Search

Biomedical Engineering Graduate Program Faculty

Name Title Email General Research Area
Anissa Abi-Dargham Professor and Vice Chair of Research anissa.abi-dargham@ stonybrookmedicine.edu Molecular imaging, pharmacology, schizophrenia and addiction
Helene Benveniste Professor and Vice Chair for Research helene.benveniste@stonybrook.edu Characterizing and understanding diagnostic MR contrast parameters.
Agnieszka Bialkowska Assistant Professor agnieszka.bialkowska@stonybrookmedicine.edu Inflammation within the gastrointestinal tract
Terry Button Associate Professor terry.button@stonybrook.edu Advanced magnetic resonance mammography and dynamic infrared imaging
Benjamin Chu Distinguished Professor benjamin.chu@stonybrook.edu Synthesis, characterization and processing of biomaterials
Christine DeLorenzo Associate Professor christine.delorenzo@stonybrookmedicine.edu Advanced image processing algorithms to uncover the neurobiology of mental illness, and help improve both diagnosis and treatment
Kenneth Dill Distinguished Professor kenneth.dill@stonybrook.edu Physics of how proteins fold
F. Avraham Dilmanian Professor avraham.dilmanian@stonybrook.edu Experimental methods of radiation therapy with segmented beams
Timothy Duong Professor and Vice Chair for Research tim.duong@stonybrookmedicine.edu Developing innovative imaging technologies and apply them to study normal and abnormal brain anatomy, physiology, metabolism and function
Shmuel Einav Professor shmuel.einav@stonybrook.edu Basic physiological flow phenomena, both experimentally and numerically
Thomas Floyd Professor thomas.floyd@stonybrookmedicine.edu Developing a thin, flexible, fiber optic device based on Diffuse Correlation Spectroscopy (DCS) and Diffuse Optical Spectroscopy (DOS)
Joanna Fowler Professor fowler@bnl.gov Biochemical effects of drugs, aging, and selected diseases on the brain
Gregory Hannon HHMI Investigator hannon@cshl.edu Tumor suppressor pathways
Benjamin Hsiao Professor benjamin.hsiao@stonybrook.edu Design, preparation, characterization and application of nanostructured soft condensed materials
Chuan Huang Assistant Professor chuan.huang@stonybrookmedicine.edu Image analysis/reconstruction and parametric MRI
Arie Kaufman Distinguished Professor arie.kaufman@stonybrook.edu Computer graphics and specifically computer graphics architectures, algorithms, and languages; visualization including volume visualization and scientific visualization; user interfaces; virtual reality; and multimedia
Jerome Liang Professor jerome.liang@stonybrook.edu Development of quantitative SPECT systems, 3D virtual endoscopy, and computer aided diagnosis
Barry Lieber Professor baruch.lieber@stonybrook.edu Blood flow in the brain
Richard McCombie Professor mccombie@cshl.edu Developing databases, data-analysis tools, and user interfaces to organize, manage, and visualize that vast body of information
Lisa Miller Biophysical Chemist lmiller@bnl.gov Study of the chemical makeup of tissue in disease using high-resolution infrared and x-ray imaging at the NSLS
Pratha Mitra Professor mitra@cshl.edu Behavior of complex biological systems, both from a mechanistic, physico-chemical perspective, and from an engineering perspective emphasizing function
Klaus Mueller Professor mueller@cs.sunysb.edu Medical, scientific and information visualization, visual analytics, medical imaging, computer graphics, virtual and augmented reality, and high-performance computing
Pavel Osten Associate Professor osten@cshl.edu Automated microscopy and bioinformatics methods for whole-brain analysis in the mouse
Ramin Parsey Professor and Chair ramin.parsey@stonybrookmedicine.edu Imaging modalities to investigate psychiatric and neurological disorders
Scott Powers Professor robert.powers@stonybrookmedicine.edu Identification and functional characterization of cancer genes
Miriam Rafailovich Professor miriam.rafailovich@stonybrook.edu Surface and interface properties of polymer thin films, nanocomposite materials, phase segregation in polymer blends
Robert Rizzo Professor rizzorc@gmail.com Computational structural biology
David Schlyer Senior Scientist schlyer@bnl.gov Development of multi-modality imaging
Carlos Simmerling Professor and Associate Director carlos.simmerling@stonybrook.edu Computational structural biology
Sanford Simon Professor sanford.simon@stonybrook.edu Mechanisms of action of serine proteases and metalloproteases
Steven Skiena Distinguished Teaching Professor skiena@cs.sunysb.edu Algorithm design and its applications to biology
Raffaella Sordella Associate Professor sordella@cshl.edu How do tumors become addicted to certain gene products, and  how do tumors develop resistance to anti-cancer drugs
Esther Takeuchi Distinguished Professor esther.takeuchi@stonybrook.edu Cutting-edge research in electrochemistry, batteries and their intersection with human health
Kevin Tracey Director, Feinstein Institute for Medical Research traceyk@nshs.edu Individual mediators of systemic inflammation, and their regulation
Chuck Venditti Senior Investigator venditti@mail.nih.gov Inborn errors of metabolism, the hereditary methylmalonic acidemias (MMA), and disorders of intracellular cobalamin metabolism
Wei Zhao Professor wei.zho@stonybrook.edu Development of novel detector concept and new clinical applications for early detection of cancer

 

Login to Edit