & Statistics), Galina Botchkina (SOM, Surgical Oncology), Wei-Xing Zong (Molecular Genetics & Microbiology), Takushi Kaneko (Chemistry/TB Alliance Inc.), Lee Arnold (Chemistry/Coferon Inc.), Stephen Walker (Oral Biology and Pathology), Balaji Sitharaman (Biomedical Engineering), Jingfang Ju (SOM, Pathology), Tadashi Honda (Chemistry), Angelo Gunasekera (Chemistry/Chembio Diagnostics), Jonathan Rudick (Chemistry), Emily Chen, (SOM, Pharmacology), Markus Seeliger (SOM, Pharmacology), Dale Deutsch (Biochemistry) Jessica Seeliger, (SOM, Pharmacology), Miguel Garcia-Diaz (SOM, Pharmacology), Agnieszka Bialkowska (SOM, Medicine) and Huilin Li (Biochemistry & BNL), Ming-Yu Ngai (Chemistry), Scott Laughlin (Chemistry, Chia-Shin Lori Chan (Pharmacological Sciences), Hyungjin Kim (Pharmacological Sciences), Steven Glynn (Biochemistry/Cell Biology), Jarrod French (Biochemistry/ Cell Biology).

Advisory Board Members: Jorge Benach (SBU, Molecular Genetics and Microbiology), Arlindo Castelhano (OSI Pharmaceuticals, a wholly owned subsidiary of Astellas US), Richard Clark (SBU, Biomedical Engineering), Wendy Cornell (IBM T.J. Watson Research Center), Yusuf Hannun (SBU-SOM Cancer Center),  Susan Horwitz (A. Einstein Coll. Med.), John Kovach (SBU, Preventive Medicine), William Murray (Johnson & Johnson Pharmaceutical Research Institute), John Piwinski (former, Schering-Plough), Vern Schramm (A. Einstein Coll. Med), Robert Volkmann (former, Pfizer) and William Greenlee (former, Merck Research Laboratories),  Kenneth Dill (SBU, Laufer Center for Physical and Quantitative Biology) and Andreas Grill (DepYmed Inc.).

Research Programs:

Structural and Computational Biology Program
Robert Rizzo and Daniel Raleigh, Program Directors

Tuberculosis Related Research Program
Peter Tonge, Program Director

Cancer Research Program
Kenneth Shroyer, Program Director

ICB&DD Organizational Chart PDF
ICB&DD * 717 Chemistry Bldg., Stony Brook University, Stony Brook, NY 11794-3400
Phone: 631.632.1311 * Fax: 631.632.7942  Email: roxanne.brockner@stonybrook.edu 
Login to Edit