Search

Undergraduate Major and Minor Department Advisors

 

Complete information about academic majors and minors can be found in the Online Bulletin.


 The information below is also available as a pdf on the Forms page.

Africana Studies Major and Minor
Faculty Ad: Dr. Zebulon Miletsky
zebulon.miletsky@stonybrook.edu
632-7495, Room S-253, Social & Behavioral Sciences Bldg.
American Studies Major and Minor and Italian American Minor
Faculty Advisor: Dr. Peter Carravetta
peter.carravetta@stonybrook.edu
632-7440, Room N-1149, Humanities Bldg.
Anthropology Major and Minor
Faculty Advisor: Dr. Elisabeth Hildebrand
AnthropologyDUS@stonybrook.edu
632-7163, Room N-521, Social & Behavioral Sciences Bldg. 
Applied Math & Statistics Major and Minor
Undergraduate Program Director: Dr. Esther Arkin
esther.arkin@stonybrook.edu
632-8370, Room P-139B, Math Tower

Staff Assistant: Ms. Cathy Arrighetta
cathy.arrighetta@stonybrook.edu
Contact Ms. Arrighetta to schedule an appointment.
Art History & Studio Art Major and Minor
Faculty Advisor: Prof. Stephanie Dinkins
stephanie.dinkins@stonybrook.edu
632-7250, Room 2210, Staller Center
Asian & Asian American Studies Major and Minor
Faculty Advisor: Dr. Nerissa Balce
marianerissa.balce-cortes@stonybrook.edu
632-4030, Room 1115, Humanities Bldg.
Astronomy & Planetary Sciences Major and Minor

Faculty Advisor: Dr. James Lattimer
james.lattimer@stonybrook.edu
632-8227, Room 449, Earth & Space Sciences Bldg.

Staff Assistant: Ms. Diane Diafera 
diane.diafera@stonybrook.edu 

Athletic Training Major
Faculty Advisor:  Ms. Patricia Volz
patricia.volz@stonybrook.edu
632-2837, Room G-33, Sports Complex Bldg.
Atmospheric and Oceanic Sciences Major
Faculty Advisor: Dr. Brian Colle
brian.colle@stonybrook.edu
632-3174, Room 125, Endeavour Hall
Biochemistry Major
Students with last name beginning A-I contact:
Dr. Bernadette Holdener
bernadette.holdener@stonybrook.edu
632-8292, Room 346, Center for Molecular Medicine Bldg.

Students with last name beginning with J-R contact:
Dr. Nisson Schechter
nisson.schechter@stonybrook.edu
444-1368, Room 034, 10th floor Health Sci. Tower

Students with last name beginning N-Z should contact:
Faculty Advisor: Dr. Harvard Lyman
harvard.lyman@stonybrook.edu
632-8534, Room 472, Life Sciences Bldg.
Biology Major and Minor

Note:  Biology major or minor declarations does not require an appointment.

Staff Advisor: Dr. Kira Schultheiss
kira.schultheiss@stonybrook.edu
632-8543, advising by appointment only, schedule online at:
http://bio.advising.stonybrook.edu

Staff Advisor: Ms. Nicole Zinerco, M.A. 
nicole.zinerco@stonybrook.edu
632-8571, advising by appointment only. Schedule online at:
http://bio.advising.stonybrook.edu

Program Secretary:  Ms. Lynette Giordano lynette.giordano@stonybrook.edu
632-8571,Room 110 Ctr. for Molecular Medicine/BLL Bldg.
Can be contacted for Biology course registration  issues, Commencement
information.

Faculty Advisor: Dr. Peter Gergen 
john.peter.gergen@stonybrook.edu

 

Biomedical Engineering Major
Undergraduate Program Director: Dr. Molly Frame
632-8371, Room 102, Bioengineering Bldg.

Undergraduate Program Director: Ms. Jessica Kuhn
jessica.kuhn@stonybrook.edu
Contact Ms. Kuhn to schedule an appointment.
Business Management Major and Minor

Faculty Advisor: Dr. Richard Laskowski

Staff Advisor: Ms. Rita Barbera
rita.barbera@stonybrook.edu
632-7438, Room 109, Harriman Hall.

Chemical & Molecular Engineering Major
Undergraduate Program Directors: Dr. Tadanori Koga 
tadanori.koga@stonybrook.edu 
632-6269, Room 208, Engineering Bldg.

Staff Advisor: Ms. Joann Toye
joann.toye@stonybrook.edu
Contact Ms. Toye to schedule an appointment
Chemistry Major and Minor
Faculty Advisors: Dr. Dale Drueckhammer & Faculty
To schedule an appointment, go to:
ug_chemistry_advisors@stonybrook.edu
Cinema & Cultural Studies Major and Minor
Faculty Advisor: Dr. Raiford Guins 
raiford.guins@stonybrook.edu
632-7466, Room 2121, Humanities Bldg.

Civil Engineering Major
Undergraduate Program Director: Dr. Harold Walker
harold.walker@stonybrook.edu
632-8777, Room 250, Heavy Engineering Bldg.

Staff Assistant: Ms. Erin Giuliano
erin.giuliano@stonybrook.edu
Contact Ms. Giuliano to schedule an appointment.
Clinical Laboratory Sciences

Faculty Advisor: Prof. Jeannie Guglielmo 
jeannie.guglielmo@stonybrook.edu
444-3046, Room 443, Level 2, Health Sciences Center.

Contact department for information session dates and times.

Coastal Environmental Studies Major and Minor
Faculty Advisor: Dr. Katherine Aubrecht
katherine.aubrecht@stonybrook.edu
632-7901, Room 407, Chemistry Bldg.
Comparative Literary Theory Major and Minor
Faculty Advisor: Dr. Nikolas Panou 
nikolas.panou@stonybrook.edu
632-7483, Room 2058-A, Humanities Bldg.
Computer Engineering Major
Undergraduate Program Director: Dr. Ridha Kamoua
ridha.kamoua@stonybrook.edu
632-8415, Room 267, Light Engineering Bldg.

Staff Assistant: Ms. Carolyn Huggins
Carolyn.huggins@stonybrook.edu
Contact Ms. Huggins to schedule an appointment 
Computer Science Major and Minor
Faculty Advisor: Dr. Leo Bachmair 
leo.bachmair@stonybrook.edu
632-8470, Room 101, New Computer Science Bldg.

Staff Assistant: Ms. Diane Cerullo
diane.cerullo@stonybrook.edu
Contact Ms. Cerullo to schedule an appointment
Earth and Space Sciences Major
Faculty Advisor: Dr. Hanna Nekvasil
hanna.nekvasil@stonybrook.edu
632-8201, Room 234, Earth & Space Sciences Bldg.
Economics Major

Faculty Advisor: Dr. Hugo Benitez-Silva
ugeconomics@stonybrook.edu
632-7551, Room S-649, Social & Behavioral Sciences Bldg

Undergraduate Program Coordinator: Ms. Jenille Johnson
ugeconomics@stonybrook.edu
632-7540, Room, S-601, Social & Behavioral Sciences Bldg.

Ecosystems and Human Impact Major and Minor
Faculty Advisor: Dr. Sharon Pochron 
sharon.pochron@stonybrook.edu
632-5363, Room W-0523, Melville Library Bldg.
Electrical Engineering Major and Minor
 See Computer Engineering Major
Engineering Chemistry Major
See Chemistry Major and Minor
Engineering Science Major
Undergraduate Program Director: Dr. Gary Halada
gary.halada@stonybrook.edu
632-4174, Room 314, Engineering Bldg.

Undergraduate Program Coordinator: Ms. Chandrani Roy
chandrani@stonybrook.edu
Contact Ms. Roy to schedule an appointment.
English Major and Minor

Faculty Advisor: Dr. Susan Scheckel
susan.scheckel@stonybrook.edu
632-7400, Room 2091, Humanities Bldg.

Staff Advisor: Ms. Margaret Hanley
margaret.hanley@stonybrook.edu
632-7400, Room 2096, Humanities Bldg.

Environmental Design, Policy & Planning Major and Minor
Faculty Advisor: Dr. Harold Quigley Jr.
harold.quigleyjr@stonybrook.edu
632-5367, Room W-0519, Melville Library Bldg.
Environmental Humanities Major and Minor
Faculty Advisor: Dr. Heidi Hutner
heidi.hutner@stonybrook.edu
632-5630, Room W-0520, Melville Library
Environmental Studies Major and Minor
Faculty Advisor: Dr. Kamazima Lwiza 
kamazima.lwiza@stonybrook.edu
632-7309; Room 169, Endeavor Hall, South Campus
European Studies Major and Minor and Russian Studies Minor
Faculty Advisor: Dr. Timothy Westphalen
timothy.westphalen@stonbrook.edu
632-7387, Room 1140, Humanities Bldg.
French Language and Literature Major and Minor
Faculty Advisor: Dr. Prosper Sanou
prosper.sanou@stonybrook.edu
632-7439, Room 1069, Humanities Bldg.
Geology Major and Minor
Faculty Advisor: Dr. Deanne Rogers
https://deannerogers.youcanbook.me
632-1509, Room 318, Earth & Space Sciences Bldg.
German Language and Literature Major and Minor
Faculty Advisor: Dr. Robert Bloomer
robert.bloomer@stonybrook.edu
632-7369, Room 1136, Humanities Bldg.
Health Science Major
Major Advisor: Ms.Traci Thompson
traci.thompson@stonybrook.edu.

Must attend information session to declare the major.  
E-mail Ms. Jennifer Jimenez at jennifer.jimenez.1@stonybrook.edu to sign up for an information session.

History Major and Minor
Faculty Advisor: Dr. Susan Hinely
susan.hinely@stonybrook.edu
Room S-351, Social & Behavioral Sciences Bldg.

Staff Advisor: Ms. Susan Grumet
susan.grumet@stonybrook.edu
632-7480, Room S-307, Social & Behavioral Sciences Bldg.
Human Evolutionary Biology Major
Faculty Advisor: Dr. Andreas Koenig
humanevolbiology@stonybrook.edu
632-1513, Room N-517, Social and Behavioral Sciences Bldg.
Information Systems Major and Minor
Undergraduate Program Director: Dr. Robert Kelly
Robert.kelly@stonybrook.edu
632-8470, Room 101, New Computer Science Bldg.

Staff Assistant: Ms. Diane Cerullo
diane.cerullo@stonybrook.edu
Contact Ms. Cerullo to schedule an appointment.
Italian Studies Major and Minor & Medieval Studies Minor
Faculty Advisor: Dr. Irene Marchegiani
irene.marchegiani@stonybrook.edu
632-7440, Room 1143, Humanities Bldg.
Journalism Major and Minor
Faculty Advisor: Prof. Paul Schreiber
paul.schreiber@stonybrook.edu
632-7403, Room N-4004, Melville Library

Staff Advisor: Maureen Robinson
maureen.robinson@stonybrook.edu
632-7403, Room N-4004, Melville Library
Linguistics Major and Minor
Faculty Advisor: Dr. Jose Elias-Ulloa
jose.elias-ulloa@stonybrook.edu
632-7774, Room, S-201, Social & Behavioral Sciences Bldg.
Marine Science Major and Minor
 See Environmental Studies
Marine Vertebrate Biology Major
Faculty Advisor: Dr. Darcy Lonsdale
darcy.lonsdale@stonybrook.edu
632-8712, Room 207, Endeavor Hall, South Campus 
Mathematics Major and Minor
Faculty Advisor: Dr. Alexder Kirillov 
upd@math.sunysb.edu
632-8289, Room P-143, Math Bldg.
Mechanical Engineering Major and Minor
Undergraduate Program Director: Dr. Thomas Cuband 
thomas.cuband@stonybrook.edu
632-8310, Room 113, Light Engineering Bldg.

Staff Assistant: Ms. Donna Hanson
donna.hanson@stonybrook.edu
Contact Ms. Hanson to schedule an appointment
Multidisciplinary Studies Major
Faculty Advisors: Dr. Darcy Lonsdale and Dr. Catherine Marrone
www.stonybrook.edu/mtd
632-4561, Room E-3310, Melville Library
Music Major and Minor
Faculty Advisor: Dr. Margaret Schedel
margaret.schedel@stonybrook.edu
632-7330, Room 3358, Staller Center
Nursing Baccalaureate Program
Program Advisor: Ms. Jennifer Coppola
444-3200, Room 215, Level 2, Health Sciences Center
Students are encouraged to attend information session
http://nursing.stonybrookmedicine.edu/infoSession
Pharmacology Major
Faculty Advisor: Dr. Robert Watson
robert.watson@stonybrook.edu
444-1574, Room T8-130, Health Sciences Tower

Assistant Director: Mrs. Janice Kito
janice.kito@stonybrook.edu
444-3027, Room 140, T-8, Basic Science Tower
Philosophy Major and Minor
Faculty Advisor: Dr. Gary Mar
gary.mar@stonybrook.edu
632-7528, Room 245, Harriman Hall

Staff Advisor: Ms. Katie Amella
kathleen-anna-amella@stonybrook.edu
632-7580, Room 216, Harriman Hall
Physics Major and Minor
Faculty Advisor: Dr. Robert McCarthy
robert.mccarthy@stonybrook.edu
632-8758, Room P-110, Physics Bldg.

Staff Advisor: Ms. Diane Diaferia
diane.diaferia@sunysb.edu
632-8036, Room P-110, Physics Bldg.
Political Science Major and Minor
Faculty Advisor: Dr. Helmut Norpoth
helmut.norpoth@stonybrook.edu
632-7640, Room N-731, Social & Behavioral Sciences Bldg.

Staff Advisor: Ms. Janet Cea
janet.cea@stonybrook.edu
632-7661, Room S-703, Social & Behavioral Sciences Bldg.
Polysomnographic Technology Program
Faculty Advisor:  Prof. Russell Rozensky
russell.rozensky@stonybrook.edu
444-6654, Room 449, Level 2, Health Sciences Ctr.
Psychology Major
Faculty Advisor: Dr. John Robinson
john.robinson@stonybrook.edu
632-7832, Room 254, Psychology B Bldg.

Staff Advisor: Ms. Carol Carlson
carol.carlson@stonybrook.edu
632-7812, Room 109, Psychology B Bldg.

Student Coordinator: Ms. Donna Hildenbrand
donna.hildenbrand@stonybrook.edu
632-7802, Room 117, Psychology B Bldg.
Religious Studies Major and Minor
Faculty Advisor: Dr. William Chittick
william.chittick@stonybrook.edu
632-4030, Room 1120, Humanities Bldg.
Respiratory Care Program
Faculty Advisor: Prof. James Ganetis
james.ganetis@stonybrook.edu
444-3180, Room 414, Level 2 Health Sciences Ctr.
Social Welfare Baccalaureate
Faculty Advisor: Dr. Suzanne Velazquez
suzanne.velazquez@stonybrook.edu
444-6909, Room 093, Health Sciences Center
Sociology Major
Faculty Advisor: Dr. Catherine Marrone
catherine.marrone@stonybrook.edu
632-4883, Room S-429, Social & Behavioral Sciences Bldg.

Staff Advisor: Ms. Sharon Worksman
sharon.worksman@stonybrook.edu.
632-7710, Room S-401, Social & Behavioral Sciences Bldg.
Spanish Languages and Literature Major and Minor
Faculty Advisor: Dr. Paul Firbas
paul.firbas@stonybrook.edu
632-6948, Room N-3017, Melville Library Bldg.
Sustainability Studies Major and Minor
Faculty Advisor: Dr. Arlene Cassidy
arlene.cassidy@stonybrook.edu
632-5362, Room W-0515, Melville Library Bldg.
Technological Systems Management Major and Minor
Undergraduate Program Director: Dr. David Tonjes
david.tonjes@stonybrook.edu

Staff Advisor: Ms. Rita Reagan-Redko
rita.reagan-redko@stonybrook.edu
632-1057, Room 335, Harriman Hall
Contact Ms. Reagan-Redko to schedule an appointment
Theatre Arts Major and Minor
Faculty Advisor: Prof. Deborah Mayo
deborah.mayo@stonybrook.edu
632-9969, Room 3015, Staller Center
Women's and Gender Studies Major and Minor
Faculty Advisor: Dr. Ritch Calvin
ritchie.calvin@stonybrook.edu
632-7607, Room 2119, Humanities Bldg.
This page was last updated on 5/23/16
 
Login to Edit