Search SB
Stony Brook University Stony Brook University home page advising header

Undergraduate Major and Minor Department Advisors  |  Fall 2014

updated 8/13/14

Basic Major/Minor Information can be found on the Online Bulletin, here.


 

The information below is also available as a pdf.

 

Adapted Aquatics Minor

Faculty Advisor: Dr. Peter D’Angelo   peter.angelo@stonybrook.edu

632-9225, Room 030, Sports Complex

 

Africana Studies

Faculty Advisor: Dr. Tracey Walters  tracey.walters@stonybrook.edu

632-7475, Room S-257, Social & Behavioral Sciences Bldg.

 

American Studies

Faculty Advisor:  Dr. Irene Marchegiani  irene.marchegiani@stonybrook.edu

632-7441, Room N-1074, Humanities Bldg.

 

Anthropology

Faculty Advisor: Dr. Elisabeth Hildenbrand

AnthropologyDUS@notes.cc.sunysb.edu

632-7615, Room S-549, Social & Behavioral Sciences Bldg.

 

Applied Math & Statistics

Faculty Advisor: Dr. Ester Arkin ester.arkin@stonybrook.edu

632-8363, Room P-134 B, Math Tower

Staff Assistant: Ms. Cathy Arrighetta cathy.arrighetta@stonybrook.edu

 

Art History & Studio Art

Faculty Advisor: Dr. Elizabeth Patterson  zabet.patterson@stonybrook.edu

632-1171, Room 2210, Staller Center

 

Asian & Asian American Studies

Faculty Advisor: Dr. Andrew Nicholson andrew.nicholson@stonybrook.edu

632-4030, Room 1113, Humanities Bldg.

 

Astronomy & Planetary Sciences

Faculty Advisor: Dr. Michael Zingale   michael.zingale@stonybrook.edu

632-8758, Room P-110, Physics Bldg.

 

Athletic Training

Faculty Advisor: Prof. Xristos Gaglias xristos.gaglias@stonybrook.edu

632-2837, Room G-33, Sports Complex Bldg.

 

Atmospheric and Oceanic Sciences

Faculty Advisor: Dr. Brian Colle brian.colle@stonybrook.edu

632-3174, Room 135, Endeavour Hall

 

Biochemistry

Students with last name beginning A-H contact:

Dr. Bernadette Holdener bernadette.holdener@stonybrook.edu

632-8292, Room 346, Center for Molecular Medicine Bldg.

 

Students with last name beginning with J-R contact:

Dr. Nisson Schechter   nisson.schechter@stonybrook.edu

444-1368 or 631-379-9576, Room 034, 10th floor Health Sci. Tower

 

Students with last name beginning N-Z should contact:

Faculty Advisor: Dr. Harvard Lyman harvard.lyman@stonybrook.edu

632-8534, Room 472, Life Sciences Bldg.

 

Biological Sciences

Staff Advisor: Ms. Ellen Lopez ellen.lopez@stonybrook.edu

632-8543, Room 107, Ctr. Molecular Med./BLL Bldg.

 

Staff Advisor: Prof. Corey Fortcher corey.fortcher@stonybrook.edu

632-8571, Room 109, Ctr. Molecular Med. /BLL Bldg.

 

Faculty Advisor: Dr. Peter Gergen john.peter.gergen@stonybrook.edu

632-8530. Room 110 Ctr. Molecular Med./BLL Bldg.

 

Biomedical Engineering

Faculty Advisor: Dr. Molly Frame  molly.frame@stonybrook.edu

632-1625, Room G-19, Bioengineering Bldg.

Staff Assistant: Ms. Jessica Kuhn   jessica.kuhn@stonybrook.edu

 

Business Management

Faculty Advisor: Dr. Carl Allocca

Staff Advisor: Ms. Rita Barbera   rita.barbera@stonybrook.edu

632-7438, Room 109, Harriman Hall.

 

Chemical & Molecular Engineering

Faculty Advisor: Dr. Devinder Mahajan devinder.mahajan@stonybrook.edu

and Dr. Miriam Rafailovich miriam.rafailovich@stonybrook.edu

632-8406, Room 208, Engineering Bldg.

Staff Advisor: Ms. Joann Toye joann.toye@stonybrook.edu

632-6269, Room 208, Engineering Bldg.

 

Chemistry

Faculty Advisors: Dr. Stephen Koch & Faculty

undergraduate_chemistry_advisors@notes.cc.sunysb.edu

 

Cinema & Cultural Studies

Faculty Advisor: Dr. E.K. Tan    engkiong.tan@stonybrook.edu

632-7466, Room 2121, Humanities Bldg.

 

Civil Engineering                                                                                   

Faculty Advisor: Dr. Harold Walker harold.walker@stonybrook.edu

632-8315, Room 250C, Heavy Engineering Bldg.

Staff Assistant: Ms. Erin Giuliano erin.giuliano@stonybrook.edu

 

Clinical Laboratory Sciences                                                                   

Faculty Advisor: Prof. Kathleen Finnegan kathleen.finnegan@stonybrook.edu

444-3220, Room 048, Level 2, Health Sciences Ctr. Contact department for information session dates and times.

 

Coastal Environmental Studies and Geospatial Sciences Minor

Faculty Advisor: Dr. Michael Sperazza michael.sperazza@stonybrook.edu

632-1687, Room 340, Earth Space & Sciences Bldg.

 

Comparative Literary Theory

See Cinema and Cultural Studies

                                         

Computer Engineering                                                                        

Faculty Advisor: Dr. Ridha Kamoua ridha.kamoua@stonybrook.edu

632-8415, Room 267, Light Engineering Bldg.

Staff Advisor: Ms. Carolyn Huggins carolyn.huggins@stonybrook.edu

632-8415, Room 267, Light Engineering Bldg.

 

Computer Science                                                                        

Faculty Advisor: Dr. Leo Bachmair leo.bachmair@stonybrook.edu

632-8472, Room 1440, Computer Sciences Bldg.

Staff Assistant: Ms. Diane Cerullo   diane.cerullo@stonybrook.edu

 

Earth and Space Sciences

Faculty Advisor: Dr. Hanna Nekvasil hanna.nekvasil@stonybrook.edu

632-8201, Room 234, Earth & Space Sciences Bldg.

 

Economics

Faculty Advisor: Dr. William Dawes ugeconomics@stonybrook.edu

632-7556, Room N-605, Social & Behavioral Sciences Bldg

Staff Advisor: Ms. Jenille Johnson   ugeconomics@stonybrook.edu

632-7540, Room, S-601, Social & Behavioral Sciences Bldg.

 

Ecosystems and Human Impact                                                                 

Faculty Advisor: Dr. James Hoffmann james.hoffmann@stonybrook.edu

632-5366, Room W-0517, Melville Library Bldg.

 

Electrical Engineering -- See Computer Engineering

 

Engineering Chemistry -- See Chemistry                                                      

 

Engineering Science                                                                              

Faculty Advisor: Dr. Gary Halada gary.halada@stonybrook.edu

632-8484, Room 314, Engineering Bldg.

 

English                                                                                                                        

Faculty Advisor: Dr. Susan Scheckel susan.scheckel@stonybrook.edu

Room 2091, Humanities Bldg.

Staff Advisor: Ms. Margaret Hanley margaret.hanle@stonybrook.edu

632-7400, Room 2096, Humanities Bldg.

 

Environmental Design, Policy & Planning

Faculty Advisor: Dr. Harold QuigleyJr. harold.quigleyjr@stonybrook.edu

632-5367, Room W-0519, Melville Library Bldg.

 

Environmental Humanities

Faculty Advisor: Dr. Heidi Hutner  heidi.hutner@stonybrook.edu

632-5630, Room W-0520, Melville Library

 

Environmental Studies

Faculty Advisor: Dr. Mary Scranton  mary.scranton@stonybrook.edu

632-8735; Room 115, Endeavor Hall, South Campus

 

European Studies

Faculty Advisor: Dr. Timothy Westphalen  timothy.westphalen@stonbrook.edu

632-7387, Room 1055, Humanities Bldg.

 

French Language and Literature

Faculty Advisor:  Dr. Prosper Sanou  prosper.sanou@stonybrook.edu

632-7439, Room 1069, Humanities Bldg.

 

Geology

Faculty Advisor: Dr. Troy Rasbury   troy.rasbury@stonybrook.edu

Room 317, Earth & Space Sciences Bldg.

Office Hours: E-mail Dr. Rasbury to schedule an appointment.

 

German Language and Literature

Faculty Advisor:  Dr. Robert Bloomer  Robert.bloomer@stonybrook.edu

632-7369, Room 1136, Humanities Bldg.

 

Health Sciences

Staff Advisor: Ms.Traci Thompson traci.thompson@stonybrook.edu.

Must attend information session to declare the major.

E-mail Abby Luizi at abigail.murray@stonybrook.edu to sign up for an information session.

                                                                                                              

History

Faculty Advisor: Dr. Wilbur Miller wilbur.miller@stonybrook.edu

Room S-325, Social & Behavioral Sciences Bldg. 

Staff Advisor: Ms. Susan Grumet susan.grumet@stonybrook.edu

632-7480, Room S-307, Social & Behavioral Sciences Bldg.
 

Human Evolutionary Biology

Faculty Advisor:  Dr. Andreas Koenig   andreas.koenig@stonybrook.edu

632-1513, Room S-517, Social and Behavioral Sciences Bldg.

 

Information Systems                                                                

Faculty Advisor: Dr. Robert Kelly robert.kelly@stonybrook.edu

632-8470, Room 1440, Computer Sciences Bldg.

Staff Assistant: Ms. Diane Cerullo diane.cerullo@stonybrook.edu

 

Italian Studies

Faculty Advisor:  Dr. Charles Franco  charles.franco@stonybrook.edu

632-1494, Room 1143, Humanities Bldg.

  

Journalism

Faculty Advisor: Prof. Paul Schreiber paul.schreiber@stonybrook.edu

632-7403, Room N-4004, Melville Library

Staff Advisor: Maureen Robinson maureen.robinson@stonybrook.edu

632-7403, Room N-4004, Melville Library

 

Linguistics

Faculty Advisor: Dr. Lori Repetti lori.repetti@stonybrook.edu

632-7446, Room, S-201, Social & Behavioral Sciences Bldg.

 

Marine Science and Marine Vertebrate Biology

See Environmental Studies

 

Mathematics

Faculty Advisor: Dr. David Ebin   upd@math.sunysb.edu

632-8247, Room P-143, Math Bldg.

 

Mechanical Engineering

Faculty Advisor: Dr. Robert Kukta  robert.kukta@stonybrook.edu

632-8300, Room 113, Light Engineering Bldg.

Staff Assistant: Ms. Jessica Angell  jessica.angell@stonybrook.edu

 

Multidisciplinary Studies

Faculty Advisors: Dr. Darcy Lonsdale and Dr. Catherine Marrone  

632-4561, Room E-3310, Melville Library

www.stonybrook.edu/uaa/multidisciplinary

 

Music

Faculty Advisor:  Dr. Margaret Schedel  margaret.schedel@stonybrook.edu

632-7330, Room 3304, Staller Center

 

Nursing Baccalaureate Program

Program Advisor: Ms. Jennifer Coppola  

444-3200, Room 215, Level 2, Health Sciences Center

Students are encouraged to attend information session

http://nursing.stonybrookmedicine.edu/infoSession

 

Pharmacological Sciences

Faculty Advisor: Mrs. Janice Kito 444-3027 janice.kito@stonybrook.edu

Room 140, T-8, Basic Science Tower

Office Hours: Contact Ms. Kito to schedule an appointment.

 

Philosophy                                                                                        

Faculty Advisor: Dr. Timothy Hyde timothy.hyde@stonybrook.edu

632-7570, Room 211, Harriman Hall

Staff Advisor: Ms. Katie Amella kathleen-anna-amella@stonybrook.edu

632-7580, Room 219, Harriman Hall

 

Physics

Faculty Advisor: Dr. Robert McCarthy   robert.mccarthy@stonybrook.edu

632-8758, Room P-110, Physics Bldg.  

                                             

Staff Advisor: Ms. Diane Diaferia diane.diaferia@sunysb.edu

632-8036, Room P-110, Physics Bldg.

 

Political Science                                                                                                         

Faculty Advisor: Dr. Albert Cover albert.cover@stonybrook.edu

632-7661, Room N-725, Social & Behavioral Sciences Bldg.

Staff Advisor: Ms. Janet Cea janet.cea@stonybrook.edu

632-7661, Room S-703, Social & Behavioral Sciences Bldg.

                                               

Psychology

Faculty Advisor: Dr. Sheri Levy  sheri.levy@stonybrook.edu

632-43552, Room 244, Psychology B Bldg.

Staff Advisor: Ms. Carol Carlson carol.carlson@stonybrook.edu

632-7812, Room 117, Psychology B Bldg.

 

Religious Studies

Faculty Advisor: Dr. William Chittick wlliam.chittick@stonybrook.edu

632-7690, Room 1046, Humanities Bldg.

 

Respiratory Care and Polysomnography

Faculty Advisor: Prof. James Ganetis james.ganetis@stonybrook.edu

444-3180, Room 414, Level 2 Health Sciences Ctr.

                       

Social Welfare Baccalaureate                                   

Faculty Advisor: Dr. Suzanne Velazquez suzanne.velazquez@stonybrook.edu

444-6909, Room 093, Health Sciences Center

 

Sociology

Faculty Advisor: Dr. Catherine Marrone catherine.marrone@stonybrook.edu

632-4883, Room S-429, Social & Behavioral Sciences Bldg.

Staff Advisor: Ms. Sharon Worksman sharon.worksman@stonybrook.edu.

632-7710, Room S-401, Social & Behavioral Sciences Bldg.

 

Spanish Languages and Literature

Faculty Advisor: Dr. Victoriano Roncero-Lopez  victoriano.lopez@stonybrook.edu

632-6031, Room N-3018, Melville Library Bldg.

 

Sustainability Studies

Faculty Advisor: Dr. Arlene Cassidy arlene.cassidy@stonybrook.edu

632-5362, Room W-0515, Melville Library Bldg.

 

Technological Systems Management

Faculty Advisor: Dr. Ted Teng  ted.tang@stonybrook.edu

Staff Advisor: Ms. Rita Reagan-Redko rita.reagan-redko@stonybrook.edu

632-1057, Room 335, Harriman Hall.

 

Theatre Arts

Faculty Advisor: Prof. Deborah Mayo deborah.mayo@stonybrook.edu

632-9969, Room 3015, Staller Center

 

Women’s and Gender Studies

Faculty Advisor:  Dr. Nancy Hiemstra  nancy.hiemstra@stonybrook.edu

632-7430, Room 2067, Humanities Bldg.

 

Login to Edit