Search

Academic and Transfer Advising Services

Undergraduate Major and Minor Department Advisors  |  Fall 2015


College of Arts & Sciences, College of Business, School of Health Technology
and Management, School of Journalism and 
School of Marine and Atmospheric Sciences

updated 5//5/2015

The complete list of academic majors and minors can be found in the Online Bulletin, here.


 

The information below is also available as a pdf

 

Adapted Aquatics Minor

Faculty Advisor: Dr. Peter Angelo   peter.angelo@stonybrook.edu

632-9225, Room 030, Sports Complex

 

Africana Studies Major and Minor 

Faculty Advisor: Dr. Shimelis Gulema   shimelis.gulema@stonybrook.edu

632-7473, Room S-251, Social & Behavioral Sciences Bldg.

 

American Studies Major and Minor and Italian American Minor

Faculty Advisor:  Dr. Peter Carravetta   peter.carravetta@stonybrook.edu

632-7440, Room N-1149, Humanities Bldg.

 

Anthropology Major and Minor

Faculty Advisor: Dr. Elisabeth Hildenbrand

AnthropologyDUS@stonybrook.edu

632-7163, Room N-521, Social & Behavioral Sciences Bldg.

 

Art History & Studio Art Major and Minor

Faculty Advisor: TBA

632-7250, Room 2226, Staller Center

 

Asian & Asian American Studies Major and Minor

Faculty Advisor: Dr. Nerissa Balce   marianerissa.balce-cortes@stonybrook.edu

632-4030, Room 1115, Humanities Bldg.

 

Astronomy & Planetary Sciences Major and Minor

Faculty Advisor:  Dr. James Lattimer   james.lattimer@stonybrook.edu

632-8227, Room 449, Earth & Space Sciences Bldg. 

 

Athletic Training  Major 

Faculty Advisor: Prof. Xristos Gaglias  xristos.gaglias@stonybrook.edu

632-2837, Room G-33, Sports Complex Bldg.

 

Atmospheric and Oceanic Sciences Major

Faculty Advisor: Dr. Brian Colle brian.colle@stonybrook.edu

632-3174, Room 125, Endeavour Hall

 

Biochemistry Major

Students with last name beginning A-I contact:

Dr. Bernadette Holdener bernadette.holdener@stonybrook.edu

632-8292, Room 346, Center for Molecular Medicine Bldg.

 

Students with last name beginning with J-R contact:

Dr. Nisson Schechter   nisson.schechter@stonybrook.edu

444-1368, Room 034, 10th floor Health Sci. Tower

 

Students with last name beginning N-Z should contact:

Faculty Advisor: Dr. Harvard Lyman harvard.lyman@stonybrook.edu

632-8534, Room 472, Life Sciences Bldg.

 

Biology  Major and Minor

Staff Advisor: Ms. Ellen Lopez

632-8543, Room 107, Ctr. Molecular Med./BLL Bldg.

 

Staff Advisor: Ms. Nicole Zinerco   nicole.zinerco@stonybrook.edu

632-8571, Room 109, Ctr. Molecular Med. /BLL Bldg.

 

Faculty Advisor: Dr. Peter Gergen john.peter.gergen@stonybrook.edu

632-8530. Room 110 Ctr. Molecular Med./BLL Bldg.

 

Business Management Major and Minor

Faculty Advisor: Dr. Carl Allocca

Staff Advisor: Ms. Rita Barbera   rita.barbera@stonybrook.edu

632-7438, Room 109, Harriman Hall.

 

Chemistry Major and Minor

Faculty Advisors: Dr. Trevor Sears & Faculty

ug_chemistry_advisors@stonybrook.edu 

 

Cinema & Cultural Studies Major and Minor

Faculty Advisor: TBA

632-7460, Room 2048, Humanities Bldg.

 

Clinical Laboratory Sciences                                                             

Faculty Advisor: Prof. Kathleen Finnegan kathleen.finnegan@stonybrook.edu

444-3220, Room 048, Level 2, Health Sciences Center.

Contact department for information session dates and times.

 

Coastal Environmental Studies Major and Minor

Faculty Advisor: Dr. Katherine Aubrecht   katherine.aubrecht@stonybrook.edu

632-7901, Room 407, Chemistry Bldg.

 

Comparative Literary Theory Major and Minor

See Cinema and Cultural Studies

 

Earth and Space Sciences Major

Faculty Advisor: Dr. Hanna Nekvasil hanna.nekvasil@stonybrook.edu

632-8201, Room 234, Earth & Space Sciences Bldg.

 

Economics Major

Faculty Advisor: Dr. Hugo Benitez-Silva ugeconomics@stonybrook.edu

632-7551, Room S-649, Social & Behavioral Sciences Bldg

 

Staff Advisor: Ms. Jenille Johnson   ugeconomics@stonybrook.edu

632-7540, Room, S-601, Social & Behavioral Sciences Bldg.

 

Ecosystems and Human Impact  Major and Minor                                                               

Faculty Advisor: Dr. James Hoffmann james.hoffmann@stonybrook.edu

632-5366, Room W-0517, Melville Library Bldg.

 

Engineering Chemistry Major -- See Chemistry                                                      

 

English  Major and Minor                                                                                                                       

Faculty Advisor: Dr. Susan Scheckel susan.scheckel@stonybrook.edu

632-7400, Room 2091, Humanities Bldg.

 

Staff Advisor: Ms. Margaret Hanley margaret.hanley@stonybrook.edu

632-7400, Room 2096, Humanities Bldg.

 

Environmental Design, Policy & Planning  Major and Minor

Faculty Advisor: Dr. Harold QuigleyJr. harold.quigleyjr@stonybrook.edu

632-5367, Room W-0519, Melville Library Bldg.

 

Environmental Humanities Major and Minor

Faculty Advisor: Dr. Heidi Hutner  heidi.hutner@stonybrook.edu

632-5630, Room W-0520, Melville Library

 

Environmental Studies Major and Minor

Faculty Advisor: Dr. Mary Scranton  mary.scranton@stonybrook.edu

632-8735; Room 115, Challenger Hall, South Campus

 

European Studies Major and Minor and Russian Studies Minor

Faculty Advisor: Dr. Timothy Westphalen  timothy.westphalen@stonbrook.edu

632-7387, Room 1140, Humanities Bldg.

 

French Language and Literature Major and Minor

Faculty Advisor:  Dr. Prosper Sanou  prosper.sanou@stonybrook.edu

632-7439, Room 1069, Humanities Bldg.

 

Geology Major and Minor

Faculty Advisor: Dr. Deanne Rogers  deanne.rogers@stonybrook.edu

632-1509, Room 318, Earth & Space Sciences Bldg.

 

Geospatial Science Minor 

Faculty Advisor:  Dr. Sung Gheel Jang   sunggheel.jang@stonybrook.edu

632-5364, W-0516, Melville Library

 

German Language and Literature Major and Minor

Faculty Advisor:  Dr. Robert Bloomer  robert.bloomer@stonybrook.edu

632-7369, Room 1136, Humanities Bldg.

 

Health Science  Major

 Staff Advisor: Ms.Traci Thompson traci.thompson@stonybrook.edu.

Must attend information session to declare the major.

E-mail Abby Luizi at abigail.murray@stonybrook.edu to sign up for an information session.

                                                                                                              

History  Major and Minor

Faculty Advisor: Dr. Susan Hinely  susan.hinely@stonybrook.edu

632-7496, Room S-351, Social & Behavioral Sciences Bldg. 

Staff Advisor: Ms. Susan Grumet susan.grumet@stonybrook.edu

632-7480, Room S-307, Social & Behavioral Sciences Bldg.
 

Human Evolutionary Biology Major and Minor

Faculty Advisor:  Dr. Andreas Koenig  humanevolbiology@stonybrook.edu

632-9445, Room N-553, Social and Behavioral Sciences Bldg.

 

Italian Studies Major and Minor and  Medieval Studies Minor

Faculty Advisor:  Dr. Irene Marchegiani  irene.marchegiani@stonybrook.edu

632-7440, Room 1143, Humanities Bldg.

  

Journalism Major and Minor

Faculty Advisor: Prof. Paul Schreiber paul.schreiber@stonybrook.edu

632-7403, Room N-4004, Melville Library

 

Staff Advisor: Maureen Robinson maureen.robinson@stonybrook.edu

632-7403, Room N-4004, Melville Library

 

Linguistics Major and Minor

Faculty Advisor: Dr. Jose Elias-Ulloa   jose.elias-ulloa@stonybrook.edu

632-7774, Room, S-201, Social & Behavioral Sciences Bldg.

 

Marine Science and Marine Vertebrate Biology Majors

See Environmental Studies

 

Mathematics Major and Minor

Faculty Advisor: Dr. David Ebin   upd@math.sunysb.edu

632-8247, Room P-143, Math Bldg.

 

Multidisciplinary Studies Major

Faculty Advisors: Dr. Darcy Lonsdale and Dr. Catherine Marrone  

www.stonybrook.edu/uaa/multidisciplinary

632-4561, Room E-3310, Melville Library

 

Music Major and Minor

Faculty Advisor:  Dr. Margaret Schedel  margaret.schedel@stonybrook.edu

632-7330, Room 3358, Staller Center

 

Nursing Baccalaureate Program

Program Advisor: Ms. Jennifer Coppola  

444-3200, Room 215, Level 2, Health Sciences Center

Students are encouraged to attend information session

http://nursing.stonybrookmedicine.edu/infoSession

 

Pharmacology  Major

Faculty Advisor: Mrs. Janice Kito 444-3027 janice.kito@stonybrook.edu

Room 140, T-8, Basic Science Tower

 

Philosophy Major and Minor                                                                                     

Faculty Advisor: Dr. Gary Mar    gary.mar@stonybrook.edu

632-7528, Room 245, Harriman Hall

 

Staff Advisor: Ms. Katie Amella kathleen-anna-amella@stonybrook.edu

632-7580, Room 219, Harriman Hall

 

Physics Major and Minor

Faculty Advisor: Dr. Robert McCarthy   robert.mccarthy@stonybrook.edu

632-8758, Room P-110, Physics Bldg.  

                                       

Staff Advisor: Ms. Diane Diaferia diane.diaferia@sunysb.edu

632-8036, Room P-110, Physics Bldg.

 

Political Science Major and Minor                                                                                                       

Faculty Advisor: Dr.  Helmut Noporth  helmut.noporth@stonybrook.edu

632-7640, Room N-725, Social & Behavioral Sciences Bldg.

 

Staff Advisor: Ms. Janet Cea  janet.cea@stonybrook.edu

632-7661, Room S-703, Social & Behavioral Sciences Bldg.

                                               

Psychology Major  Major

Faculty Advisor: Dr. Sheri Levy  sheri.levy@stonybrook.edu

632-4355, Room 244, Psychology B Bldg.

 

Staff Advisor: Ms. Carol Carlson carol.carlson@stonybrook.edu

632-7812, Room 109, Psychology B Bldg.

 

Religious Studies Major and Minor

Faculty Advisor: Dr. William Chittick     william.chittick@stonybrook.edu

632-4030, Room 1120, Humanities Bldg.

 

Respiratory Care Program

Faculty Advisor: Prof. James Ganetis james.ganetis@stonybrook.edu

444-3180, Room 414, Level 2 Health Sciences Ctr.

                       

Social Welfare Baccalaureate                                

Faculty Advisor: Dr. Suzanne Velazquez  suzanne.velazquez@stonybrook.edu

444-6909, Room 093, Health Sciences Center

 

Sociology Major

Faculty Advisor: Dr. Catherine Marrone catherine.marrone@stonybrook.edu

632-4883, Room S-429, Social & Behavioral Sciences Bldg.

 

Staff Advisor: Ms. Sharon Worksman sharon.worksman@stonybrook.edu.

632-7710, Room S-401, Social & Behavioral Sciences Bldg.

 

Spanish Languages and Literature Major and Minor

Faculty Advisor: Dr. Daniela Flesler   daniela.flesler@stonybrook.edu

632-6031, Room N-3018, Melville Library Bldg.

 

Sustainability Studies Major and Minor

Faculty Advisor: Dr. Arlene Cassidy arlene.cassidy@stonybrook.edu

632-5362, Room W-0515, Melville Library Bldg.

 

Theatre Arts Major and Minor

Faculty Advisor: Prof. Deborah Mayo   deborah.mayo@stonybrook.edu

632-9969, Room 3015, Staller Center

 

Women’s and Gender Studies Major and Minor

See Cinema & Cultural Studies

 

Login to Edit