Undergraduate Major and Minor Department Advisors  |  Spring 2014

updated 2/11/14

Basic Major/Minor Information can be found on the Online Bulletin, here.


Below are the major/minor department office hours:

You can also download the pdf here.

(To open the PDF files, you may need to download a free copy of Adobe Acrobat Reader.)

Adapted Aquatics Minor

Faculty Advisor: Dr. Peter D’Angelo   peter.angelo@stonybrook.edu

632-9225, Room 030, Sports Complex

Office hours: Contact Dr. Angelo to schedule an appointment

 

Africana Studies

Faculty Advisor: Dr. Shimelis Gulema shimelis.gulema@stonybrook.edu

632-7473, Room S-251, Social & Behavioral Sciences Bldg.

Office Hours: Mon. & Wed. 1:00-2:00 pm

 

American Studies

Faculty Advisor: Dr. Peter Carravetta peter.carravette@stonybrook.edu

Office Hours: E-mail Dr. Carravettea to schedule an appointment.

 

Anthropology

Faculty Advisor: Dr. David Bernstein  

AnthropologyDUS@notes.cc.sunysb.edu

632-7615, Room S-549, Social & Behavioral Sciences Bldg.

Office Hours: Tues. & Wed. 10:00 am—1:00 pm

 

Applied Math & Statistics

Faculty Advisor: Dr. Ester Arkin ester.arkin@stonybrook.edu

632-8363, Room P-134 B, Math Tower

Office Hours: Contact Ms. Arrighetta to schedule an appointment

 

Staff Assistant: Ms. Cathy Arrighetta cathy.arrighetta@stonybrook.edu

 

Art History & Studio Art

Faculty Advisor: Dr. Barbara Frank Barbara.frank@stonybrook.edu

632-1171, Room 2226, Staller Center

Office Hours: Mon. & Wed. 11:30 am-1:30 pm

 

 

 

 

Asian & Asian American Studies

Faculty Advisor: Dr. Andrew Nicholson andrew.nicholson@stonybrook.edu

632-4030, Room 1113, Humanities Bldg.

Office hours: Wed. 2:20-5:20 pm and by appointment.

 

Astronomy & Planetary Sciences

Faculty Advisor: Dr. Abhay Deshpande    

abhay.deshpande@stonybrook.edu

632-8758, Room P-110, Physics Bldg.

Office hours: Mon., Wed., & Fri. by appointment only

 

Athletic Training

Faculty Advisor: Prof. Xristos Gaglias xristos.gaglias@stonybrook.edu

632-2837, Room G-33, Sports Complex Bldg.

 

Atmospheric and Oceanic Sciences

Faculty Advisor: Dr. Brian Colle brian.colle@stonybrook.edu

632-3174, Room 135, Endeavour Hall

Office Hours: Mon. 9:30-10:00am and 12:00-1:00 pm

 

Biochemistry

Students with last name beginning A-H contact:

Dr. Bernadette Holdener bernadette.holdener@stonybrook.edu

632-8292, Room 346, Ctr. Molecular Medicine

Office Hours: Mon. 10am-12pm; Wed. 12:00-2:00 pm; Fri. 10:00-11:00 am

 

Students with last name beginning with J-R contact:

Dr. Nisson Schecter   nisson.schecter@stonybrook.edu

444-1368 or 631-379-9576, Room 034, 10th floor Health Sci. Tower

Office Hours: Mon-Fri. 3:00-5:00pm (or make an appt. by e-mail)

 

Students with last name beginning N-Z should contact:

Faculty Advisor: Dr. Harvard Lyman harvard.lyman@stonybrook.edu

632-8534, Room 472, Life Sciences Bldg.

Office Hours: Tues. 2:00-3:30 pm

Biological Sciences

Staff Advisor: Ms. Ellen Lopez ellen.lopez@stonybrook.edu

632-8543, Room 107, Ctr. Molecular Med./BLL Bldg.

Office Hours: Tues & Wed. 11:00 am-12:00 pm & 12:30-3:30 pm

 

Staff Advisor: Prof. Corey Fortcher corey.fortcher@stonybrook.edu

632-8571, Room 109, Ctr. Molecular Med. /BLL Bldg.

Office Hours: Mon. & Tues. & some Fri. 9:30 am-12:00 pm & 12:30-3:30 pm.

Not available Tues. 1:00-2:00 pm & Fri. 2:00-3:30 pm

 

Faculty Advisor: Dr. Peter Gergen john.peter.gergen@stonybrook.edu

632-8530. Room 110 Ctr. Molecular Med./BLL Bldg.

Office Hours: by appointment only

 

Biomedical Engineering

Faculty Advisor: Dr. Molly Frame  molly.frame@stonybrook.edu

632-1625, Room G-19, Bioengineering Bldg.

Office Hours: Contact Ms. Kuhn to schedule an appointment.

Staff Assistant: Ms. Jessica Kuhn   jessica.kuhn@stonybrook.edu

 

Business Management

Faculty Advisor: Dr. Carl Allocca

Staff Advisor: Ms. Rita Barbera rita.barbera@stonybrook.edu

632-7438, Room 109, Harriman Hall.

Office hours: Contact Business Department at 632-7438 to schedule an appointment.

 

Chemical & Molecular Engineering

Faculty Advisor: Dr. Devinder Mahajan devinder.mahajan@stonybrook.edu

and Dr. Miriam Rafailovich miriam.rafailovich@stonybrook.edu

632-8406, Room 208, Engineering Bldg.

Staff Advisor: Ms. Joann Toye joann.toye@stonybrook.edu

632-6269, Room 208, Engineering Bldg.

Office Hours: Contact Ms. Toye to schedule an appointment.

 

Chemistry

Faculty Advisors: Dr. Stephen Koch & Faculty

To schedule an appointment, please send an email to: undergraduate_chemistry_advisors@notes.cc.sunysb.edu

 

Cinema & Cultural Studies

Faculty Advisor: Dr. Raiford Guins raiford.guins@stonybrook.edu

632-7466, Room 2121, Humanities Bldg.

Office Hours: Mon. 10:00-11:00 am & Wed. 10:00 am-12:00 pm

 

Civil Engineering                                                                                   

Faculty Advisor: Dr. Harold Walker harold.walker@stonybrook.edu

632-8315, Room 250C, Heavy Engineering Bldg.

Staff Assistant: Ms. Erin Giuliano erin.giuliano@stonybrook.edu

Office hours: Contact Ms. Giuliani to schedule an appointment.

 

Clinical Laboratory Sciences                                                                   

Faculty Advisor: Prof. Kathleen Finnegan kathleen.finnegan@stonybrook.edu

444-3220, Room 048, Level 2, Health Sciences Ctr. Contact department for information session dates and times.

Coastal Environmental Studies and Geospatial Sciences Minor                   2                                                                                            

Faculty Advisor: Dr. Michael Sperazza michael.sperazza@stonybrook.edu                           Room 340, Earth Space & Sciences Bldg.

Office Hours: Mon. & Wed. 10:00 am-12:00 pm

 

Comparative Literature

Faculty Advisor: Dr. Kadji Aminkadji.amin@stonybrook.edu

632-7429, Room 2112, Humanities Bldg.

Office Hours: Mon. 1:00-4:00 pm

                                          

Computer Engineering                                                                        

Faculty Advisor: Dr. Ridha Kamoua ridha.kamoua@stonybrook.edu

632-8415, Room 267, Light Engineering Bldg.

 

Staff Advisor: Ms. Carolyn Huggins carolyn.huggins@stonybrook.edu

632-8415, Room 267, Light Engineering Bldg.

Office Hours: Contact Ms. Huggins to schedule an appointment

 

Computer Science                                                                        

Faculty Advisor: Dr. Leo Bachmair leo.bachmair@stonybrook.edu

632-8472, Room 1440, Comp. Sci. Bldg.

 

Staff Assistant: Ms. Diane Cerullo   diane.cerullo@stonybrook.edu

Office Hours: Contact Ms. Cerullo to schedule an appointment

 

Earth and Space Sciences

Faculty Advisor: Dr. Hanna Nekvasil hanna.nekvasil@stonybrook.edu

632-8201, Room 234, Earth & Space Sciences Bldg.

Office Hours: E-mail Dr. Nekvasil to schedule an appointment.

 

Economics

Faculty Advisor: Dr. William Dawes ugeconomics@stonybrook.edu

632-7556, Room N-605, Social & Behavioral Sciences Bldg

Office Hours: 11:00 am-12:40 pm; Thurs. 11:30 am-1:00 pm

 

Staff Advisor: Ms. Jenille Johnson   ugeconomics@stonybrook.edu

632-7540, Room, S-601, Social & Behavioral Sciences Bldg.

Office Hours: Mon., Thur., & Fri. 8:00 am-1:00 pm & 1:30-5:00 pm

Wed. 8:00 am-1:00 pm & 1:30-3:00 pm

 

Ecosystems and Human Impact                                                                 

Faculty Advisor: Dr. James Hoffmann james.hoffmann@stonybrook.edu

Room W-0517, Melville Library.

Office Hours: Wed. 4:00-5:00 pm; Fri. 1:00-2:00 pm and by appointment.

 

Electrical Engineering -- See Computer Engineering

 

Engineering Chemistry -- See Chemistry                                                      

 

Engineering Science                                                                              

Faculty Advisor: Dr. Gary Halada gary.halada@stonybrook.edu

632-8484, Room 314, Engineering Bldg.

Office Hours: E-mail Dr. Halada to schedule an appointment.

 

 

English                                                                                                                        

Faculty Advisor: Dr. Susan Scheckel susan.scheckel@stonybrook.edu

Room 2091, Humanities Bldg.

Office hours: Mon. & Wed. 12:00-1:00 pm; Tues. 2:00-3:00 pm

 

Staff Advisor: Ms. Margaret Hanley margaret.hanle@stonybrook.edu

632-7400, Room 2096, Humanities Bldg.

Office hours: Mon-Fri., 9:00 am-4:30 pm

 

Environmental Design, Policy & Planning

Faculty Advisor: Dr. Harold QuigleyJr. harold.quigleyjr@stonybrook.edu

Room W-0519, Melville Library

Office Hours: Mon. 10:00-11:30 am; Wed. 10:00 am-2:00 pm and by appt.

 

Environmental Humanities

Faculty Advisor: Dr. Heidi Hutner  heidi.hutner@stonybrook.edu

Room W-0520, Melville Library Bldg.

Office Hours: Tue. & Thurs. 9:00-10:00 am & 12:00-1:00 pm and by appointment.

 

Environmental Studies

Faculty Advisor: Dr. Kamazima Lwiza kamazima.lwiza@stonybrook.edu

632-7309; Room 169, Endeavor Hall, South Campus

Office hours: Mon. & Wed. 2:00-5:00 pm; Tues. & Thurs. 9:30-10:30 am;

Fri. 9:30-10:30 am and 2:00-5:00 pm

 

European Language, Literature and Cultures

Faculty Advisor: Dr. Irene Marrchegiani irene.marrchegiani@stonybrook.edu

632-7441, Room N-1074, Humanities Bldg.

Office Hours: Tues. 3:00-5:00 pm; Wed. 2:00-3:00 pm and by appt.

 

Geology

Faculty Advisor: Dr. Troy Rasbury   troy.rasbury@stonybrook.edu

Room 317, Earth & Space Sciences Bldg.

Office Hours: E-mail Dr. Rasbury to schedule an appointment.

 

Health Sciences        

Staff Advisor: Ms.Traci Thompson traci.thompson@stonybrook.edu. Must attend information session to declare the major. E-mail Abby Luizi at abigail.murray@stonybrook.edu to sign up for an information session.

                                                                                                              

History

Faculty Advisor: Dr. Wilbur Miller wilbur.miller@stonybrook.edu

Room S-325, Social & Behavioral Sciences Bldg. 
Office hours: Mon. 2:00-4:00 pm; Tues. by appointment; Wed. 2:00-3:00 pm

 

Staff Advisor: Ms. Susan Grumet susan.grumet@stonybrook.edu

632-7480, Room S-307, Social & Behavioral Sciences Bldg.
Office hours: Mon.-Fri., 10:00 am-4:30 pm

 

Information Systems                                                                

Faculty Advisor: Dr. Robert Kelly robert.kelly@stonybrook.edu

632-8470, Room 1440, Computer Sciences Bldg.

Office Hours: Contact Dr. Kelly to schedule an appointment.

Staff Assistant: Ms. Diane Cerullo diane.cerullo@stonybrook.edu

 

                                                                                                             3

Journalism                                                                                             Faculty Advisor: Prof. Paul Schreiber paul.schreiber@stonybrook.edu

632-7403, Room N-4004, Melville Library

Office hours: Tues. 12:00-1:30 by appt.; Wed. 11:00 am -12:30 pm; Thurs. 11:00 am-12:30 pm by appointment; Walk-in 2:00-3:00 pm.

 

Staff Advisor: Maureen Robinson maureen.robinson@stonybrook.edu

632-7403, Room N-4004, Melville Library

 

Linguistics

Faculty Advisor: Dr. Lori Repetti lori.repetti@stonybrook.edu

632-7446, Room, S-201, Social & Behavioral Sciences Bldg.

Office Hours: Tues. 11:30 am-12:30 pm; Wed. 9:00-11:00 am and by appointment

 

Marine Science and Marine Vertebrate Biology

See Environmental Studies

 

Mathematics

Faculty Advisor: Dr. David Ebin   upd@math.sunysb.edu

632-8247, Room P-143, Math Bldg.

Office Hours: Tues. & Thurs. 11:30 am-12:20 pm or by appointment

 

Mechanical Engineering

Faculty Advisor: Dr. Robert Kukta  robert.kukta@stonybrook.edu

632-8300, Room 113, Light Engineering Bldg.

 

Staff Assistant: Ms. Jessica Angell  jessica.angell@stonybrook.edu

Office Hours: Contact Ms. Angell to schedule an appointment.

 

Multidisciplinary Studies

Faculty Advisors: Dr. Darcy Lonsdale and Dr. Catherine Marrone  

632-4561, Room E-3310, Melville Library

Office Hours: Tues. 1:00-4:00 pm; Wed. 12:00-3:30 pm; Thurs. 1:00-3:30 pm

www.stonybrook.edu/uaa/multidisciplinary

 

Music

Faculty Advisor: Prof. Peter Winkler peter.winkler@stonybrook.edu

632-7330, Room 3304, Staller Center

Office Hours: Tue., & Thurs., 2:30-3:30 pm. Available by e-mail appointment,

Mon. 12:30-3:00 pm & Wed. 3:30-6:00 pm

 

Nursing Baccalaureate Program

Program Advisor: Ms. Karen Allard karen.allard@stonybrook.edu

444-3200, Room 215, Level 2, Health Sciences Bldg.

Students are encouraged to attend information session

http://nursing.stonybrookmedicine.edu/infoSession

 

Pharmacological Sciences

Faculty Advisor: Mrs. Janice Kito 444-3027 janice.kito@stonybrook.edu

Room 140, T-8, Basic Science Tower

Office Hours: Contact Ms. Kito to schedule an appointment.

 

 

 

 

 

Philosophy                                                                                        

Faculty Advisor: Dr. Timothy Hyde timothy.hyde@stonybrook.edu

632-7570, Room 211, Harriman Hall

Office Hours: Wed. 8:00 am -4:00 pm Tues. & Thurs. 8:00-10:00 am

 

Staff Advisor: Ms. Katie Amella kathleen-anna-amella@stonybrook.edu

632-7580, Room 219, Harriman Hall

 

Physics

Faculty Advisor: Dr. Abhay Deshpande abhay.deshpande@stonybrook.edu

632-8758, Room P-110, Physics Bldg.  

Office hours: Mon., Wed., & Fri. by appointment only

                                                           

Staff Advisor: Ms. Diane Diaferia diane.diaferia@sunysb.edu

632-8036, Room P-110, Physics Bldg.

Office hours: Mon.–Fri. 9:00 am-12 pm & 1:00-4:00 pm        

 

Political Science                                                                                                         

Faculty Advisor: Dr. Albert Cover albert.cover@stonybrook.edu

632-7661, Room N-725, Social & Behavioral Sciences Bldg.

Office hours: Mon., Wed. & Fri. 8:15-9:45 am

 

Staff Advisor: Ms. Janet Cea janet.cea@stonybrook.edu

632-7661, Room S-703, Social & Behavioral Sciences Bldg.

Office hours: Mon.-Frl. 9:00 am-12:00 pm & 1:00-4:00 pm

                                               

Psychology

Faculty Advisor: Dr. John Robinson   john.robinson@stonybrook.edu

632-7832, Room 254, Psychology B Bldg.

 

Staff Advisor: Ms. Carol Carlson carol.carlson@stonybrook.edu

632-7812, Room 117, Psychology B Bldg.

Office Hours: Mon.-Fri. 9:30 am-4:00 pm; E-mail Ms. Carlson to schedule an appointment with Dr. Robinson

 

Religious Studies

Faculty Advisor: Dr. William Chittick wlliam.chittick@stonybrook.edu

632-7690, Room 1046, Humanities Bldg.

Office Hours: Mon. & Wed., 5:30-6:30 pm

 

Respiratory Care and Polysomnography

Faculty Advisor: Prof. James Ganetis james.ganetis@stonybrook.edu

444-3180, Room 414, Level 2 Health Sciences Ctr.

                       

Social Welfare Baccalaureate                                   

Faculty Advisor: Dr. Suzanne Velazquez suzanne.velazquez@stonybrook.edu

444-6909, Room 093, Health Sciences Center

Office Hours: E-mail Dr. Velazquez to schedule an appointment.

 

 

 

 

 

Sociology                                                                                               4                                                                                                                                                                               

Faculty Advisor: Dr. Catherine Marrone catherine.marrone@stonybrook.edu

632-4883, Room S-429, Social & Behavioral Sciences Bldg.

Office Hours: Mon. 3:00-4:00 pm; Fri. 11:30 am-12:30 pm and by appointment

 

Staff Advisor: Ms. Sharon Worksman sharon.worksman@stonybrook.edu.

632-7710, Room S-401, Social & Behavioral Sciences Bldg.

Office Hours: Mon.-Fri. 9:00 am-4:00 pm

 

Spanish Languages and Literature

Faculty Advisor: Dr. Daniela Flesler  daniela.flesler@stonybrook.edu

632-6031, Room N-3018, Melville Library

Office Hours:   Tues & Thurs. 11:30 am-2:00 pm

 

Sustainability Studies

Faculty Advisor: Dr. Arlene Cassidy arlene.cassidy@stonybrook.edu

Room W-0515, Melville Library

Office Hours: Mon. 1:00-2:00 pm; Wed. 11:00 am-1:00 pm and by appt.

 

Technological Systems Management

Faculty Advisor: Dr. Ted Teng  ted.tang@stonybrook.edu

 

Staff Advisor: Ms. Rita Reagan-Redko rita.reagan-redko@stonybrook.edu

632-1057, Room 335, Harriman Hall.

Office Hours: Contact Ms. Reagan-Redko to schedule an appointment

 

Theatre Arts

Faculty Advisor: Prof. Deborah Mayo deborah.mayo@stonybrook.edu                 632-9969, Room 3015, Staller Center

Office Hours: Mon. 1:00-3:00 pm; Wed. 9:00-10:00 am or by appt.

 

Women’s and Gender Studies

Faculty Advisor: Dr. Nancy Hiemstra   nancy.hiemstra@stonybrook.edu

632-2740, Room 2067, Humanities Bldg.

Office Hours: Tues. & Thurs. 1:30—3:30 pm and by appointment

 

 facebook

Login to Edit