Smart Energy Technologies (SET)

Year: 2012  
Cluster Leads:

Erez Zadok, Ph.D.
Associate Professor
Department of Computer Science

Computer Science Building
Stony Brook University
Stony Brook, NY 11794-4400

Phone: 631-632-8461



Academic Units and Collaborating Faculty: Computer Science Erez Zadok
Samir Das
Robert Johnson
Arie Kaufman
Klaus Mueller
Radu Sion
Advanced Energy Research & Technology Center (AERTC) Miriam Rafailovich
Esther Takeuchi
Center of Excellence in Wireless and Information Technology (CEWIT) Satya Sharma
Brookhaven National Laboratory (BNL) Esther Takeuchi
Gerald Stokes
Electrical & Computer Engineering Thomas Robertazzi
Applied Mathematics & Statistics Eugene Feinberg
Jiaqiao Hu
Technology and Society Guodong Sun
Materials Science & Engineering Miriam Rafailovich
Esther Takeuchi
Mechanical Engineering Cindy Chang
Chemistry Esther Takeuchi
Kenneth Takeuchi
College of Business Manny London


This cluster addresses the broad range of challenges of modern power generation through transmission and distribution, to delivery and consumption. These challenges include issues like networking, cyber security, modeling of power grids, all the way to business and economic aspects of grid systems. This cluster will leverage Stony Brook's existing DoE Smart Grid Demonstration Project (jointly with LIPA and Farmingdale State College), as well as involve the Advanced Energy Center (AERTC), Center for Wireless Information Technology (CEWIT), and Brookhaven National Laboratory (BNL). Computer Science, Electrical and Computer Engineering, Technology and Society, Material Science and Engineering, Mechanical Engineering and the College of Business will be brought together to build a world-class research and development (R&D) program in smart energy technology. At Stony Brook, the R&D results may easily be transitioned to industry through the New York State Smart Grid Consortium (NYSSGC) and Stony Brooks's incubators. This cluster initiative is spearheaded by Dr. Erez Zadok, Associate Professor with Stony Brook's Department of Computer Science.

Login to Edit