$ou:site = sbcms
$ou:root = /var/staging/oucampus/suny-stonybrook/
$ou:path = /advising/_forms/maj_min_adv.html
$ou:httproot = http://stonybrook.edu/commcms/
$ou:filename = maj_min_adv.html
$ou:feed =
$ou:dirname = /advising/_forms
$ou:action = pub
$dirname = /advising/_forms/
$domain = http://stonybrook.edu/commcms
$root = /var/staging/oucampus/suny-stonybrook/sbcms
$ou:globalIncludeDir = /_resources/
$ou:siteBasedIncludeDir = /advising/_includes/
$get-subsite = /commcms/
$subsite = /commcms/
$http = http://stonybrook.edu/
$resources_root = /commcms/_resources
$the_current_year = /advising/_forms/maj_min_adv.pcf
$edit_button_filepath = /advising/_forms/maj_min_adv.pcf
Search

Undergraduate Major and Minor Department Advisors

College of Arts & Sciences, College of Business, School of Health Technology and Management, School of Journalism, and School of Marine and Atmospheric Sciences

updated 7/1/2015

The complete list of academic majors and minors can be found in the Online Bulletin, here.


 The information below is also available as a pdf on the Forms page.

Adapted Aquatics Minor
Faculty Advisor: Dr. Peter Angelo
peter.angelo@stonybrook.edu
632-9225, Room 030, Sports Complex
Africana Studies Major and Minor
Faculty Advisor: Dr. Shimelis Gulema
shimelis.gulema@stonybrook.edu
632-7473, Room S-251, Social & Behavioral Sciences Bldg.
American Studies Major and Minor and Italian American Minor
Faculty Advisor: Dr. Peter Carravetta
peter.carravetta@stonybrook.edu
632-7440, Room N-1149, Humanities Bldg.
Anthropology Major and Minor
Faculty Advisor: Dr. Elisabeth Hildenbrand
AnthropologyDUS@stonybrook.edu
632-7163, Room N-521, Social & Behavioral Sciences Bldg. 
Art History & Studio Art Major and Minor
Faculty Advisor: Prof. Stephanie Dinkins
stephanie.dinkins@stonybrook.edu
632-7250, Room 2226, Staller Center
Asian & Asian American Studies Major and Minor
Faculty Advisor: Dr. Nerissa Balce
marianerissa.balce-cortes@stonybrook.edu
632-4030, Room 1115, Humanities Bldg.
Astronomy & Planetary Sciences Major and Minor
Faculty Advisor: Dr. James Lattimer
james.lattimer@stonybrook.edu
632-8227, Room 449, Earth & Space Sciences Bldg. 
Athletic Training Major
Faculty Advisor: Prof. Xristos Gaglias
xristos.gaglias@stonybrook.edu
632-2837, Room G-33, Sports Complex Bldg.
Atmospheric and Oceanic Sciences Major
Faculty Advisor: Dr. Brian Colle
brian.colle@stonybrook.edu
632-3174, Room 125, Endeavour Hall
Biochemistry Major
Students with last name beginning A-I contact:
Dr. Bernadette Holdener
bernadette.holdener@stonybrook.edu
632-8292, Room 346, Center for Molecular Medicine Bldg.

Students with last name beginning with J-R contact:
Dr. Nisson Schechter
nisson.schechter@stonybrook.edu
444-1368, Room 034, 10th floor Health Sci. Tower

Students with last name beginning N-Z should contact:
Faculty Advisor: Dr. Harvard Lyman
harvard.lyman@stonybrook.edu
632-8534, Room 472, Life Sciences Bldg.
Biology Major and Minor
Staff Advisor: Ms. Nicole Zinerco
nicole.zinerco@stonybrook.edu
632-8571, Room 109, Ctr. Molecular Med. /BLL Bldg.

Faculty Advisor: Dr. Peter Gergen
john.peter.gergen@stonybrook.edu
632-8530. Room 110 Ctr. Molecular Med./BLL Bldg.
Business Management Major and Minor
Faculty Advisor: Dr. Richard Laskowski
Staff Advisor: Ms. Rita Barbera
rita.barbera@stonybrook.edu
632-7438, Room 109, Harriman Hall.
Chemistry Major and Minor / Engineering Chemistry Major
Faculty Advisors: Dr. Trevor Sears & Faculty
ug_chemistry_advisors@stonybrook.edu
Cinema & Cultural Studies Major and Minor / Comparative Literary Theory Major and Minor / Women's and Gender Studies Major and Minor
Faculty Advisor: Dr. Gregory Ruf
gregory.ruf@stonybrook.edu
632-7652, Room 2068, Humanities Bldg.

Clinical Laboratory Sciences
Faculty Advisor: Prof. Kathleen Finnegan
kathleen.finnegan@stonybrook.edu
444-3220, Room 048, Level 2, Health Sciences Center.
Contact department for information session dates and times.
Coastal Environmental Studies Major and Minor
Faculty Advisor: Dr. Katherine Aubrecht
katherine.aubrecht@stonybrook.edu
632-7901, Room 407, Chemistry Bldg.
Earth and Space Sciences Major
Faculty Advisor: Dr. Hanna Nekvasil
hanna.nekvasil@stonybrook.edu
632-8201, Room 234, Earth & Space Sciences Bldg.
Economics Major
Faculty Advisor: Dr. Hugo Benitez-Silva
ugeconomics@stonybrook.edu
632-7551, Room S-649, Social & Behavioral Sciences Bldg

Staff Advisor: Ms. Jenille Johnson ugeconomics@stonybrook.edu
632-7540, Room, S-601, Social & Behavioral Sciences Bldg.
Ecosystems and Human Impact Major and Minor
Faculty Advisor: Dr. James Hoffmann
james.hoffmann@stonybrook.edu
632-5366, Room W-0517, Melville Library Bldg.
English Major and Minor
Faculty Advisor: Dr. Susan Scheckel
susan.scheckel@stonybrook.edu
632-7400, Room 2091, Humanities Bldg.

Staff Advisor: Ms. Margaret Hanley margaret.hanley@stonybrook.edu
632-7400, Room 2096, Humanities Bldg.
Environmental Design, Policy & Planning Major and Minor
Faculty Advisor: Dr. Harold QuigleyJr.
harold.quigleyjr@stonybrook.edu
632-5367, Room W-0519, Melville Library Bldg.
Environmental Humanities Major and Minor
Faculty Advisor: Dr. Heidi Hutner
heidi.hutner@stonybrook.edu
632-5630, Room W-0520, Melville Library
Environmental Studies Major and Minor / Marine Science and Marine Vertebrate Biology Majors
Faculty Advisor: Dr. Mary Scranton
mary.scranton@stonybrook.edu
632-8735; Room 115, Challenger Hall, South Campus
European Studies Major and Minor / Russian Studies Minor
Faculty Advisor: Dr. Timothy Westphalen
timothy.westphalen@stonbrook.edu
632-7387, Room 1140, Humanities Bldg.
French Language and Literature Major and Minor
Faculty Advisor: Dr. Prosper Sanou
prosper.sanou@stonybrook.edu
632-7439, Room 1069, Humanities Bldg.
Geology Major and Minor
Faculty Advisor: Dr. Deanne Rogers
deanne.rogers@stonybrook.edu
632-1509, Room 318, Earth & Space Sciences Bldg.
Geospatial Science Minor
Faculty Advisor: Dr. Sung Gheel Jang
sunggheel.jang@stonybrook.edu
632-5364, W-0516, Melville Library
German Language and Literature Major and Minor
Faculty Advisor: Dr. Robert Bloomer
robert.bloomer@stonybrook.edu
632-7369, Room 1136, Humanities Bldg.
Health Science Major
Major Advisor: Ms.Traci Thompson
traci.thompson@stonybrook.edu.

Must attend information session to declare the major.  E-mail Ms. Jennifer Jimenez at jennifer.wiener@stonybrook.edu to sign up for an information session.

History Major and Minor
Faculty Advisor: Dr. Susan Hinely
susan.hinely@stonybrook.edu
632-7496, Room S-351, Social & Behavioral Sciences Bldg.

Staff Advisor: Ms. Susan Grumet
susan.grumet@stonybrook.edu
632-7480, Room S-307, Social & Behavioral Sciences Bldg.
Human Evolutionary Biology Major and Minor
Faculty Advisor: Dr. Andreas Koenig
humanevolbiology@stonybrook.edu
632-9445, Room N-553, Social and Behavioral Sciences Bldg.
Italian Studies Major and Minor / Medieval Studies Minor
Faculty Advisor: Dr. Irene Marchegiani
irene.marchegiani@stonybrook.edu
632-7440, Room 1143, Humanities Bldg.
Journalism Major and Minor
Faculty Advisor: Prof. Paul Schreiber
paul.schreiber@stonybrook.edu
632-7403, Room N-4004, Melville Library

Staff Advisor: Maureen Robinson
maureen.robinson@stonybrook.edu
632-7403, Room N-4004, Melville Library
Linguistics Major and Minor
Faculty Advisor: Dr. Jose Elias-Ulloa
jose.elias-ulloa@stonybrook.edu
632-7774, Room, S-201, Social & Behavioral Sciences Bldg.
Mathematics Major and Minor
Faculty Advisor: Dr. David Ebin
upd@math.sunysb.edu
632-8247, Room P-143, Math Bldg.
Multidisciplinary Studies Major
Faculty Advisors: Dr. Darcy Lonsdale and Dr. Catherine Marrone
www.stonybrook.edu/mtd
632-4561, Room E-3310, Melville Library
Music Major and Minor
Faculty Advisor: Dr. Margaret Schedel
margaret.schedel@stonybrook.edu
632-7330, Room 3358, Staller Center
Nursing Baccalaureate Program
Program Advisor: Ms. Jennifer Coppola
444-3200, Room 215, Level 2, Health Sciences Center
Students are encouraged to attend information session
http://nursing.stonybrookmedicine.edu/infoSession
Pharmacology Major
Faculty Advisor: Dr. Robert Watson
robert.watson@stonybrook.edu
444-1574, Room T8-130, Health Sciences Tower

Staff Advisor: Mrs. Janice Kito
janice.kito@stonybrook.edu
444-3027, Room 140, T-8, Basic Science Tower
Philosophy Major and Minor
Faculty Advisor: Dr. Gary Mar
gary.mar@stonybrook.edu
632-7528, Room 245, Harriman Hall

Staff Advisor: Ms. Katie Amella
kathleen-anna-amella@stonybrook.edu
632-7580, Room 219, Harriman Hall
Physics Major and Minor
Faculty Advisor: Dr. Robert McCarthy
robert.mccarthy@stonybrook.edu
632-8758, Room P-110, Physics Bldg.

Staff Advisor: Ms. Diane Diaferia
diane.diaferia@sunysb.edu
632-8036, Room P-110, Physics Bldg.
Political Science Major and Minor
Faculty Advisor: Dr. Helmut Noporth
helmut.noporth@stonybrook.edu
632-7640, Room N-725, Social & Behavioral Sciences Bldg.

Staff Advisor: Ms. Janet Cea
janet.cea@stonybrook.edu
632-7661, Room S-703, Social & Behavioral Sciences Bldg.
Psychology Major
Faculty Advisor: Dr. John Robinson
john.robinson@stonybrook.edu
632-7832, Room 254, Psychology B Bldg.

Staff Advisor: Ms. Carol Carlson
carol.carlson@stonybrook.edu
632-7812, Room 109, Psychology B Bldg.

Staff Advisor: Ms. Donna Hildenbrand
donna.hildenbrand@stonybrook.edu
632-7802, Room 117, Psychology B Bldg.
Religious Studies Major and Minor
Faculty Advisor: Dr. William Chittick
william.chittick@stonybrook.edu
632-4030, Room 1120, Humanities Bldg.
Respiratory Care Program
Faculty Advisor: Prof. James Ganetis
james.ganetis@stonybrook.edu
444-3180, Room 414, Level 2 Health Sciences Ctr.
Social Welfare Baccalaureate
Faculty Advisor: Dr. Suzanne Velazquez
suzanne.velazquez@stonybrook.edu
444-6909, Room 093, Health Sciences Center
Sociology Major
Faculty Advisor: Dr. Catherine Marrone
catherine.marrone@stonybrook.edu
632-4883, Room S-429, Social & Behavioral Sciences Bldg.

Staff Advisor: Ms. Sharon Worksman
sharon.worksman@stonybrook.edu.
632-7710, Room S-401, Social & Behavioral Sciences Bldg.
Spanish Languages and Literature Major and Minor
Faculty Advisor: Dr. Daniela Flesler
daniela.flesler@stonybrook.edu
632-6031, Room N-3018, Melville Library Bldg.
Sustainability Studies Major and Minor
Faculty Advisor: Dr. Arlene Cassidy
arlene.cassidy@stonybrook.edu
632-5362, Room W-0515, Melville Library Bldg.
Theatre Arts Major and Minor
Faculty Advisor: Prof. Deborah Mayo
deborah.mayo@stonybrook.edu
632-9969, Room 3015, Staller Center
Login to Edit