Fellowships, Grants and Awards for Faculty & Staff

There are many ways for faculty and staff to be recognized for their innovative teaching efforts. Below you will find links to various descriptions of and applications for grants, fellowships, and awards. For answers to inquiries or for help with applying,  Contact Us.

Campus Action Projects (CAP)
The American Association of University Women’s  Campus Action Projects (CAP)  enable student leaders and campus faculty to design and implement effective programs that enhance campus offerings, promote leadership, and improve academic and career outcomes.
Charles Koch Foundation
The  Charles Koch Foundation  awards grants in three categories: Higher Education, Research, and Professional Education.  Their mission is to provide opportunities for individuals and institutions to focus on how economic freedom impacts society and the choices available to its members .
Charles Stewart Mott Foundation
The  Charles Stewart Mott Foundation  awards grants to institutions that focus on civil society, environment, and pathways out of poverty, among other areas. Interested applicants are encouraged to review the website carefully and submit a letter of intent before formally applying.
C. Peter Magrath Community Engagement Award
The C. Peter Magrath Community Engagement Award  is a national award that recognizes outstanding outreach and engagement partnerships between universities and community partners.
Ernest A. Lynton Award
Sponsored by the New England Resource Center for Higher Education (NERCHE) and the Center for Engaged Democracy (CED) at Merrimack College, the annual   Ernest A. Lynton Award for the Scholarship of Engagement for Early Career Faculty  recognizes a full-time faculty member who is pre-tenure at tenure-granting campuses or early career (i.e., within the first six years) at campuses with long-term contracts*, and who connects his or her teaching, research, and service to community engagement. 
Jenifer Altman Foundation
  The Jenifer Altman Foundation  is a private foundation dedicated to the vision of a socially just and ecologically sustainable future through program interests in environmental health and mind-body health.
National Faculty Awards for Civic Engagement
For faculty committed to civic and community engagement, there are two major national awards: the  Thomas Ehrlich Civically Engaged Faculty Award , from Campus Compact, and the  Ernest A. Lynton Award  for the Scholarship of Engagement, from the New England Resource Center for Higher Education (NERCHE). Both awards value community collaboration as well as institutional impact and honor engaged work across the faculty roles of teaching, research, and service. We encourage nominations for junior faculty (pre-tenure or early career at institutions with renewable contracts) for the Lynton Award and nominations for senior faculty (post-tenure or middle-to-late career at institutions without tenure) for the Ehrlich Award.
Patrina Foundation
The Patrina Foundation  promotes educational opportunity and advancement as well as scholarship by and about women. Grants are primarily made to educational and cultural organizations, but the Foundation also funds social services agencies for projects that build the skills and leadership abilities of girls and women.
Robert H. Michel Special Projects Grants
The Dirksen Center  supports work to enhance understanding of the US Congress.
A consortium of four organizations—Campus Compact, the Coalition of Urban and Metropolitan Universities (CUMU), Education Commission of the States (ECS), and Generation Citizen—are launching an initiative to advance civic learning and student success across the education continuum. The initiative is grounded in the understanding that civic learning is both intrinsically important and is a powerful way to deepen students’ engagement in their own education, thereby promoting their overall success. The initiative is a team-based approach designed to support local education partnerships through an Action Summit and complementary learning communities. Building on the State Civic Education Policy Framework developed by ECS and the Action Civics curriculum of Generation Citizen, we will bring together teams representing cities or regions to develop a collaborative approach for civic learning across all levels of education. Teams will include representatives from colleges or universities, K-12 systems or schools, and other appropriate local entities, such as local governments, local philanthropies, and youth-serving organizations. The central purpose of the partnerships is to make experiential civic learning an expected part of students’ learning throughout school and college. Click here for more information!  Deadline to apply for mini-grant is September 30, 2015. 
U.S. Professors of the Year Awards Program
CASE and the Carnegie Foundation for the Advancement of Teaching sponsor the  U.S. Professors of the Year Awards Program  as it is the only national program that recognizes excellence in undergraduate education. The U.S. Professors of the Year Awards Program recognizes and highlights outstanding instructors throughout the country.



Login to Edit