Faculty & Staff

Core Faculty:

Archaeology:

David J. Bernstein, Associate Professor, Director, Undergraduate Studies; Director, ILIA
Archaeology, Coastal Societies, Cultural Resource Management, Eastern North America
Phone: +1-631-632-7615, Email: David.Bernstein@stonybrook.edu
Elisabeth Hildebrand, Associate Professor
Archaeology, Early Farming, Africa, Paleoethnobotany
Phone: +1-631-632-7163, Email: Elisabeth.Hildebrand@stonybrook.edu
John J. Shea, Professor
Paleolithic Archaeology, Lithics Analysis, Africa, Southwest Asia
Phone: +1-631-632-7665, Email: John.Shea@stonybrook.edu
Elizabeth C. Stone, Professor
Old World Archaeology, Ancient Near Eastern Economy and Society, Complex Societies and Urbanism, Remote Sensing and GIS
Phone: +1-631-632-7627, Email: Elizabeth.Stone@stonybrook.edu
Katheryn C. Twiss, Associate Professor
Archaeology, Neolithic, Zooarchaeology, Southwest Asia (Near East)
Phone: +1-631-632-1539, Email: Katheryn.Twiss@stonybrook.edu

Biological Anthropology:

Karen L. Baab, Assistant Professor
Human Evolution, Lemur Evolution, Skull Morphology, Geometric Morphometrics
Phone: +1-631-632-5755, Email: Karen.Baab@stonybrook.edu
Diane M. Doran-Sheehy, Professor
Social Evolution, Behavioral Ecology African Apes
Phone: +1-631-632-9445, Email: Diane.Doran@stonybrook.edu
Frederick E. Grine, Professor, Chair
Hominid Evolution, Functional Morphology of the Masticatory System, Vertebrate Paleotology, Dental Structure and Comparative Odontology
Phone: +1-631-632-7622, Email: Frederick.Grine@stonybrook.edu
Andreas Koenig, Professor; Associate Dean, CAS; Director, EBH Major
Primate Behavioral Ecology, Social Evolution, Community Ecology, Asia
Phone: +1-631-632-1513, Email: Andreas.Koenig@stonybrook.edu
James B. Rossie, Associate Professor
Primate Evolution, Miocene Hominoids, Cranial Ontogeny and Anatomy, Systematics, East Africa
Phone: +1-631-632-1843, Email: James.Rossie@stonybrook.edu
Jeroen B. Smaers, Assistant Professor
Comparative Methods, Brain Evolution, Macroevolutionary Morphology
Phone: +1-631-632-7609, Email: jeroen.smaers@stonybrook.edu
Patricia C. Wright, Professor, Director, ICTE
Primate Behavior, Primate Ecology, Primate Conservation, Madagascar
Phone: +1-631-632-7425, Email: Patricia.Wright@stonybrook.edu

Cultural Anthropology:

David D. Gilmore, Professor
Social/Cultural Anthropology, Peasants, Mediterranean Area
Phone: +1-631-632-7609, Email: David.Gilmore@stonybrook.edu
David B. Hicks, Professor, Director, MA program
Social Anthropology, Ritual, Belief, Oral Literature, Kinship, Politics, East Timor, Indonesia
Phone: +1-631-632-7617, Email: David.Hicks@stonybrook.edu

Turkana Basin Institute Faculty:

Sonia Harmand, Research Associate Professor
Early Paleolithic Archaeology, Human Evolution, Lithic Analysis, Africa
Phone: +1-631-632-5806, Email: sonia.harmand@stonybrook.edu
Louise Leakey, Research Assistant Professor
Human Evolution, Paleoecology, Africa
Phone: +1-631-632-5800, Email: louiseleakey@gmail.com
Meave G. Leakey, Research Professor
Human Evolution, Primate Evolution, Africa
Phone: +1-631-632-5800, Email: Meave.Leakey@stonybrook.edu
Richard E. Leakey, Professor, Chair, TBI
Human Evolution, Conservation
Phone: +1-631-632-5800, Email: Richard.Leakey@stonybrook.edu
Lawrence B. Martin, Professor; Director, TBI
Primate Evolution, Dental Enamel, Neogene Vertebrate Paleontology
Phone: +1-631-632-5800, Email: Lawrence.Martin@stonybrook.edu

Associated Faculty:

Carola Borries, Research Associate Professor
Primate Reproductive Strategies, Behavioral Ecology, Social Structure, Asia
Phone: +1-631-632-1518, Email: Carola.Borries@stonybrook.edu
Madeline del Toro Cherney, Lecturer
Social Anthropology, Latin America, Cultural Identity, Ethnographic Imagination
Phone: +1-631-632-7619, Email: Madeline.Cherney@stonybrook.edu
Jason Lewis, Lecturer
Paleoanthropology, Taphonomy, Zooarchaeology
Phone: +1-631-632-7382, Email: Jason.Lewis@stonybrook.edu
Daria Merwin, Lecturer
Underwater Archaeology
Email: Daria.Merwin@stonybrook.edu
Gregory A. Ruf, Associate Professor, Joint Appoint. w/ Cultural Analysis and Theory
Kinship and Gender, Political Organization, History and Ecology, Asia, China
Phone: +1-631-632-9013, Email: Gregory.Ruf@stonybrook.edu
Ian J. Wallace, Research Instructor
Human and Primate Evolution, Functional Morphology, Locomotor Biomechanics, Bone Biology
Phone: +1-631-632-7361, Email: Ian.Wallace@stonybrook.edu

Staff:

Megan A. Alberti, Assistant to the Chair
Phone: +1-631-632-7605, Email: Megan.Alberti@stonybrook.edu
Jean Moreau, Graduate Program Coordinator
Phone: +1-631-632-7606, Email: Jean.Moreau@stonybrook.edu