Faculty & Staff

Core Faculty:

Archaeology:

Elisabeth Hildebrand, Associate Professor; Director, Undergraduate Studies
Archaeology, Early Farming, Africa, Paleoethnobotany
Phone: +1-631-632-7163, Email: elisabeth.hildebrand@stonybrook.edu
John J. Shea, Professor
Paleolithic Archaeology, Lithics Analysis, Africa, Southwest Asia
Phone: +1-631-632-7665, Email: john.shea@stonybrook.edu
Elizabeth C. Stone, Professor
Old World Archaeology, Ancient Near Eastern Economy and Society, Complex Societies and Urbanism, Remote Sensing and GIS
Phone: +1-631-632-7627, Email: elizabeth.stone@stonybrook.edu
Katheryn C. Twiss, Associate Professor; Director, IDPAS
Archaeology, Neolithic, Zooarchaeology, Southwest Asia (Near East)
Phone: +1-631-632-1539, Email: katheryn.twiss@stonybrook.edu

Biological Anthropology:

Diane M. Doran-Sheehy, Professor
Social Evolution, Behavioral Ecology African Apes
Phone: +1-631-632-9445, Email: diane.doran@stonybrook.edu
Frederick E. Grine, Professor; Chair
Hominid Evolution, Functional Morphology of the Masticatory System, Vertebrate Paleotology, Dental Structure and Comparative Odontology
Phone: +1-631-632-7622, Email: frederick.grine@stonybrook.edu
Andreas Koenig, Professor; Associate Dean, CAS; Director, EBH Major
Primate Behavioral Ecology, Social Evolution, Reproductive Strategies, Life History
Phone: +1-631-632-1513, Email: andreas.koenig@stonybrook.edu
Amy Lu, Assistant Professor
Behavioral Endocrinology, Development, Reproductive Physiology, Sexual Selection
Phone: +1-631-632-7621, Email: amy.lu@stonybrook.edu
A. Catherine Markham, Assistant Professor
Behavioral Ecology, Maternal Care, Spatial Ecology, Wild Primates
Phone: +1-631-632-5755, Email: catherine.markham@stonybrook.edu
James B. Rossie, Associate Professor
Primate Evolution, Miocene Hominoids, Cranial Ontogeny and Anatomy, Systematics, East Africa
Phone: +1-631-632-1843, Email: james.rossie@stonybrook.edu
Gabrielle A. Russo, Assistant Professor
Functional Morphology, Axial Skeleton, Locomotion, Primate and Human Evolution, Ontogeny
Phone: +1-631-632-7619, Email: gabrielle.russo@stonybrook.edu
Jeroen B. Smaers, Assistant Professor
Comparative Methods, Brain Evolution, Macroevolutionary Morphology
Phone: +1-631-632-7609, Email: jeroen.smaers@stonybrook.edu
Patricia C. Wright, Distinguished Service Professor; Director, ICTE
Primate Behavior, Primate Ecology, Primate Conservation, Madagascar
Phone: +1-631-632-7425, Email: patricia.wright@stonybrook.edu

Cultural Anthropology:

David B. Hicks, Professor; Director, MA program
Social Anthropology, Ritual, Belief, Oral Literature, Kinship, Politics, East Timor, Indonesia
Phone: +1-631-632-7617, Email: david.hicks@stonybrook.edu

Turkana Basin Institute Faculty:

Sonia Harmand, Research Associate Professor
Early Paleolithic Archaeology, Human Evolution, Lithic Analysis, Africa
Phone: +1-631-632-5806, Email: sonia.harmand@stonybrook.edu
Louise Leakey, Research Assistant Professor
Human Evolution, Paleoecology, Africa
Phone: +1-631-632-5800, Email: louiseleakey@gmail.com
Meave G. Leakey, Research Professor
Human Evolution, Primate Evolution, Africa
Phone: +1-631-632-5800, Email: meave.leakey@stonybrook.edu
Richard E. Leakey, Professor; Chair, TBI
Human Evolution, Conservation
Phone: +1-631-632-5800, Email: richard.leakey@stonybrook.edu
Lawrence B. Martin, Professor; Director, TBI
Primate Evolution, Dental Enamel, Neogene Vertebrate Paleontology
Phone: +1-631-632-5800, Email: lawrence.martin@stonybrook.edu

Associated Faculty:

Carola Borries, Research Associate Professor
Reproductive Strategies, Socioecology, Reproduction and Life History, Dominance and Competition
Phone: +1-631-632-1518, Email: carola.borries@stonybrook.edu
Madeline del Toro Cherney, Lecturer
Social Anthropology, Latin America, Cultural Identity, Ethnographic Imagination
Phone: +1-631-632-7619, Email: madeline.cherney@stonybrook.edu
Jason Lewis, Lecturer
Paleoanthropology, Taphonomy, Zooarchaeology
Phone: +1-631-632-7382, Email: jason.lewis@stonybrook.edu
Gregory A. Ruf, Associate Professor, Joint Appoint. w/ Cultural Analysis and Theory
Kinship and Gender, Political Organization, History and Ecology, Asia, China
Phone: +1-631-632-9013, Email: gregory.ruf@stonybrook.edu
Ian J. Wallace, Research Instructor
Human and Primate Evolution, Functional Morphology, Locomotor Biomechanics, Bone Biology
Phone: +1-631-632-7361, Email: ian.wallace@stonybrook.edu

Staff:

Megan A. Alberti, Assistant to the Chair
Phone: +1-631-632-7605, Email: megan.alberti@stonybrook.edu
Tara J. Biviano, Undergraduate Program Coordinator
Phone: +1-631-632-7620, Email: tara.biviano@stonybrook.edu
Jean Moreau, Graduate Program Coordinator
Phone: +1-631-632-7606, Email: jean.moreau@stonybrook.edu