Skip Navigation
Search

Undergraduate Major Department Advisors

 

Complete information about academic majors and minors can be found in the Online Bulletin.


 The information below is also available as a pdf on the Forms page.

Africana Studies Major and Minor
Faculty Advisor: Dr. Shimelis Gulema
shimelis.gulema@stonybrook.edu
632-7473 Room S-251, Social & Behavioral Sciences Bldg.
American Studies Major and Minor and Italian American Minor
Faculty Advisor: Dr. Peter Carravetta
peter.carravetta@stonybrook.edu
632-7440, Room 1149, Humanities Bldg.
Anthropology Major and Minor
Faculty Advisor: Dr. Elisabeth Hildebrand
AnthropologyDUS@stonybrook.edu
632-7163, Room N-521, Social & Behavioral Sciences Bldg. 
Applied Math & Statistics Major and Minor
Undergraduate Program Director: Dr. Esther Arkin
esther.arkin@stonybrook.edu
632-8370, Room P-139B, Math Tower

Staff Assistant: Ms. Cathy Arrighetta
cathy.arrighetta@stonybrook.edu
Contact Ms. Arrighetta to schedule an appointment.
Art History & Studio Art Major and Minor
Faculty Advisor: Prof. Lorena Salcedo-Watson
lorena.salcedo-watson@stonybrook.edu
632-7250, Room 2210, Staller Center
Asian & Asian American Studies Major and Minor
Faculty Advisor: Dr. Peg Christoff
peggy.christoff@stonybrook.edu
632-4030, Room 1126, Humanities Bldg.
Astronomy & Planetary Sciences Major and Minor

Faculty Advisor: Dr. James Lattimer
james.lattimer@stonybrook.edu
632-8227, Room 449, Earth & Space Sciences Bldg.

Staff Assistant: Ms. Diane Diafera 
diane.diafera@stonybrook.edu 

Athletic Training Major
Faculty Advisor:  Dr. Jeanine Engelmann
jeanine.engelmann@stonybrook.edu
632-4394, Room G-33, Sports Complex Bldg.
Atmospheric and Oceanic Sciences Major
Faculty Advisor: Dr. Brian Colle
brian.colle@stonybrook.edu
632-3174, Room 125, Endeavour Hall
Biochemistry Major

Students with last name beginning A-R contact:
Dr. Bernadette Holdener
bernadette.holdener@stonybrook.edu
632-8292, Room 346, Center for Molecular Medicine Bldg.

Students with last name beginning with S-Z contact:
Dr. Harvard Lyman  harvard.lyman@stonybrook.edu
632-8543, Room 472, Life Sciences Bldg.

Major advising by appointment:
Dr. Deborah Brown  deborah.brown@stonybrook.edu
632-8563, Room 416, Life Sciences Bldg.

Biology Major and Minor

Note: Biology major or minor declaration does not require an appointment.

Staff Advisor: Dr. Kira Schultheiss
kira.schultheiss@stonybrook.edu
632-8543, advising by appointment only, schedule online at:
http://bio.advising.stonybrook.edu

Staff Advisor: Ms. Nicole Zinerco, M.A. 
nicole.zinerco@stonybrook.edu
632-8571, advising by appointment only. Schedule online at:
http://bio.advising.stonybrook.edu

Program Secretary:  Ms. Lynette Giordano lynette.giordano@stonybrook.edu
632-8571,Room 110 Ctr. for Molecular Medicine/BLL Bldg.
Can be contacted for Biology course registration  issues, Commencement
information.

Faculty Advisor: Dr. Peter Gergen 
john.peter.gergen@stonybrook.edu

 

Biomedical Engineering Major
Undergraduate Program Director: Dr. Molly Frame
632-8371, Room 102, Bioengineering Bldg.

Undergraduate Program Director: Ms. Jessica Kuhn
jessica.kuhn@stonybrook.edu
Contact Ms. Kuhn to schedule an appointment.
Business Management Major and Minor

Undergraduate Staff Advisor: Ms. Rita Barbera
rita.barbera@stonybrook.edu
632-7438, Room 109, Harriman Hall
To schedule an appointment, go to:
www.stonybrook.edu/ssccampus

Chemical & Molecular Engineering Major
Undergraduate Program Directors: Dr. Tadanori Koga 
tadanori.koga@stonybrook.edu 
632-6269, Room 314, Engineering Bldg.

Contact Ms. Joann Toye, 632-6269, Room 314, Engineering Building
to schedule an appointment. 
Chemistry Major and Minor
Faculty Advisors: Dr. Dale Drueckhammer & Faculty
To schedule an appointment, go to:
ug_chemistry_advisors@stonybrook.edu
Cinema & Cultural Studies Major and Minor
Faculty Advisor:  Dr. Andrea Fedi
andrea.fedi@stonybrook.edu
632-7456, Room 1055, Humanities Bldg.

Civil Engineering Major
Undergraduate Program Director: Dr. Harold Walker
harold.walker@stonybrook.edu
632-8777, Room 2434. Compute Science Bldg.

Staff Assistant: Ms. Erin Giuliano
erin.giuliano@stonybrook.edu
Contact Ms. Giuliano to schedule an appointment.
Clinical Laboratory Sciences

Faculty Advisor: Prof. Jeannie Guglielmo 
jeannie.guglielmo@stonybrook.edu
444-3046, Room 443, Level 2, Health Sciences Center.

Information sessions: every 2nd Wednesday of the month at 12:00 pm.

Coastal Environmental Studies Major and Minor
Faculty Advisor: Dr. Katherine Aubrecht
katherine.aubrecht@stonybrook.edu
632-7901, Room 407, Chemistry Bldg.
Comparative Literature Major and Minor
Faculty Advisor: Dr. Andrea Fedi 
andrea.fedi@stonybrook.edu
632-7456, Room 1055, Humanities Bldg.
Computer Engineering Major
Undergraduate Program Director: Dr. Ridha Kamoua
ridha.kamoua@stonybrook.edu
632-8415, Room 267, Light Engineering Bldg.

Staff Assistant: Ms. Carolyn Huggins
Carolyn.huggins@stonybrook.edu
Contact Ms. Huggins to schedule an appointment 
Computer Science Major and Minor
Undergraduate Program Director: Dr. Leo Bachmair
leo.bachmair@stonybrook.edu

Faculty Advisor:  Dr. Jennifer Wong  jennifer.wong@stonbrook.edu
632-8470, Room 101, New Computer Science Bldg.
Dr. Kevin McDonnell  kevin.mcdonnell@stonybrook.edu
632-8470, Room 101 New Computer Science Bldg.

Staff Assistant: Ms. Diane Cerullo
632-8470, Contact Ms. Cerullo to schedule an appointment
Earth and Space Sciences Major
Faculty Advisor: Dr. Hanna Nekvasil
hanna.nekvasil@stonybrook.edu
632-8201, Room 234, Earth & Space Sciences Bldg.
Economics Major

Faculty Advisor: Dr. Hugo Benitez-Silva
ugeconomics@stonybrook.edu
632-7551, Room S-649, Social & Behavioral Sciences Bldg

Undergraduate Program Coordinator: Ms. Victoria Judd
ugeconomics@stonybrook.edu
632-7540, Room S-601,Social and Behavioral Sciences Bldg.

Ecosystems and Human Impact Major and Minor
Faculty Advisor: Dr. Sharon Pochron 
sharon.pochron@stonybrook.edu
632-5369, Room W-0513, Melville Library Bldg.
Electrical and Computer Engineering Major and ESE Minor

 Faculty Advisor:  Dr. Ridha Kamoua
ridha.kamoua@stonybrook.edu
632-8415, Room 267, Light Engineering Bldg.

Staff Assistant:  Ms. Carolyn Huggins  carolyn.huggins@stonybrook.edu
Contact Ms. Huggins to schedule an appointment.

Engineering Chemistry Major
See Chemistry Major and Minor
Engineering Science Major
Undergraduate Program Director: Dr. Gary Halada
gary.halada@stonybrook.edu
632-4174, Room 314, Engineering Bldg.

Undergraduate Program Coordinator: Ms. Chandrani Roy
chandrani@stonybrook.edu
Contact Ms. Roy to schedule an appointment.
English Major and Minor

Faculty Advisor: Dr. Douglas Pfeiffer 
douglas.pfeiffer@stonybrook.edu
632-7400, Room 1098, Humanities Bldg.

Staff Advisor: Ms. Margaret Hanley
margaret.hanley@stonybrook.edu
632-7400, Room 2096, Humanities Bldg.

Environmental Design, Policy & Planning Major and Minor
Faculty Advisor: Dr. Harold Quigley Jr.
harold.quigleyjr@stonybrook.edu
632-5367, Room W-0519, Melville Library Bldg.
Environmental Humanities Major and Minor
Faculty Advisor: Dr. Heidi Hutner
heidi.hutner@stonybrook.edu
632-5360, Room W-0521, Melville Library
Environmental Studies Major and Minor
Faculty Advisor: Dr. Kamazima Lwiza 
kamazima.lwiza@stonybrook.edu
632-7309, Room 169, Endeavor Hall, South Campus
European Studies Major and Minor
Faculty Advisor: Dr. Peter Carravetta
peter.carravetta@stonbrook.edu
632-7440, Room 1149, Humanities Bldg.
French Language and Literature Major and Minor
Faculty Advisor: Dr. Prosper Sanou
prosper.sanou@stonybrook.edu
632-7439, Room 1069, Humanities Bldg.
Geology Major and Minor
Faculty Advisor: Dr. Deanne Rogers
https://deannerogers.youcanbook.me
632-1509, Room 318, Earth & Space Sciences Bldg.
German Language and Literature Major and Minor
Faculty Advisor: Dr. Robert Bloomer
robert.bloomer@stonybrook.edu
632-7369, Room 1136, Humanities Bldg.
Health Science Major
Major Advisor: Ms.Traci Thompson
traci.thompson@stonybrook.edu.

Must attend information session to declare the major.  E-mail Ms. Jennifer Jimenez
at jennifer.jimenez.1@stonybrook.edu to sign up for an information session.

History Major and Minor
Faculty Advisor: Dr. Janis Mimura
janis.mimura@stonybrook.edu
Room N-325, Social & Behavioral Sciences Bldg.

Staff Advisor: Ms. Susan Grumet
susan.grumet@stonybrook.edu
632-7480, Room S-307, Social & Behavioral Sciences Bldg.
Human Evolutionary Biology Major
Faculty Advisor: Dr. Andreas Koenig
humanevolbiology@stonybrook.edu
632-1513, Room N-517, Social and Behavioral Sciences Bldg.
Information Systems Major and Minor
Undergraduate Program Director: Dr. Robert Kelly
robert.kelly@stonybrook.edu
632-8470, Room 101, New Computer Science Bldg.

Staff Assistant: Ms. Diane Cerullo
diane.cerullo@stonybrook.edu
Contact Ms. Cerullo to schedule an appointment.
Italian Studies Major and Minor & Medieval Studies Minor
Faculty Advisor: Dr. Giuseppe Gazzola
giuseppe.gazzola@stonybrook.edu
632-7440, Room 2123, Humanities Bldg.
Journalism Major and Minor
Faculty Advisor: Prof. Irene Virag
irene.virag@stonybrook.edu
632-7403, Room N-4004, Melville Library

Staff Advisor: Maureen Robinson
maureen.robinson@stonybrook.edu
632-7403, Room N-4004, Melville Library
Linguistics Major and Minor
Faculty Advisor: Dr. Jose Elias-Ulloa
jose.elias-ulloa@stonybrook.edu
632-7774, Room N-245, Social & Behavioral Sciences Bldg.
Marine Science Major and Minor
 See Environmental Studies
Marine Vertebrate Biology Major
Faculty Advisor: Dr. Kamazima Lwiza
kamazima.lwiza@stonybrook.edu
632-7309, Room 169, Endeavor Hall, South Campus 
Mathematics Major and Minor
Faculty Advisor: Dr. Alexader Kirillov 
upd@math.sunysb.edu
632-8289, Room P-143, Math Bldg.
Mechanical Engineering Major and Minor
Undergraduate Program Director: Dr. Thomas Cuband 
thomas.cuband@stonybrook.edu
632-8310, Room 113, Light Engineering Bldg.

Staff Assistant: Ms. Donna Hanson
donna.hanson@stonybrook.edu
Contact Ms. Hanson to schedule an appointment
Multidisciplinary Studies Major

In order to declare the MTD major, students must first attend an info session.  Only declared MTD majors will be able to schedule an appointment with an MTD major advisor on SSC Campus or the Guide app.  

Undergraduate Program Director: Dr. Darcy Lonsdale
Faculty Advisor: Dr. Catherine Marrone
www.stonybrook.edu/mtd
632-7080, Room E-3310, Melville Library

Music Major and Minor
Faculty Advisor: Dr. Margaret Schedel
632-8610, Room 3304, Staller Center, Music Offce
Nursing Baccalaureate Program
Program Advisor: Ms. Jennifer Coppola
444-3200, Room 215, Level 2, Health Sciences Center
Students are encouraged to attend information session
http://nursing.stonybrookmedicine.edu/infoSession
Pharmacology Major
Faculty Advisor: Dr. Robert Watson
robert.watson@stonybrook.edu
444-1574, Room T8-130, Health Sciences Tower

Assistant Director: Mrs. Janice Kito
janice.kito@stonybrook.edu
444-3027, Room 140, T-8, Basic Science Tower
Philosophy Major and Minor
Faculty Advisor: Dr. Jeff Edwards 
jeff.edwards@stonybrook.edu
632-7570, Room 256, Harriman Hall

Staff Advisor: Ms. Katie Amella
kathleen-anna.amella@stonybrook.edu
632-7580, Room 216, Harriman Hall
Physics Major and Minor
Faculty Advisor: Dr. Robert McCarthy
robert.mccarthy@stonybrook.edu
632-8758, Room P-110, Physics Bldg.

Staff Advisor: Ms. Diane Diaferia
diane.diaferia@sunysb.edu
632-8036, Room P-110, Physics Bldg.
Political Science Major and Minor
Faculty Advisor: Dr. John Ryan
polsci_undergrad@stonybrook.edu
632-7640, Room N-711, Social & Behavioral Sciences Bldg.

Staff Advisor: Ms. Janet Cea
janet.cea@stonybrook.edu
632-7650, Room S-701, Social & Behavioral Sciences Bldg.
Polysomnographic Technology Program
Faculty Advisor:  Prof. Russell Rozensky
russell.rozensky@stonybrook.edu
444-6654, Room 449, Level 2, Health Sciences Ctr.
Psychology Major
Faculty Advisor: Dr. John Robinson
john.robinson@stonybrook.edu
632-7832, Room 254, Psychology B Bldg.

Staff Academic Advisor: Ms. Carol Carlson
carol.carlson@stonybrook.edu
632-7812, Room 109, Psychology B Bldg.

Student Coordinator: Ms. Donna Hildenbrand
donna.hildenbrand@stonybrook.edu
632-7802, Room 117, Psychology B Bldg.
Religious Studies Major and Minor
Faculty Advisor: Dr. William Chittick
william.chittick@stonybrook.edu
632-4030, Room 1120, Humanities Bldg.
Respiratory Care Program
Faculty Advisor: Prof. James Ganetis
james.ganetis@stonybrook.edu
444-3180, Room 414, Level 2 Health Sciences Ctr.
Social Welfare Baccalaureate
Faculty Advisor: Dr. Suzanne Velazquez
suzanne.velazquez@stonybrook.edu
444-6909, Room 093, Health Sciences Center
Sociology Major
Faculty Advisor: Dr. Catherine Marrone
catherine.marrone@stonybrook.edu
632-4883, Room S-429, Social & Behavioral Sciences Bldg.

Staff Advisor: Ms. Sharon Worksman
sharon.worksman@stonybrook.edu.
632-7710, Room S-401, Social & Behavioral Sciences Bldg.
Spanish Languages and Literature Major and Minor
Faculty Advisor: Dr. Paul Firbas
paul.firbas@stonybrook.edu
632-6948, Room N-3017, Melville Library Bldg.
Sustainability Studies Major and Minor
Faculty Advisor: Dr. Arlene Cassidy
arlene.cassidy@stonybrook.edu
632-5362, Room W-0515, Melville Library Bldg.
Technological Systems Management Major and Minor
Undergraduate Program Director: Dr. David Tonjes
david.tonjes@stonybrook.edu

Staff Advisor: Ms. Rita Reagan-Redko
rita.reagan-redko@stonybrook.edu
632-1057, Room 1425, Computer Science Bldg.
Contact Ms. Reagan-Redko to schedule an appointment
Theater Arts Major and Minor
Faculty Advisor: Prof. Deborah Mayo
deborah.mayo@stonybrook.edu
632-9969, Room 3015, Staller Center
Women's, Gender, and Sexuality Studies Major and Minor
Faculty Advisor: Dr. Ritch Calvin
ritchie.calvin@stonybrook.edu
632-7607, Room 2119, Humanities Bldg.
Updated on 8/18/2017
 
Login to Edit